We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Trip was with National Holidays which included travel there and back, 3 nights 3 course dinner, bed and breakfast, free drinks for 3 hours, and a day trip out all for under £100.
Hotel clean, beds comfy, tea and coffee in room, clean towels, food good, staff friendly and polite.--- BUT you get what you pay for !!
If you want a cheap holiday away it is a nice hotel to go to.
If you want a flash hotel, nicely decorated with good entertainment, don't go, cause you wont notice the nice things about this hotel, you will only see the bad things, like the hotel is in need of redecoration, and repair.
We had a nice time, we paid cheap, and we got cheap clean comfy accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dogloverSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

Thank you for your honest comments and we hope you will return again in the future and enjoy your stay as much as you enjoyed this one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

My wife and I went on a National Holiday trip (4th Nov) All inclusive from Wakefield. Reasonable coach journey and first impression of hotel was it's OK. Now please remember we paid £119 each. Regular visitors, of which there were many, paid 10% less than us. Now for this you get taken there and back, have a day trip, full english breakfast every day with choice of cereals or porridge, fruit juice and toast and tea or coffee. A three course evening meal with wine and bread roll and coffee in the lounge (as much as you want). All the drinks are branded drinks, Bells, Ron Bacardi etc

We found the service very good - no waiting and hardly any at the bar even on all inclusive , and you can have as much as you want in the three hours, and believe me I had my money's worth.

The beds were very comfy, clean and there is a hospitality tray and TV

If you want to be picky then this is what you read - there were some tiles missing in the bathroom behind the radiator and the decorations could have been better as could the carpets. The floorboards seemed loose in a couple of places and yes it could do with refurbishing in some areas. The food portions were too small etc. etc. The room was too hot. (turned radiator down and opened a window)

So here is the reality. I bet you could visit any of the reviewers homes and find a cobweb, maybe a bit of black grout, an area where the wallpaper is peeling away, weeds in the garden, unwashed car in the driveway. I could go on, but hotel chains like this can't offer budget holidays and food like we had and spend a lot redecorating all the time.

I hope this review helps and don't be put off by some negative reviews and don't expect 5* standards at the prices they charge. Be prepared for some things not being perfect and just enjoy yourselves. We had a great time and the other guests we spoke to were all happy with the place as was everyone on our coach.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Jaycee1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Wow, what a great review. Thank you. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and think the holiday was value for money. Our goal at all times is to provide good food and comfortable accomodation at an affordable price. It is nice to know that some people understand this and enjoy the product we provide. We are a two star hotel providing a two star service, which you fully grasp and obviously appreciate and enjoy. If only all our guests could be like you you life would be easy. Yet again thank you for a very balanced review of our hotel and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We have stayed in quite a few Shearings hotels, I can honestly say this is the worst.The main problems i had with this hotel were the service in both the restaurant and the bar.Every meal was chaotic, the staff are were'nt trained you never knew when you would be served. The crockery was chipped and broken, not enough cutlery.The bar was the same could take up to 20minutes to queue for a drink.We ended up going out for meals..The hotel was tired but the bedrooms were clean and tidy.

Room Tip: sea view rooms the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob43cleethorpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

As I have stated previously the meal times have now been altered for the restaurant to accomadate the free bar. This has helped extremely with the service.
As for the bar it can accommodate three members of staff comfortably, which we have on duty every evening constantly. In a Hotel that holds 177 people it is inevitable that queues happen. We have been running this holiday for some years now during the winter and most of the times never had a problem as people do not tend to have long waiting periods for drinks.
I am sorry to hear you went out for meals but I am glad at least the room was acceptable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

just come back from eastbourne with nationalhoildays, a big thank you to old brian our driver ,he jokes are good and he very friendly as well,,but hotels small and hot like a sauna and i was only wearing a shorts for all meals times and in our room just shorts and know shirt but still the older were moaning alot that the hotel was cold i think the older people should move a round a little more to keep warm,meals times good but a little small in portion but a good waiter was a very lady called Kelly very quick to serve you at your table and always happy in her work well done Kelly,the hotel is a two star ,and needs lots of work in rooms and lefts etc ,needs lots of money for the help,maybe national holidays or shearings mealt put some money in the hotel pot to help them and beds need replace as well lots of spring in my bed .i was happy to home for good night sleep

Room Tip: pay a little more money a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARK696969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Thank you for your comments. I appreciate it is difficult to accomodate everyone with the temperature of the public rooms. I am sorry to hear you were uncomfortable with the heat but as you said we had several elderly people wanting it hotter.
I will be sure to pass on your comments to Kelly in the restaurant. She will be over the moon.
As I have stated previously the Hotel does have a refurbishment programme but as the Hotel is occupied all year round it does take a lot of wear and tear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We have stayed in a few Shearings Holiday hotels before but can say this one is the worst!! Our room was O.K. but the radiator did not come on but that was fine because the room was hot. The bathroom was very basic indeed and I did not like the handrail in the shower unit, as it was rusty.On one day of our stay our bed was not made, which was rather strange. The food was not very good and our waitress threw the food down but I don't think this was rudeness, rather she was too busy with not enough staff on. The hotel needs to close down for two weeks in order to repaint and redecorate. The only redeeming feature was the free bar after 7.30 p.m. where the drinks were all top brands. We made full use of this!! As we had not paid full brochure price we thought it value for money and would try another Shearings Hotel, but not the Majestic!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

I am glad you found the holiday value for money and would try another Shearings holiday. The restaurant can be rather frantic at this time of the year due to the free bar. As most people want to have their meal before the free bar we find that 70% or more of our guests appear in the restaurant at the same time, which as you can appreciate puts a lot of strain on the waiting staff.
After the first Bay inclusive holiday we ran we have now brought the meal times fifteen minutes earlier to accomodate the free bar times. This has definately helped with the rush and most people are happy with the new arrangements.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and I hope you enjoy your next Bay holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

we stayed at the majestic for a 4 day break, staff very pleasant food very good choice, small portions but as 3 courses were served more than enough,room was spotless cleaned everyday clean towels no complaints at all,so if you are thinking of staying here dont get put of by some of the reveiws we were all inculsive top brans not like cheap booze abroad

Room Tip: we were on the first floor not a sea view but we only slept in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

A good honest review, thank you. It is so refreshing when people get to the point and just state the facts. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and took the time to look at the other reviews people have posted. trip adviser is all about personal opinion and evryone's opinion is different as you can see below, but I am glad to hear your opinion was positive.Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we hope you will visit again in the future and have another enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Just returned from an all inclusive 4 night stay. This is the first time of using Shearings. We have stayed previously at Warners (much better hotels and value) The hotel is in dire need of refurbishment. Our room on the first floor, sea facing, wall paper coming off due to water leak from outside, stuck down with masking tape, plaster falling from the ceiling due to water coming in, carpets very dirty, bathroom had mould on silicone filler, bath leaving the wall, taps difficult to use, dressing table back falling off. We had a bulb go in the bathroom and reported it in the morning at 0800hrs at 1600hrs still not replaced (removed it my self and replaced as was told would not be done until the next day as no-one there who could replace the bulb.)

The passage ways to the rooms very dirty and in need of compete make over. The food was OK but nothing special. The staff generally were pleasant with the exception of the young lady who was attending to us who seemed to have a problem with common courtesy and smiling (neither of which had been master) staff training is needed and the lack of a dining room supervisor was plain to be seen, perhaps the hotel could save on staff and make the dining self service. Food was OK but portions could have been larger.

Would we stay again? no, would we recommend? no was it value? no only good thing was the inclusive drink package, would we use again?no, would we recommend? definitely NO-NO-NO

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TezzaBazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your holiday here at the Majestic Hotel. As you have stayed with Warner holidays previously maybe you should try our Coast and Country holidays. These are very similar to the warner product. Unfortunately we are not, which the price reflects.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Burlington Hotel
Bay Burlington Hotel
#17 of 40 in Eastbourne
864 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,403 reviews
0.8 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,032 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#8 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel

Address: 26-34 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £61 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Eastbourne hotel’s views look out across Royal Parade towards the wide expanse of beach and the rippling sea. The Majestic Hotel is one of the best value hotels in Eastbourne and is situated in an ideal position to discover Eastbourne’s many attractions – within a few minutes’ walk of the bustling pier and picturesque Redoubt Gardens, and lying close to the heart of the town, this popular hotel is the perfect complement to Eastbourne, which has an air of tradition and charm. Taking a well earned break from sightseeing is easy at the Majestic Hotel – watch the world go by from the television lounge, or enjoy the terrace which is a perfect sun-trap. Alternatively you can have a refreshing drink at the bar... full of friendly faces, it offers a lively welcome to one of the South Coast's finest resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing