We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“weekend break”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Just back from fri to mon break travelled with shearings only paid £99 for three nights bed breakfast and evening meal plus a day excursion to brighton so we weren't expecting the ritz but were pleasantly surprised . Plus side public areas of hotel had obviously been recently decorated , lots of seating in large windows overlooking the sea , food well cooked and presented and tasty with some interesting choices , staff on the whole cheerful and helpful , bedroom and shower room clean and water piping hot , only 5 mins walk to pier and 15 mins or so into town . Down side bedroom could be described as bijou , view from window a back yard and scaffolding and its been a long time since Ive slept in a bed with sheets and blankets not a duvet although the bed was very comfy . Prices at the bar were a bit steep £15 for a bottle of bog standard wine which was on promotion at £4 off so should have been nearly £20 . Needless to say we chose to walk into town 2 of the 3 nights we stayed . All in all my sister and I had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend and would stay at the majestic again and would choose shearings again .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you Susan P for posting your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your holiday. It is good to hear comments about the new public areas. Hopefully if you return in the future you will notice other changes we have planned to the hotel. Not much more I can add except we look forward to welcoming you in the future and thank you again for a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    206
    145
    62
    47
See reviews for
55
314
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just returned from this hotel, after a lovely weekend, now to answer some of the recent reviews, yes some of the hotel really needs updating, however the bar and lounge have been renovated and looks quite nice and bright, some of the bedrooms need up grading our bedroom had been and was comfy, bed comfortable, Staff great, barman lovely and had remembered us wish I had asked his name, Kate what a little star, not only very cheerful and happy but put up with people moaning with a smile. great location. we paid peanuts for transport, bed breakfasts and evening meals, also trips thrown in, also our driver Craig excellent, if you want to pay more for these weekends perhaps national holidays could invest more !!, think about it !! we visit Eastbourne regular to see our family and will continue to use both the Majestic and Burlington hotels, thank you to all staff for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christmasmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you christmasmanchester for a great review. Don’t think there is much I can say to this. It is always great to hear from guests who have enjoyed their time with us. I will agree with you, Kate is definitely a star and one of our best waiters, she will be so pleased to hear your comments. Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed for four nights, and experienced the quite basic of hotels. The 2 lifts were very small, each holding 2 people comfortably, 4 very cramped, and don't mention luggage. The lifts are old, and, on one occasion, got stuck between floors, forcing us to activate the alarm. The lifts just couldn't cope with the continual pressing of the floor selection button. For anyone with a severe disability problem, KEEP AWAY. The bedroom was okay, but the bathroom required a refit. If I had been a little bit wider, I would have been unable to squeeze into the shower, so some average built people would have to forgo the pleasure until they returned home. (Not an ideal situation to be in). The central heating was continually on, and the radiator thermostat was not working, so for the first two nights we fried. Having gone to reception to complain, I found others there who had experienced the same fate. We were told that the heating would now be turned off at nights, which it was, and the remaining nights were okay, except that, of the three windows, one was able to be opened, but only by about six inches. The dining area in the basement, was very cramped, plus, the tables appeared to be not quite up to the standard size, which meant, when the four seats were occupied, there was little room for the required tableware, and one could compare it with having a meal in an airplane, economy class.
I am always guided by first impressions of hotels. In this case the broken and patched floor tiles on the entrance steps didn't help. This experience only confirms the old saying, 'You only get what you pay for', and for what we paid, I suppose I shouldn't expect more. It's a pity that a lot of hotels don't allow for a realistic maintenance cost into their yearly budget, but, in this economic climate, not knowing what tomorrow will bring, they're more interested in the bottom line of profit, rather than spending on property upkeep.
My overall view - For what you pay, don't expect too much, and you won't be disappointed. If you've a walking disability - KEEP AWAY !! Happy holiday.

Room Tip: Apply for a suitable bathroom, and a room were windows can be opened.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you Ramond D for posting your review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy some aspects of your holiday. Our lifts are extremely busy during peak time in a large hotel such as this, fortunately we have two. I am pleased to hear however that the room was ok for you. All shower cubicles entrances are a standard size so I was a little concerned you felt yours was small. The heating in the hotel is controlled centrally. Due to the erratic weather temperatures we were having at the time it was difficult to get this just right, as one night the temperature would drop drastically and the next was mild, We turned the heating on but as you stated we turned it back off when we were informed it was too hot. We have a refurbishment programme in place at the hotel and our front steps are due to done but I take on board your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Majestic for 2 nights from 19th to 21st October. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the facilites were fine and the food was very good and plentiful. Etremely good value for money.

When we arrived, we found that the toilet in our room did not flush, so we were re-located to a different room - twin beds rather than a double but that was all that was available.

The TV in this room (304) simply did not work!! We would choose a channel and the signal would drop out every few seconds, so we gave up trying.

On our last day, we were rather disconcerted when, at 08:40am there was a knock on the door from housekeeping and they just came straight in. I was in the shower at the time and my wife was getting dressed!! My wife explained that we had the room until 10:00am but the same person came back and entered the room again ten minutes later. Fortunately, by that time we were BOTH dressed, which was lucky for all concerned. I mentioned it to Reception and they assured us that this should not have happened.

Those two issues apart, a very enjoyable break and a great hotel location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you Neil C for posting your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We aim to provide comfortable accommodation at affordable prices and on this occasion I am pleased to hear we succeeded. It is always good to hear guests commenting on the staff so thank you and I will be sure to pass your comments on to them. I am sorry to hear you were disturbed on departure morning and I have now spoken to the housekeeper, so this should no longer happen. Thank you again for posting such a fair review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had a sea view room that was passable, miserable bathroom, with a narrow glass shelf most unsuitable.

The dining room is in the basement down two flights of stairs, no lift, dimly lit ,more like a world war two underground shelter. tables much too small, no room on them, and tightly packed to-gether, as for the food, being vegetarian very limited choice (curry) after consultation with a very helpful receptionist, she ordered omelette's for us, but, that would have been fine had the cook/chef known how to cook one, it arrived like a sheet of rubber, just fit for the bin, vegetables over cooked just mush.

The breakfast was acceptable, not dripping in grease and we were told cooked by a Hungarian chef. maybe he could give the evening cook/chef a few lessons.
The waitress Kate was a delight, nothing was too much trouble, always had a big smile.

Would we return to Shearings in the future, NEVER.

Room Tip: Don't think any are worth a mention.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you Derek F for posting your review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy some aspects of your holiday. We have a vegetarian option on our menu each evening and we also have a vegetarian choice on our supplement menu so I am sorry to hear you feel you did not have enough choice. Generally our guests are happy with the choice and variety of the menu but I will pass your comments to our chef concerning the omelette you had. I am glad however that you enjoyed breakfast and I will be sure to pass your comments on to Kate, who I know will be pleased to hear them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I recently took a 5 day break with Shearings holidays. This was one of the worst holidays I have taken, and I wont be taking one with them again.

There were several aspects of the hotel that were very unsatisfactory.

On arrival to our room, we found the toilet was leaking, we reported it to reception, a young man came with a pile of towels to mop it up, he said the plumber would come the next day, which he did, he did a bodged job and 3 days later it was pouring out, we phoned reception again and were told to throw the towels on the floor!!!

The shower was a nitemare, there were two large sharp panes of glass with a ripped curtain, the gap to get in was about 2ft wide, and as a person with a mobility problem this made getting in and out of the shower very difficult for me. There was no window and no extractor that worked. The hot tap in the sink had to be turned on fully before any water would come out of it, we wondered if it would even turn off!!! The cold tap just trickled out when it was turned on fully..!!!

The window in our room had a very large crack in it, so we felt it was unsafe to open.

The lifts were awful and only came up when they felt like it, and often just went up and down on their own.

The food was reasonable, although the staff were running around and seemed to have no method. We were often left to last despite being there before some of the other guests. Also it seemed no-one had any first aid training or that there was no first aider on site, one lady had a fit and the members of staff were just standing there staring at her, whilst her husband and one of the guests sorted it out.

As this was my first trip with Shearings, sadly I feel it will be my last.

Room Tip: The only room that worth having would be either overlooking the sea or on the ground floor, in order...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
58 Thank ann p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you ann p for posting your review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us and I will look into your comments concerning the room although all shower cubicle entrances are of a standard size. The Lifts do get busy at peak times in a large hotel such as this. I was concerned to read your comments about first aiders as we do have designated trained staff within the hotel as I know one did attended to the lady in question. All reviews are important to us and determine how we can improve our hotels so thank you again for posting yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Traveled by coach with shearings. Coach driver Dianne was very caring and good fun. Hotel is old but in a wonderful location.staff all very friendly and helpful. I found the hotel was of a good standard with our sea view room 219 being just right for our needs. Lifts were busy so used stairs. Must mention waitress Helen who worked hard to look after our needs and the friendly reception staff (not an easy job with the constant moaners).Dinning room in the basement needs air conditioning and more staff to cope at peak times.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you Barry S for posting your review. It is always good to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay. As I have stated many time previously I believe the staff are a major asset to the Hotel and I am glad you agree. They work incredibly hard to please all of the guests but unfortunately this is not always possible all of the time. I will be sure to pass your comments to Helen who I know will be frilled. Thank you again for your great review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Burlington Hotel
Bay Burlington Hotel
#17 of 40 in Eastbourne
834 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel

Property: Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Address: 26-34 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Eastbourne hotel’s views look out across Royal Parade towards the wide expanse of beach and the rippling sea. The Majestic Hotel is one of the best value hotels in Eastbourne and is situated in an ideal position to discover Eastbourne’s many attractions – within a few minutes’ walk of the bustling pier and picturesque Redoubt Gardens, and lying close to the heart of the town, this popular hotel is the perfect complement to Eastbourne, which has an air of tradition and charm. Taking a well earned break from sightseeing is easy at the Majestic Hotel – watch the world go by from the television lounge, or enjoy the terrace which is a perfect sun-trap. Alternatively you can have a refreshing drink at the bar... full of friendly faces, it offers a lively welcome to one of the South Coast's finest resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing