We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had a 5 day break at this hotel at the hotel with shearings, the hotel itself is clean and the staff are very welcoming.
The food is varied that there are more than a couple of choices for dinner, from meat, fish , vegetarian, also the special of the day, breakfast is served to you, it's help yourself to cereals, fruit, yogurts, fresh fruit, porridge and juice there is no limit to the portion sizes.
Our room was on the third floor and I have to say if there is one drawback to this hotel, it is the numerous stairs and only two very small lifts I should say one lift holds 3 people max and the other 4. and while we were there I would say that the hotel was full, or nearly, so queues did form for the lifts
Although the room was small and did not have a lot of natural light other than sleeping and showering we did not spend much time in it so it was not a problem.
As the weather was so good we did not stop for the entertainment, although when we arrived back each evening the lounge was well populated and the people we spoke to were enthusiastic about some of the artists.
One point though, all drinks from the hotel bar do seem more than a trifle expensive, if you like more than one.
There is plenty to do in Eastbourne and getting about is not a problem. The 99 bus stops almost outside the hotel, one way to Central Eastbourne, the other way it goes to the sovereign heights marina, which is worth a visit, also Bexhill and Hastings.
There are theatres and the bandstand that provides a variety of entertainment to suit most tastes
I would have no problem returning to the hotel, staff all seemed very genuinely friendly and were all helpful

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor, if you have problems with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kateshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi Kateshill. Pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your holiday and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Nice to know you took full advantage of the local area. The Harbour is lovely ay any time of the year but is especially good when the sun is shining on the water. Thank you for posting your review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    206
    145
    62
    47
See reviews for
55
314
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
durham uk
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Like many of the Shearing's group hotels they offer great value for money , the food is good and plentiful , we had travelled for 9 hours from Darlington with one of National Holidays older coaches and was un comfortable for such a long journey ,we had been on one of there new coaches a few months before which was much better. The staff made us most welcome and the bedroom was comfortable and although the decor was tired it was very clean .

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the promenade , they have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bazdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi bazdurham. Thank you for posting your 4 star review. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a refurbishment programme in place but it is good to know you found the bedroom comfortable and clean even though it was not one of our newer rooms. I will be sure to pass your comments to the staff and I know they will be delighted to hear them. Thank you again for posting your review and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Been for a weeks holiday here with a friend.Our first floor room 114 was at the back of the hotel next to the lift, this twin bedded room was nicely decorated had tea making items, hair dryer,comfortable beds and a tv (only BBC 1 & 2 & ITV) the only down side was the en suite was very small. The food was excellent the staff very obliging and a special mention goes to Michael the sommelier what a charmer,he certainly made us ladies feel special,he is a big asset to this hotel.The excursions we had were very enjoyable.We had glorious weather and really had a good time,the only problem was the journey home as the coach broke down on the M6 and after waiting for a long time at the side of the road we eventually arrived back at Stretton interchange at 5pm after leaving Eastbourne at 8.45am.the feeder coaches had all gone by this time and we were told taxis had been arranged to take us to the places were we had been picked up the Saturday before.In the event we had to wait 2hours yes 2hours for the taxi!!! We finally arrived home at 7.45pm the taxi did take us straight home but that was the leat they could do after making us wait 2hours for the taxi to arrive.What a let down after such a nice holiday I am waiting for a reasonable explanation as to why this happened.

Room Tip: Our room 114 on the first floor and next to the lift so would be a good room for anyone with a mobil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi Alison R. I am delighted with your 5 star review. We do appreciate when guests post their comments. Michael is a character so I am pleased he made you feel welcome during your stay and the weather has been glorious lately so that does help. So glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay here at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Hi,really good stay at end of May.Staff very helpful,good food,well situated Hotel.No need to
worry about putting on weight if you are on the third floor although lifts are available!!!

Overall, excellent value for the price.

Best Regards, David M

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Asgoodascanbegreenfield. Thank you for posting your review. Pleased to hear the staff were helpful. Just for reference, the next time you stay and you find the room cold ask at reception and extra heating can be provided for your comfort. Thank you for posting your review and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Not expecting too much as very cheap holiday. Hotel was clean staff very friendly and food surprisingly good. Mainly elderly people on coach tours staying here but this proved to be a bonus as met some lonely people. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and couldn't have asked for more even if it had been twice the price

Room Tip: Lots of stairs so request lower room if needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Gerry D. Thank you for your 5 star review. Pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your holiday. Good company can always make a stay more enjoyable so it is nice to hear you found some lovely people to chat to. Thank you for posting your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just spent the weekend in this hotel ,the downstairs i.e reception,bar,and lounge great so you think your onto a winner here,then you open the door and climb the stairs what a differencei dont think its seen any paint for donkeys years and same goes with the carpet, we were on the first floor at the back of the hotel,our carpet looked as though it had been there for years faded and so badly soiled i had to buy slippers as i did not want to walk on it, the same goes for our window i dont think it has seen soap or water since its been built, also there was no nets and we had a house dead opposite looking in ,no privacy what so ever,but please the windows were filthfy, and it just made the room so unclean,but clean sheets and towels, and nice food and good entertainment.also our tv was so old the screen was the size of a postage stamp,we have been to most of the seafront

Room Tip: Dont go in to a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littleannie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Littleannie3.I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do have some older styled rooms and some really new modern rooms. We have a refurbishment programme for the rooms but unfortunately the room you were allocated would have been one of the older ones. On a positive note and I pleased you found the public rooms good. As all people use the public areas these areas were refurbished first in the programme. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenfield
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights.
Staff helpful.
Room clean albeit cold.
Food Adequate and plentiful.
Drinks expensive in the extreme.
Entertainment poor.
On the whole a very pleasant stay and we have booked again.
Well done to the Staff who cared

Room Tip: Higher floors are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asgoodascanbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hi David M. Your heading is what we aim to be and I am pleased to hear on this occasion we succeeded. I will be sure to pass your comments to the team as I know they are always happy to hear from guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your review and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Burlington Hotel
Bay Burlington Hotel
#17 of 40 in Eastbourne
834 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#8 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,584 reviews
0.8 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel

Property: Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Address: 26-34 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Eastbourne hotel’s views look out across Royal Parade towards the wide expanse of beach and the rippling sea. The Majestic Hotel is one of the best value hotels in Eastbourne and is situated in an ideal position to discover Eastbourne’s many attractions – within a few minutes’ walk of the bustling pier and picturesque Redoubt Gardens, and lying close to the heart of the town, this popular hotel is the perfect complement to Eastbourne, which has an air of tradition and charm. Taking a well earned break from sightseeing is easy at the Majestic Hotel – watch the world go by from the television lounge, or enjoy the terrace which is a perfect sun-trap. Alternatively you can have a refreshing drink at the bar... full of friendly faces, it offers a lively welcome to one of the South Coast's finest resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing