We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bassets House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bassets House
Ranked #13 of 78 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Holidays in Basset's house was a very good decision. Very friendly and helpful hosts – for Audrey and Wolfgang, nothing is too much when you need help or advise. brilliant breakfast – choose everyday new whatever you wish with fresh cut fruits. Excellent location, very close to the sea; a little street goes directly to the sea. We had room Nr 7 with a stunning seaview, a large room – perfect furnished with a lot of space. Although the street is in front of the house, it is quite silent at night. Everything very clean and tidy. very familiar, we felt at home as soon as we came in. Highly recommended!! We hope to come back again.

M. and B. Schnider, Solothurn (Switzerland)

Room Tip: room Nr 7 with 1 double- and 1 twin-bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
105
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Having just retired from running our own guest house, we went for a three night stay at Bassets House. We were in room 9 at the top of the house, with a sea view. After a busy summer, it was a real tonic for us to be in a comfortable environment and to be able to gaze out over the sea (we were very lucky to have sunny weather too).

Audrey and Wolfgang are friendly hosts and made us feel extremely welcome. There is a pleasant sitting room on the ground floor with easy chairs, local information and magazines, which we might have spent more time in if the weather had been bad.

Breakfast was generous, with plenty of choice of cereals and fruit, good coffee, a well-cooked 'full English'. Our only slight criticism was that the sausages were not as tasty as they might have been, but it is a minor detail.

The house is very nicely decorated and immaculately clean, and our room had a comfortable bed and what looked like a brand new en-suite bathroom with a large shower. The TV was better than the one we have at home!

Eastbourne was also looking very spruce, and compares favourably to some other coastal resorts. We would certainly stay at Basset's again if we go back, and recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footsteps2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

just returned from a 3 night stay at bassets hotel in Eastbourne, with my partner karan, and have to say that it was truly one of the best guest houses we've ever stayed at!! the hosts Wolfgang & Audrey are lovely people, and made us feel very welcome, from the minute we arrived, till the minute we left! we were in room 7, which was immaculate, and very roomy, also providing a great view of the sea! breakfasts were very substantial too, and kept us going all day...and that's from a big guy like myself, who has a healthy appetite!! to sum up...bassets hotel is a lovely place to stay, spotlessly clean, and very welcoming...HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davva62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed at this B&B for 3 nights recently and were so delighted with it! The house is immaculate from when you walk through the door and the room was spotless. We stayed in room 7, where we had views overlooking the sea, such a large room with everything a person would need. The bathroom was so clean and tidy with fresh towels everyday. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, large quanity of food and perfectly cooked every morning. As for the house owners, they could not have made us feel any more welcome, it was like a home from home, they were so friendly and helpful and made us feel so comfortable in there home. We found the parking very convienent and close by. We definitely will be staying here again when we come back to Eastbourne.

Room Tip: Room 7 is at the top and front of the house with views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SligoIrishCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have been there twice in the last 2 years and we find that the room and bathroom is always clean and tidy, bed is really comfortable, owners and house maid are really friendly. We always have a great time when we stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We booked two nights at the last minute and were delighted that we booked at this B&B. The twin room (Number 3) was on the first floor looking out of the back of the property and was very clean and well laid out. We particularly liked having two chairs so we could sit down in chairs instead of having to sit on the bed, as is the case with some B&Bs. Breakfast was excellent, setting us up well for the day. Parking was difficult but that's Eastbourne and we found somewhere free to park on the street both nights. Welcome was excellent and it suited our needs perfectly..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selhurst300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

On the spur of the moment we decided to have a weekend break in Eastbourne. After trawling through so many so-so hotels on the net we hit upon Basset's House quite by accident. Sometimes accidents can definitely be lucky ones!

We stayed three nights in room 4. Right on the front and the road wasn't too noisy for us. As other reviewers have said, the welcome could not have been more friendly and hospitable. The room was beautifully decorated and a lot of attention had gone into the finishes. Their eye for detail goes through every part of the service.

We used Basset's as our base for a few days walking on the Downs. Perfectly situated in easy reach of the centre of the town (on foot) with its great bus and rail links: so no need to use the car.

It's one of the few places that we have really meant it when we said we would be back. Really looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4. It has a double bed and a little side room with a single: for those with a chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#26 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Langtons Guesthouse
The Langtons Guesthouse
#9 of 78 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea View Guest House
Sea View Guest House
#5 of 78 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Front Guest House
Beach Front Guest House
#1 of 78 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bassets House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bassets House

Property: Bassets House
Address: 72 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bassets House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent privately owned Bed & Breakfast Guesthouse situated to the east of the pier with direct access to the promenade and view of the beach and shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bassets House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing