We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 14 August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Nic575
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed there for one night on Saturday 11th August as we went to see the Airshow. The young lady on Reception was absolutely first class. We think she said it was her first day......if that was the case, even more impressive because she seemed very professional. As booking in wasnt until 2pm, we were told we could leave our baggage in a securely locked room, so we didnt have the hassle of carrying that around with us all day. The reception and restaurant area was very impressive, clean and shiny ! It appeared that all areas leading to the rooms had been recently refurbished with luxurious looking red carpet. We had a family room which was a good enough size for four of us. Everything worked, shower was hot and water was plentiful. Towels and bed linen were perfectly clean. They do need to invest in some double glazing though because whether the window was open or closed, the noise outside from the traffic and people walking by in the night was horribly loud ! We had an evening meal which was extremely tasty and well presented and not at all expensive. The breakfast too was well cooked and tasted good. All the staff we came into contact with were friendly and helpful. They saved the day because we booked a different hotel about two months ago for this date, then they called us a few days before and said they had double booked! hmmmm.........Anyway, we would definately go again. Oh yes, and the airshow was FANTASTIC

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twizzle07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The hotel is very clean and tidy the staff are very friendly ,breakfast was very good ,the only thing wrong was the size of room very small we were at the back of the hotel over looking the road traffic was noisy during the night

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blacktench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The Eastbourne Riviera rescued me and my Son from the worst holiday ever. After booking into the Travelodge next door, we were left without accommodation after they had a flood, leaving us without water or toilet facilities. The Eastbourne Riviera took on the guests from the Travelodge, and I was extremely impressed by their friendliness, and courtesy. The room was fantastic, with a lovely sea view, and was cleaned daily. The breakfast was extremely good with lots of choice. After a stressful couple of days, when we moved hotel, as you can imagine I was quite upset - the receptionist was very helpful and all of the staff, right down to the maids who clean the room, were friendly and polite. Next time I will book here instead of the Travelodge next door. Thank you to the Riviera for coming to the rescue.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy4lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

lovely hotel very clean food good bar area and resturent spotless my wife and i felt that our only complaint was our room 142 was not big enough for a couple small door hit the bed when opened a single wardrop and window looked out onto shaft i asked the following morning if wecould get achange of room butwas told was fully booked this waisted agood holiday

Room Tip: ask for room 131 what i saw of it sea view and big
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robertwhite J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I stayed at the hotel for one night.The staff were pleasant and helpful.Our room was adequate with nice linen and towels.We were located at the side of the hotel and it was rather noisy at 2am when people were passing outside despite being on the second floor.Our breakfast was tasty although the staff did seem rather over-stretched when a lot of guests descended at the same time.I think the bar would be used more if it was cosier.It doubles up as reception and as the downstairs rooms are open plan it is not conducive to a cosy drink.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandadavies43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

We booked last minute online as this was the only hotel we could find in Eastbourne with a family room. We arrived quite late (after 10pm) and were impressed with the outside and reception/bar area. We were checked in quickly by the receptionist/barman but I was disappointed when I asked him if our cot had been left in room and he said he had left it by the lift for us to take up ourselves.

It's worth pointing out that parking is in the spaces along the seafront which can get very full but the hotel offer a special permit for £1 for 24 hours if you can find a space.

The room was disappointing to be honest, clean but very tired and in need of refurb, also quite small for a family room. The hotel is in a fantastic position right on the seafront but the room was very hot so we had to have the window open and it was very noisy all through the night.

The breakfast was great, served to our table and very speedy, good full English with choice of juices and hot drinks.

Although very close to the pier and town the hotel itself was very quiet at nighttime with nothing going on in the bar on either night we were there, not even any music playing which was disappointing as with two small children we didn't stay out late and would have liked to be able to enjoy a bit of atmosphere at the hotel before going to our room.

Overall it was pleasant enough, I would go back but it wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sjg28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
955 reviews
0.5 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
497 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oban
Oban
#20 of 40 in Eastbourne
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Afton Hotel
Afton Hotel
#22 of 40 in Eastbourne
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,413 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastbourne Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastbourne Riviera Hotel

Address: 26 Marine Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £33 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eastbourne Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastbourne Riviera Hotel is a modern 37 bedroom hotel on Eastbourne's elegant seafront. The hotel is well known for its international cuisine, stylish design & friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Eastbourne Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing