We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Not expecting too much as very cheap holiday. Hotel was clean staff very friendly and food surprisingly good. Mainly elderly people on coach tours staying here but this proved to be a bonus as met some lonely people. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and couldn't have asked for more even if it had been twice the price

Room Tip: Lots of stairs so request lower room if needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hi Gerry D. Thank you for your 5 star review. Pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your holiday. Good company can always make a stay more enjoyable so it is nice to hear you found some lovely people to chat to. Thank you for posting your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just spent the weekend in this hotel ,the downstairs i.e reception,bar,and lounge great so you think your onto a winner here,then you open the door and climb the stairs what a differencei dont think its seen any paint for donkeys years and same goes with the carpet, we were on the first floor at the back of the hotel,our carpet looked as though it had been there for years faded and so badly soiled i had to buy slippers as i did not want to walk on it, the same goes for our window i dont think it has seen soap or water since its been built, also there was no nets and we had a house dead opposite looking in ,no privacy what so ever,but please the windows were filthfy, and it just made the room so unclean,but clean sheets and towels, and nice food and good entertainment.also our tv was so old the screen was the size of a postage stamp,we have been to most of the seafront

Room Tip: Dont go in to a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Littleannie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hi Littleannie3.I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do have some older styled rooms and some really new modern rooms. We have a refurbishment programme for the rooms but unfortunately the room you were allocated would have been one of the older ones. On a positive note and I pleased you found the public rooms good. As all people use the public areas these areas were refurbished first in the programme. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights.
Staff helpful.
Room clean albeit cold.
Food Adequate and plentiful.
Drinks expensive in the extreme.
Entertainment poor.
On the whole a very pleasant stay and we have booked again.
Well done to the Staff who cared

Room Tip: Higher floors are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asgoodascanbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Hi David M. Your heading is what we aim to be and I am pleased to hear on this occasion we succeeded. I will be sure to pass your comments to the team as I know they are always happy to hear from guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your review and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed at Majestic for 4 nights booked through shearing's had to pay a supplement for three bedded room asked for double or twin, tried to book over the phone no one answered said to call me back . Did not get back to me until next day then the price had gone up, On arrival given a room with three beds and OMG what a state a massive stain on the carpet looked as if someone had been sick and it had crusted over,( yuck,) bathroom in need of a good clean make over as did most of the hotel. went to reception for another room as I could not stay in that room, and a woman with a bad attitude said they had not got another room as the hotel was full and all other room came with a supplement and we could have a full refund for another hotel or go home I told her what a stupid statement as we did not know any other hotels or Eastbourne. she did find us another room a sea view to compensate i think she needs some training on how to speak to people don't know what her position was she did not have a name tag or a uniform. Bar area was ok as was the waiting staff in dining room, and Pete our driver was excellent very polite and very informative and a joy to travel with. I will think twice about traveling with shearing's I certainly will not go back to that hotel.

Room Tip: up dated rooms if you can get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Hi David H thank you for taking the time to post your review. The lady in question was myself and I am sorry you felt I had a bad attitude, this was not my intention. I was trying to explain the situation to your wife at reception, as the hotel was full we could not move you and your wife to another room so the only alternative was to offer a refund rather than leave you in a room that you would not be happy staying in. We would have been more than happy to help you find alternative accommodation in Eastbourne if you did not know the local area. Fortunately we were able to offer an alternative by juggling the rooms around and changing the room type you had booked, your wife did come back to me later and thank me for my help so I am a little surprised to read your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My 83 year old mother stayed here with a group of friends for four nights with National Holidays. Generally everything was ok, Room and food were fine and she enjoyed the entertainment but found the lifts very difficult to use and said they could have done with an overhaul! There was no remote control in the room which she did report to the receptionist but she never received one. All 4 ladies had paid for single rooms but these rooms were all only accessible by a set of 7 stairs which made access to the rooms difficult. They asked for help with their cases on the day they were leaving but the 2 receptionist were less than helpful saying no, you cant have any help, that would cost extra. My mums party did offer to leave a tip for help but they were still refused. Their attitude was very rude and upset the ladies. They will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue4Boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hi Sue4boo. I am pleased to hear your mother and her friends found the holiday in general good. All of our back facing single rooms are on mezzanine floors and therefore all of them have stairs. Although the lifts access all main floors they do access the mezzanine floors. As for the remote controls unfortunately they do go missing on a regular basis. We try and keep spares at the hotel but sometimes we do run out whilst waiting for new ones to be delivered. I apologise if your mother felt the reception staff were rude but generally reception staff try their utmost and as a rule are very good as you will see from previous reviews. Thank you for posting your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed 4 days/3 nights at Easter 2014 booked through Shearings. . Hotel in real need of some TLC. Bar area was fine, reception area fine, The lift in need of a good clean and lick of paint as are most of the doors. Room was adequate, althugh it was at the back of the Hotel, windows hard to shut, heating not good(,take a jumper to keep warm.) Dining area in the basement, not tablecloths on table, Food ok, could be a lot better, Chef's special was stew !! and full english breakfast nothing special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestMidlandsLadyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, General Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hi WestMidlandsLadyBee. Sorry to hear you did not enjoy all aspects of your holiday. As the weather is getting warmer we do turn the heating down but if any of our guests are uncomfortable we are always happy to provide extra heaters in the room. We are constantly renewing and up grading our bedrooms and we have a refurbishment plan in place. At the present time we have refurbished 2 floors of our bedrooms and plan to do more in the coming year. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Had a week at the Majestic ,We booked through shearings,We wasnt happy with our room only because it did'nt have a bath ,After talking to the reception staff ,They gave us a choice of 2 other rooms @ an extra cost ,The room we chose was lovely and clean ,Staff were more than helpful ,Food was great and plenty of it ,Roland (the waiter) was Brilliant as were all the staff ,Entertainment was good ,Peter our Driver was very nice ,All in all a great holiday ,Thank you ,From Pat & Bob from Sittingbourne .

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, General Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hi Patricia L. Glad to hear the staff offered you an alternative when you were not happy with your room. Unfortunately we do not have many rooms with baths in the Hotel. We try and meet all our guests requests but sometimes it is not always possible, but I am pleased however you enjoyed your stay overall. I will be sure to pass your comments to Roland. He is a star and is liked by all his guests. Thank you for posting your review and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Burlington Hotel
Bay Burlington Hotel
#17 of 40 in Eastbourne
857 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,335 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel

Address: 26-34 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £67 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Eastbourne hotel’s views look out across Royal Parade towards the wide expanse of beach and the rippling sea. The Majestic Hotel is one of the best value hotels in Eastbourne and is situated in an ideal position to discover Eastbourne’s many attractions – within a few minutes’ walk of the bustling pier and picturesque Redoubt Gardens, and lying close to the heart of the town, this popular hotel is the perfect complement to Eastbourne, which has an air of tradition and charm. Taking a well earned break from sightseeing is easy at the Majestic Hotel – watch the world go by from the television lounge, or enjoy the terrace which is a perfect sun-trap. Alternatively you can have a refreshing drink at the bar... full of friendly faces, it offers a lively welcome to one of the South Coast's finest resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing