We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable and efficiently run B & B”
Review of Camelot Lodge

Camelot Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camelot Lodge
Ranked #43 of 77 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A comfortable and efficiently run B & B”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is a comfortable and efficiently run B & B. We had a large room (bigger than we expected after looking at photos on the hotel’s website), with an en-suite that had a bath. Breafast was well cooked and there was also a choice of fruit (both tinned and fresh). The hotel is on a busy road, but there was very little traffic at night, so it was very quiet. On site parking was good, which is a big plus in Eastbourne. The property is maintained to a high standard and, although it’s pushing it a bit to describe the Camelot Lodge as a hotel rather than a B & B, I’d recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
30
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed her for two nights in October and couldn't fault it. Clean, comfortable accomodation, friendly and attentive service and a nice full English breakfast to start each day. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Thank you Kevin & Dee!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rumswizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

2nd visit this year and the standards just as high as before. You simply cannot better this well presented guest house with such a warm friendly welcome . Excellent !! Don't need to look elsewhere when visiting Eastbourne.

Room Tip: At the rear is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband, Daughter and I stayed for just one night in the family room. Double bed and one single.
Good en-suite with bath and overhead shower.
It is on a main road going into Eastbourne.
The dining room is a conservatory which was very nice, breakfast was very good, choice of cereal, fruit, yoghurt, cooked breakfast, toast and a large pot of tea or large coffee.
Free Wi-Fi which was good. Nice size TV for the size of the room and good reception.
I would say it would take approx. 20 mins to walk to the sea front, although we took the car. Eastbourne sea front was lovely, very Victorian, nice cafes. We had tea and cake in the vintage tea room just off the sea front going into the town. The war museum on the front was interesting.
I would recommend Camelot Lodge as it was comfortable and good value.

Room Tip: We had the family room which was a double and single bed, facing the road, but it didn't keep us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

A very welcoming, spotlessly clean small hotel within walking distance of the beaches of Eastbourne. Far enough away from the evening noises of the seafront but easy to find and park (free). The en-suite room was extremely well presented and spotless. Free high speed Wi-Fi and the usual tea/coffee tray. Breakfast was fast, hot, filling and excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim_lincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener
Level Contributor
102 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The owners Kevin and Dee are what sets this place a part, they are excellent and definitely care about their guests, bending over backwards to accommodate.

This stay I was in room #7 on the third floor, it has two comfortable beds a double and a single. Very comfortable room. The hotel is less than a 10 minute walk to the train station and central Eastbourne.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayawayfromhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We visited Eastbourne to attend the funeral of the aged mother of a friend who as lived in Toronto for many years. On a visit to Eastbourne some 6 years ago they wanted a B&B close to the care home her mother had had to be moved and she chose the Camelot.

Since then she has been to the UK for 10 plus nights a year (nearer 30 over the last 18 months) and has always returned to the Camelot. So we had no hesitation to stay there on this occasion.

Reviews here mention both owners, but we only met Dee who seemed to be everywhere, popping up (like a psychic) whenever she was needed.

Our room was a family room, although we were a couple (think it was the last room they had) and thus was plenty large enough. Shower room was small but more than adequate with good water pressure at a good temperature, and quality shampoo etc.

Included in the room we had tea and coffee making facilities (inc biscuits), a bottle of water, a fan (we had a room at the front on the busy Lewes Road which would not benefit from open windows on warm evenings), as well as a flat screen TV.

Dee served breakfast, good variety of fruit and cereals and a good cooked breakfast, with plenty to choose from.

Gripes? Maybe one. Another reviewer mentioned small towels. They weren't the biggest, but we have known a lot smaller!!

It s located just at the top of the town, a brisk 20 or so minutes walk to the sea front.

We liked Eastbourne, and will visit again under better circumstances and will definitely choose the Camelot again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gloandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#31 of 77 in Eastbourne
80 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Manse Bed and Breakfast
The Manse Bed and Breakfast
#49 of 77 in Eastbourne
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocklynge Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,549 reviews
1.0 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
2,960 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Lodge

Property: Camelot Lodge
Address: 35 Lewes Road, Eastbourne BN21 2BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Camelot Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Camelot Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing