We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bassets House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bassets House
Ranked #13 of 78 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ripponden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

After a long hot journey we were welcomed by Cathryn and Howard and a much appreciated pot of tea. Howard cooks a good full English breakfast and Cathryn cooks an excellent omelette. She says that is all she can cook! The house is clean and very comfortable as are the bedrooms. We even had a large fan in our room to combat the heat. This is their first season as guest house owners, nothing is too much trouble for them and they have done a wonderful job. We will be back again in November, they plan to stay open all year round.

Room Tip: This hotel is on the sea front, and all rooms are a good size, Front rooms have sea views and top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milldweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
105
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel is beautiful, absolutely spotlessly clean.. Catherine and Howard were the most amazing hosts, made us feel like we were family, calling us my our first names. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was exceptional.We would definately stay here again and have already recommended it to friends . Well done and thank you.

Room Tip: Room 1 was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb_paulPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed in room 6 (family room) with our 11 year old grandson.
Beautiful sea views from our window, two comfy chairs and a table where you could sit and enjoy watching the boats and bowling on the green just across the road.
Our room was spacious, comfortable and very clean indeed.

Opposite was The Redoubt Fortress.
When we stayed they had a special weekend and our grandson really enjoyed spending the afternoon in the fort watching the re-inactments etc.
It was exciting watching the 'skirmish'...when the French Soldiers took over the Fort -
he even helped the Army Doctor in the amputation of a Soldiers leg!

Catherine and Howard were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was lovely, i really enjoyed the fresh fruit salad and activia yoghurt.
Hubby had full cooked breakfast every day, which was very nice. Grandson asked if he could have a bacon sandwich, he was told 'of course' so that's what he had every morning...
he said it was the best bacon sandwich he had ever had! (Thanks Howard)
Breakfast on the Terrace was a nice touch.

Bassets House is so close to the beach, and a safe path area runs along the front, where our grandson enjoyed spending time riding on his new mini skateboard.

There is plenty to do in Eastbourne, our Grandson was never bored,
he really enjoyed visiting the Smugglers Caves at Hastings, but couldn't wait to get back to Eastbourne, which i can understand as it has such a lovely feel to it, so relaxed.
We certainly packed a lot into our four days!

Catherine and Howard were really lovely to out grandson, he loved chatting to them about his day.

We would definately stay here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Sea views at front, all rooms have their own special features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barretts51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Could not fault this excellent guest house. Friendly, caring owners who knew you by name and made good recommendations on where to eat at night. Clean, comfortable room with really good shower. Breakfast excellent with real fresh fruit - blueberries , raspberries and kiwi - wow. Hot food freshly cooked and boiled eggs perfect. Personal touches too such as ice to keep milk and juice cool on hot days.

Would recommend to anyone visiting Eastbourne area.

Room Tip: Try to get the family room with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

A breath of fresh air! Recently modernised and very tastefully refitted. Friendly, clean and comfortable. I real 'Find'. Breakfast was a delight on the terrace. We'll definitely stay again. In easy reach of the town centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maer1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

What a fantastic time, Catherine and Howard made us so welcome, greeting us by name, and being so helpful. The house is very comfortable and clean, the rooms are excellent, with the little personal touches that make them special. Nothing was too much trouble for Catherine and Howard, and breakfast was superb..thank you Howard.
We will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crayford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have been using Bassets House for many years and were a bit worried when the old owners told us they were retiring. We need not have worried. Catherine and Howard have enhanced an already outstanding reputation. A friendly, pesonalble and caring couple they have ensured the outstanding Bassets repuitation and value for money will continue. We will be back and can give only our highest recommendation to anyone considering a visit to Eastbourne. Ken and Maria

Room Tip: All the rooms are of the highest quality but we find Room 4 especially nice. It has a great view,fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#26 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Langtons Guesthouse
The Langtons Guesthouse
#9 of 78 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea View Guest House
Sea View Guest House
#6 of 78 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Front Guest House
Beach Front Guest House
#1 of 78 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bassets House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bassets House

Property: Bassets House
Address: 72 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bassets House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent privately owned Bed & Breakfast Guesthouse situated to the east of the pier with direct access to the promenade and view of the beach and shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bassets House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing