We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reccomended”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bassets House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bassets House
Ranked #13 of 78 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Reccomended”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very clean, breakfast plentiful and quality, the sea view room is really beautiful, although a little noisy. The owners friendly and helpful. Also located in a very convenient location to reach the seven sister and Beachi Head. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paoloefamiglia_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
104
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed at Bassets for one spur of the moment night! So pleased that i knocked on the door to see if they had any availability.The room we were offered was lovely(4).It was clean and comfortable with an immaculate en-suite.the bed was super comfy,with beautiful linen and a sea view! The little touches in the room and the attention to detail was much appreciated,and when in Eastbourne again,Bassets will be our first choice for somewhere to stay.Together with a very enjoyable breakfast and friendly hosts,you would be hard pushed to find anywhere nicer.

Room Tip: Room 4 is very nice,offering a balcony with a sea-view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindalindabevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Just spent 4 night's here and will definitely stay again if in the area. Our hosts Audrey and Wolfgang were extremely friendly and professional, as was their assistant Eva. Each morning over a beautiful breakfast they would pause and chat. Genuinely interested in our travels and stories rather than just going through the motions.
Situated right opposite Fort Redoubt it is a pleasant walk to the pier and bandstand. On street parking was never a problem and buses pass by if you wish to use them. Our breakfast choices were huge starting with juices, cereals, freshly diced fruits and yoghurt. This is followed by generous serving of hot fried breakfast of your choice.

Room Tip: We had room 4 overlooking the fort and onto the ocean. Sitting on the balcony either in evening or e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rixingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey H, Owner at Bassets House, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review,it was much appreciated.

All the best Audrey and Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Holidays in Basset's house was a very good decision. Very friendly and helpful hosts – for Audrey and Wolfgang, nothing is too much when you need help or advise. brilliant breakfast – choose everyday new whatever you wish with fresh cut fruits. Excellent location, very close to the sea; a little street goes directly to the sea. We had room Nr 7 with a stunning seaview, a large room – perfect furnished with a lot of space. Although the street is in front of the house, it is quite silent at night. Everything very clean and tidy. very familiar, we felt at home as soon as we came in. Highly recommended!! We hope to come back again.

M. and B. Schnider, Solothurn (Switzerland)

Room Tip: room Nr 7 with 1 double- and 1 twin-bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Having just retired from running our own guest house, we went for a three night stay at Bassets House. We were in room 9 at the top of the house, with a sea view. After a busy summer, it was a real tonic for us to be in a comfortable environment and to be able to gaze out over the sea (we were very lucky to have sunny weather too).

Audrey and Wolfgang are friendly hosts and made us feel extremely welcome. There is a pleasant sitting room on the ground floor with easy chairs, local information and magazines, which we might have spent more time in if the weather had been bad.

Breakfast was generous, with plenty of choice of cereals and fruit, good coffee, a well-cooked 'full English'. Our only slight criticism was that the sausages were not as tasty as they might have been, but it is a minor detail.

The house is very nicely decorated and immaculately clean, and our room had a comfortable bed and what looked like a brand new en-suite bathroom with a large shower. The TV was better than the one we have at home!

Eastbourne was also looking very spruce, and compares favourably to some other coastal resorts. We would certainly stay at Basset's again if we go back, and recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footsteps2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

just returned from a 3 night stay at bassets hotel in Eastbourne, with my partner karan, and have to say that it was truly one of the best guest houses we've ever stayed at!! the hosts Wolfgang & Audrey are lovely people, and made us feel very welcome, from the minute we arrived, till the minute we left! we were in room 7, which was immaculate, and very roomy, also providing a great view of the sea! breakfasts were very substantial too, and kept us going all day...and that's from a big guy like myself, who has a healthy appetite!! to sum up...bassets hotel is a lovely place to stay, spotlessly clean, and very welcoming...HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davva62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed at this B&B for 3 nights recently and were so delighted with it! The house is immaculate from when you walk through the door and the room was spotless. We stayed in room 7, where we had views overlooking the sea, such a large room with everything a person would need. The bathroom was so clean and tidy with fresh towels everyday. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, large quanity of food and perfectly cooked every morning. As for the house owners, they could not have made us feel any more welcome, it was like a home from home, they were so friendly and helpful and made us feel so comfortable in there home. We found the parking very convienent and close by. We definitely will be staying here again when we come back to Eastbourne.

Room Tip: Room 7 is at the top and front of the house with views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SligoIrishCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 41 in Eastbourne
921 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#25 of 41 in Eastbourne
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Langtons Guesthouse
The Langtons Guesthouse
#9 of 78 in Eastbourne
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea View Guest House
Sea View Guest House
#5 of 78 in Eastbourne
470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Front Guest House
Beach Front Guest House
#1 of 78 in Eastbourne
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bassets House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bassets House

Property: Bassets House
Address: 72 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bassets House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent privately owned Bed & Breakfast Guesthouse situated to the east of the pier with direct access to the promenade and view of the beach and shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bassets House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing