We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Fabulous Stay At The Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cottage

Rear view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear view
Front view Proximity of The Cottage in Normans Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Rear view
Front view
Proximity of The Cottage in Normans Bay
Open plan Kitchen/Diner
Kitchen/diner
One half of the kitchen
Dining Table - can extend to seat 8
The Reading Corner
Family Room
Lounge
Lounge
King-size Bedroom with sea views
King-size bedroom
Double bedroom with sea views and balcony
Twin bedroom with sea views
Twin Bedroom
Corner Bath
Double width shower enclosure
Garden
Deck and Games Room
Seating area in Games Room
Table Tennis and Darts in Games Room
Normans Bay at low tide
The Groynes at Normans Bay
Sovereign Harbour, Eastbourne.
Eastbourne Pier.
As the sun goes down in Normans Bay
The Eastbourne Cliffs taken from Birling Gap
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Eastbourne, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
juliecW18...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous Stay At The Cottage”
Reviewed 5 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

Sorry for late review. I have stayed at this owners other cottage in Eastbourne which is a perfect hideaway for couples. When I walked into into this one I was totally bowled over. This is an amazing big cottage with a walk way a few seconds from the beach directly opposite when you come out the front door. Its in a very tranquil location where you can just totally relax and switch off, very quiet and locals was all friendly and said hello. There is a little shop 1 min walk away and does a great bacon sarnie for £2.50 :) The cottage itself is charming and fab from the moment you walk in definitely home from home. There is lots of space for family's so you are not on top of each other. We came as a couple but would love to return with my mom, dad etc. Everything has been thought of from the beautiful decor and elegant stairway hand carved, wood burner to the amazing garden with the gorgeous willow tree and games room which went down a treat when my family came over to see us. Every bedroom has got a sea view and my one with the balcony was pure bliss having a coffee looking out to the sea wishing I lived there. I loved the loft windows, everything was spotless and clean and the owner always leaves you a welcome treat which is very thoughtful especially if you forgot the milk for a cuppa on arrival. Shower cubicle was big and the lovely round bath. We all met for a meal in The Star Inn Normans Bay which did a fantastic 3 course meal very cheap. There is also a few shops in Normans Bay and we went to a lovely pub there where we were made very welcome. The cottage is also dog friendly which is also a must for us although don,t let that put you off as this cottage is thoroughly spotless. The garden is very safe for children and dogs cant get out.

I loved everything about this cottage, all we need is a hot tub in the garden to make it even more outstanding lol. Tracey the owner is very approachable and always on hand with anything you need to know or any problems. What a wonderful awesome stay and yes we all need to save up and return as a family. Thank you Tracey once again for a totally outstanding break and I would recommend most definitely and check out the quaint cottage in Eastbourne as well.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2018
HI Julie,

I am so touched you took the time to write this review - it is much appreciated. It is so important to other guests when they are not sure of where to book.
Also things like cleanliness and views, space and surroundings are hard to judge when looking at photo's - so all the detail you speak of is very, very helpful for guests.
I love those bacon and egg sarnies on a Saturday morning at the shop!!
I hope you come and see Normans Bay and Eastbourne soon - Sending very best wishes,
Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBGirl64
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A great Battle”
Reviewed 31 March 2018 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed here last September . A great location for exploring the Eastbourne coastline ..... close to the beach and train line and indeed Battle itself ...about 20 mins drive. The property was well equipped .... delightfully furnished....clean a spacious. A smashing wood burner that kept you cosy whilst dining in the conservatory. We had a couple of hiccups where the WiFi decided to give up and the heating didn’t come on ( a human error of switching it off by mistake ) but were sorted promptly by Tracey and her lovely brother in law.The cottage was being closed down for a short spell whilst undergoing a spot of renovation .... would love to go back to see how this has turned out . A definite must for families ... with a beach loving dog.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2018
Hi Sharone! Thanks for leaving a review - Lovely to hear from you.
I remember you well - such a lovely, friendly couple.
We had a builder fall into health problems, so the renovations will start in September now.
We are in a major overhaul to switch from the Pellet Boiler to normal plumbing to make life easier all round, so I am pleased about that.
We are also enquiring about switching to fibre broadband which will upgrade the Wifi considerably. I'll get this done for our summer guests.
We are taking bookings again as of May, so am looking forward to welcoming more guests!
I hope you are all well - and wish you a good summer :-)
Best Wishes,
Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScottF...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent home from home”
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The Cottage is a beautifully presented house with great facilities for the whole family. The rooms have all you need whilst away on holiday. The games room is great to keep teenagers and older family members happy and the bonus of having two living rooms means we have the choice to be together or do our own thing. The area is lovely and quiet, the garden is enclosed and perfect for our dogs to be safe. The local roads are narrow. The owners we're contactable during and after our stay and responded quickly to our queries. A great holiday home and excellent service from the owners. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Hi Scott family,

Thank you for a lovely review - I am so pleased you had a good time and enjoyed the house and area. Please come and see us again sometime!
Enjoy the rest of your summer,
Best wishes,
Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Em0407
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Cottage Eastbourne”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Beautiful house and setting, we particularly enjoyed the lovely garden.The table tennis room was a real bonus too, which provided lots of fun for all the family!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
Hi Emma,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review :-)
I am glad you enjoyed the house. Enjoy the rest of your summer.
Best wishes - Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Apr 2017
Many thanks to you for your lovely review and many thanks on being such great guests. Welcome again anytime!
Best Wishes,
Tracey.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing