We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would not return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We would not return”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The food was okay. The location is good.
The room was dirty, windows filthy inside and out and there were cobwebs in the corners. The bathroom was revolting with a thick layer of black mould around the shower. The TV was an antique and we could only get 2 channels.
The food was served in the basement and we had to decide whether to drag our old bone down and back up via the stairs or suffer the thoroughly revolting lift that didn't look as though it had been cleaned for decades, quite revolting. Thank heavens we were only staying one night otherwise we would have moved to another hotel. I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Billyjean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hi Billyjean S. Sorry you did not enjoy your short stay here at the Majestic. Whilst I appreciate you were allocated one of our older rooms, to call it dirty is a little unfair. Reception would have been more than happy to change you to another room if you would have contacted them as the Hotel was not full during your stay. As you can see from other reviews the girls on the desk are always happy to help when they can. Thank you for posting your review as all comments are important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    202
    143
    61
    45
See reviews for
54
307
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed as part of a Shearings weekend break our first time with them and it won't be the last. Hotel was clean and our room was comfortable although the TV was in need of upgrade. The meals were excellent with extra chooses available at an extra charge although we did not need to use these as the chooses include we're varied. When we arrived in the restaurant we were seated with two other people when we enquires about been seated as a couple we were told that we should have requested this earlier. I would therefore advise if you wish to be seated as a couple you ask before you are seated. As the weekend progressed we were glad as we were seated as a four as we met two lovely people. Entertainment was good host excellent with caberet bingo dancing and quizzes all the nights we were there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, General Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi Christine C. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We try and give as much choice as possible to our guests in the restaurant and I am pleased to hear you found the choices varied. It is always nice to go away and meet new friends and I am glad you found this in your break. Thank you for posting your review and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Just finished a five day Shearings break which included staying at the Majestic Hotel. Can,t fault the hotel,the room was clean,the reception staff were very friendly and the restaurant waiters/waitress,s were happiness themselves.The bus driver (Pete) did a excellent job passing on information of places we were going to or passing through.A excellent ,value for money Holliday :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paulandbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, General Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi paulandbev. Thank you for the fantastic five stars you gave us in your review. Good to know you found everything to your liking and it is always good to hear reviews about the staff. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Our coach arrived at hotel at 14.45, we were told abruptly that rooms weren't ready & to wait in lounge. After about 20 minutes we noticed some people had their room keys, no-one bothered to tell us that we could check-in. A disappointing start.
We had requested & paid supplement for sea-view rooms, also asked for rooms to be near each other, this was exactly what we got.
The hotel overlooks the sea & views are superb, worth paying extra to get this.The shower in our room was very small & old, the room was serviced every day & was clean. Beds comfortable. TV temperamental.
Evening meals served from 18.30 - 19.15, you are shown to a table and this is yours for the duration of your stay, 3 course meal with a choice for each course, bar person comes to take your drinks order, waitress service for all meals. Breakfast served from 08.00 - 09.15, self- serve of fruit juices, cereals etc. with a large choice, waitress takes order for full English breakfast with variations if required.10/10 to chef. Food was of a high quality & was served quickly.
Entertainment was very good, mine host was very funny, 1st night was bingo & magician, 2nd night bingo, quiz & disco, 3rd night vocalist who was excellent & had everyone up dancing.
Good service at bar, no queues, shame that Dean was moving on to pastures new.
The hotel decor is tired, The lifts are old & very small, struggled to get 4 people in.
Plenty of seating areas in the hotel lounges.
Visited the pier but not much open, bandstand was being renovated.
Crown & Anchor pub very friendly & menu looked good.
Eastbourne town centre larger than we thought it would be & has all the high street stores.
Would we go back... yes for food quality & entertainment.

Room Tip: pay the extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank globesetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, General Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi globesetters. Glad to hear you enjoyed most aspects of your holiday. Sorry to hear about the unfortunate start and I will speak to reception to ensure all guests are informed of the rooms being ready for check in. I will be sure to pass your comments to the chef and I know she will be pleased to hear them. However it is good to hear you enjoyed Eastbourne overall and would return. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed from March 17th to 21st. The journey down was good, but the driver was quite regimental!!. On arrival the outside of the hotel needed a good painting.The reception staff were very friendly and efficient. We were allocated Room 212, the room was ok but lacked storage space for clothes, and needed upgrading.The Bathroom was a good size but the shower curtain was hanging off the rail and the side panel on the shower was off the runners. I reported this and they fixed the curtain but could not fix the side panel. The bed was comfy and room service everyday, we did overlook the backyard, but could have paid £25 extra for a sea view.The food was quite good but the staff were run off their feet but worked very hard every day.I could not understand why the restaurant was in the basement down 2 flights of stairs and noticed quite a few of the more elderly struggling to get up and down especially those with walking sticks, this needs to be addressed urgently. The entertainment was first class, every night was very good, and the 4 free drinks vouchers superb.We visited Eastbourne centre and Hastings on our free days, and Lewes (not much there) and Worthing and Brighton on the 2 trips. Brighton is worth a visit.Again this 4 days half board is very good value for money, but if the Hotel was generally refurbished they may get more people coming as our coach was only 2/3rds full. We met some very nice people on the trip especially the couple from Litchfield nr Birmingham. This was our 4th trip with Shearings. We would consider going again.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra cost go for Sea View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PlattJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi PlattJ. Good to hear from guests who are regular travellers with Shearings. Thank you for your comments. The Hotel does have a lift to the restaurant to accommodate people who cannot manage stairs. Also, all rooms in all Shearings owned hotels have a double wardrobe and some drawer space for storage of clothing. As our packages only run at 5 days maximum in the winter and 7 in the summer this is normally enough for the majority of our guests. Pleased to hear though that you found the staff friendly and helpful and overall the package value for money. Thank you for posting your review and I hope you enjoy your next Shearings’ Holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

If you go prepared for a fun-filled break in Eastbourne then Paul Webb and the Majestic should be your choice – Host, DJ, Singer/Comic and all-around jovial entertainer with character; you can’t help but like him – especially when he keeps up his smile without a trace of annoyance hosting bingo, quizzes and dances whilst also introducing acts in front of a boisterous crowd with our over exuberant rabble-rousers leading the way. He exudes fun and seems to thoroughly enjoy every minute of matching wits with the hecklers and encouraging the most enthusiastic revellers.
I can’t fault any other staff either. Reception staff, bar staff and kitchen staff were all friendly and efficient. I heard of one waiter who was a bit slow but our own waitress Claudia was the exact opposite – Efficient and fast, smiling and personable; Portuguese and new to the job she was nevertheless a natural waitress with exceptional English.
Our first floor room No.123 was quiet as it is somewhat away from the entertainment areas and lifts. It poses a small problem when dealing with cases as the stairs are steep with tight bends and the closest lift barely holds two people when including their luggage. It boasts a 3-element bay window giving great sea-and promenade views, was large, clean and with recently refurbished décor. The window-frames are old & rotting but this only affected us on the 1st night with a head-on wind from the sea causing draughts.
The bathroom is large but has a stingy small shower enclosure which could easily be doubled or trebled in size for those of us who are spreading with age and have more difficulty reaching our toes nowadays. All in all though, it is worth paying some supplement to secure such a room. (just maybe not £20/person)
The food was good but portions were small. Gala evening meal was a damp squib and boiled down to an extra slice of melon as a fourth course (No wine) with a “chef’s choice of the day” becoming another “normal” choice.
On our “National” coach journey from Newcastle my wife and I were lucky enough to fall naturally into company with the “Birtley Gang of Four” as I came to think of them, and they provided superb company with lots of laughs along the way.
Our driver was efficient & very skilled but somewhat self-serving and not the jovial knowledgeable tour-guide type that some are. As our coach was only half-full he arranged with the driver from Yorkshire (Also less than half-full) to combine our two parties into one. This, of course, earned himself and the second driver an extra day off and was therefore of benefit to him and possibly his employers but certainly not to us.
Combining two parties into one coach meant that on the Thursday trip (our 43rd anniversary) we were deprived of our “reserved seats”. The day was also shortened when our new driver for the day calculated that their simply was not time to go to all of the designated locations in one go and so he did an impromptu pole as to which we were to leave out. This turned out to be Rye.
All of this aside these small criticisms of no real consequence, we acknowledge that these hotels and the coach companies have to operate on a shoe-string; we enjoyed our 5-day break, our forth or fifth and intend to book for more in the future.

Room Tip: Room 123 is well-decorated, well-located and quiet at the front of the hotel with a three-element ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi James Michael R. Great to hear Claudia is receiving such good comments so soon after joining the team in the restaurant. A tip for the future, if you find the portions small let the waiter know and they will be happy to provide a larger portion. Paul will also be pleased to hear your comments as I know he works hard to try and please all guests. Nice to know you found your room comfortable and the views are great. This is not one of our newly refurbished rooms but it is a nice spacious room. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Grea1st time I have been on an all inclusive coach trip, but it will not be the last. I could not fault anything, the room was clean and comfortable, the shower was great, the food fantastic and the entertainment was the best.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 210 no complaints at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LindaW889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi LindaW889. Please to hear you have never gone on an Inclusive coach holiday but would again. We run these packages in the winter and find they are very popular. The majority of our guests tend to book again after they have had the experience of an Inclusive breaks. Thank you for a great review and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Burlington Hotel
Bay Burlington Hotel
#15 of 40 in Eastbourne
809 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,549 reviews
1.0 mi away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel

Property: Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Address: 26-34 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Eastbourne hotel’s views look out across Royal Parade towards the wide expanse of beach and the rippling sea. The Majestic Hotel is one of the best value hotels in Eastbourne and is situated in an ideal position to discover Eastbourne’s many attractions – within a few minutes’ walk of the bustling pier and picturesque Redoubt Gardens, and lying close to the heart of the town, this popular hotel is the perfect complement to Eastbourne, which has an air of tradition and charm. Taking a well earned break from sightseeing is easy at the Majestic Hotel – watch the world go by from the television lounge, or enjoy the terrace which is a perfect sun-trap. Alternatively you can have a refreshing drink at the bar... full of friendly faces, it offers a lively welcome to one of the South Coast's finest resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing