We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, convenient, clean accommodation at Bassets”
Review of Bassets House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bassets House
Ranked #10 of 75 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed in room 6 (family room) with our 11 year old grandson.
Beautiful sea views from our window, two comfy chairs and a table where you could sit and enjoy watching the boats and bowling on the green just across the road.
Our room was spacious, comfortable and very clean indeed.

Opposite was The Redoubt Fortress.
When we stayed they had a special weekend and our grandson really enjoyed spending the afternoon in the fort watching the re-inactments etc.
It was exciting watching the 'skirmish'...when the French Soldiers took over the Fort -
he even helped the Army Doctor in the amputation of a Soldiers leg!

Catherine and Howard were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was lovely, i really enjoyed the fresh fruit salad and activia yoghurt.
Hubby had full cooked breakfast every day, which was very nice. Grandson asked if he could have a bacon sandwich, he was told 'of course' so that's what he had every morning...
he said it was the best bacon sandwich he had ever had! (Thanks Howard)
Breakfast on the Terrace was a nice touch.

Bassets House is so close to the beach, and a safe path area runs along the front, where our grandson enjoyed spending time riding on his new mini skateboard.

There is plenty to do in Eastbourne, our Grandson was never bored,
he really enjoyed visiting the Smugglers Caves at Hastings, but couldn't wait to get back to Eastbourne, which i can understand as it has such a lovely feel to it, so relaxed.
We certainly packed a lot into our four days!

Catherine and Howard were really lovely to out grandson, he loved chatting to them about his day.

We would definately stay here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Sea views at front, all rooms have their own special features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank barretts51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Could not fault this excellent guest house. Friendly, caring owners who knew you by name and made good recommendations on where to eat at night. Clean, comfortable room with really good shower. Breakfast excellent with real fresh fruit - blueberries , raspberries and kiwi - wow. Hot food freshly cooked and boiled eggs perfect. Personal touches too such as ice to keep milk and juice cool on hot days.

Would recommend to anyone visiting Eastbourne area.

Room Tip: Try to get the family room with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A breath of fresh air! Recently modernised and very tastefully refitted. Friendly, clean and comfortable. I real 'Find'. Breakfast was a delight on the terrace. We'll definitely stay again. In easy reach of the town centre.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maer1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

What a fantastic time, Catherine and Howard made us so welcome, greeting us by name, and being so helpful. The house is very comfortable and clean, the rooms are excellent, with the little personal touches that make them special. Nothing was too much trouble for Catherine and Howard, and breakfast was superb..thank you Howard.
We will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank valerie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have been using Bassets House for many years and were a bit worried when the old owners told us they were retiring. We need not have worried. Catherine and Howard have enhanced an already outstanding reputation. A friendly, pesonalble and caring couple they have ensured the outstanding Bassets repuitation and value for money will continue. We will be back and can give only our highest recommendation to anyone considering a visit to Eastbourne. Ken and Maria

Room Tip: All the rooms are of the highest quality but we find Room 4 especially nice. It has a great view,fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

What a lovely stay we had here. Catherine and Howard are the perfect hosts who made us feel instantly welcome and at home. Our room was lovely and spotlessly clean, the breakfasts excellent and all located within a short walk to the pier. Next time we need to stay in the area Bassets will most definitely be our first choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lampom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Have just come back from Bassets House having spent 2 nights in the family room. Catherine (we had something in common our names) and Howard made us all feel welcome on our arrival, nothing was too much trouble , perfect location. Highly recommend and we will go back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Caterina45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Front Guest House
Beach Front Guest House
#2 of 75 in Eastbourne
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Langtons Guesthouse
The Langtons Guesthouse
#7 of 75 in Eastbourne
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albert & Victoria
Albert & Victoria
#5 of 75 in Eastbourne
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ravilious
Ravilious
#8 of 75 in Eastbourne
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Breakers Guest House
Breakers Guest House
#9 of 75 in Eastbourne
288 reviews
1 mi away
The Mowbray
The Mowbray
#12 of 75 in Eastbourne
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bassets House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bassets House

Address: 72 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range: £67 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bassets House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent privately owned Bed & Breakfast Guesthouse situated to the east of the pier with direct access to the promenade and view of the beach and shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bassets House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing