We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Had a holiday here at the beginning of August. Hotel is being renovated so parts are a bit tired, but we had a lovely large sea view room which was spotlessly clean. Food was excellent with plenty of choice and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the entertainment as well. Would recommend the Majestic as a good place to stay

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are good
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol_brown207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Hi carol_brown207. Thank you for your 4 star review. Our aim to provide comfortable accommodation, friendly helpful staff and good food at affordable prices and on this occasion I am pleased to hear we have succeeded. The best review we could have is for guests to recommend us so thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
There are newer reviews for Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Arrived here July 26 for one week. Reception staff very efficient and well organized, they had us all off our coach and in our rooms within a matter of minutes.
We had upgraded to a sea view and premier room and we were not disappointed, we were pleasantly surprised by the refurbished room, which was large, new bathroom, spotlessly clean. Amazing views. The maid changed towels and sheets on a daily basis. Plenty of storage and roomy. No complaints at all here.
The breakfast was help yourself to a wide choice of cereals, fruit, juice and yogurts, there was even porridge. Wide choices of cooked breakfast with eggs anyway you like them cooked, of which we had, delicious poached and scrambled. Staff were excellent with prompt service, friendly and courteous. Would just like to give Daniel a special mention, he was very pleasant young man. Evening meals very good with a wide choice, well prepared and tasty food.
Very pleasant bar staff, the bar is located at the front of the hotel, which is a great location. The bar staff could not do enough for you, we ordered champagne for our anniversary, the staff put it on ice and served it to our table after dinner, they also served other wines etc. We ate lunch here, and it was delicious freshly made and reasonably priced. We would like to mention Dace who was very hardworking and attentive to all the guests. All the other bar staff were too.
The hotel we thought was very well run and all staff were efficient. On the odd occasion that we requested anything it was dealt with in a very quick and professional manner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank kiki01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Hi Kiki01. Thank you for such a great review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your holiday. I will be sure to pass your comments to Daniel as I know he will be pleased to hear them. We work hard to try and assure all guests enjoy their time with us and it is always good to know when we have succeeded. Thank you for posting your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just had a week at this hotel,overall it was a good week,the bedroom we was allocated was a bit disappointing the fact it was on the back the staff were very pleasant,the food was a good choice,but dining times was 8am-9am & 6-15 pm to7-30pm which is not long for some people,it's in a lovely position on the sea front, we would go again but request a front room, being an old hotel it needs quite a bit of improvement also it is not very disabled friendly the dining room being down a flight of stairs & no ramp access to the entrance,also very old small lifts

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Hi Clarice H. Pleased to hear you enjoyed most aspects of your holiday. Sorry to find you were not pleased with your room. The sea view rooms are better with some great views and if you do decide to come again it would be beneficial to book and pay for one before you arrival as all requests are not guaranteed. I am however delighted to know that you found the staff pleasant and the food good. Thank you for posting your review and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Wow what a difference the weather rmakes. Just spent a wonderful 5 days. All the staff from reception to housekeeping to restauran,to the bar were incredibly helpful and friendly. The room was great with loads of sea facing windows. The food was also good. I do feel that the staff in the restaurant are rushed off their feet and over-worked. They are certainly cheerful and obliging nonetheless.

Room Tip: Room 109 is my favourite room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Hi Lynette A. Nice to see you enjoyed a second visit to the Majestic. I will agree Eastbourne is fantastic when the sun is shining. I hope you took full advantage of the terrace whilst the sun was out. Pleased to hear the staff were again helpful and friendly and your room was to your liking. Thank you for posting another good review and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have just returned from an 8 day Shearings holiday at the Majestic Hotel, our first visit to this Hotel. We had a twin room (312) at the back of the hotel. We have had larger rooms on very many occasions at other hotels. Being on the third floor the sash window was only able to be opened about 3 or 4 inches at the bottom. Some of the other rooms were in the same situation.
The hotel, which is on the sea front, has 2 lifts which can carry 4 people each. It is not really a hotel for handicapped people as the stairs have a door, some hard to pull, half way between each floor.The hotel has a large lounge plus a large entertainment room and bar.
The food in the Restaurant was very good and there was always a good selection for each course. The Service was good and the Staff in the Hotel were very polite, helpful and courteous.
We cannot really comment about the entertainment, which was nearly every night, as the hotel had arranged some really good hot weather for us and we stayed outside on the hotel seating in front of the hotel until late.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Batley34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hi Batley34.Thank you for your 4 star review. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us and the staff were helpful. The terrace is a bonus here in Eastbourne, especially on the sea front as not many hotels have this space. There is nothing better than sitting out on the terrace on a warm evening, preferably with a jug of Pimms, watching the world go by. Thank you for posting your review and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just returned from a 5 day Shearings holiday, hotel ok needs a refurbishment which i beleive is on going. Food good but not enough staff to serve, was kept waiting far too long in between courses, spoke with the manager and was told that the staff had been trained to cover there tables without been too over worked or pushed to the brink of panic.On speaking to 3 of the dinning room staff they all disagreed, all complained that there was too many tables to cover and fond it hard to keep up, that is why some guests were not served as they should have been, ie no tea or coffee offered at breakfast, no bread rolls given with soup,no water jugs given with meal, cutelry missing from tables etc. Staff were running around with heavy large tray's and hot tea/coffe pot's on, which was an accident waiting to happen, which it did on the last morning at breakfast a waitress dropped her tray and hot tea went flying in the air catching one of the guest on her back. Lucky for her she did not get burned as her clothes protected her, but this could have been avoided, dinning room needs to be organised and ran better.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank SUSAN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hi Susan T. Thank you for posting your review. All staff are trained prior to having a station of their own. Our meal times are spread over 75 minutes but if all the guests turn up at the same time it can be a little hectic for the waiters. I have spoken to the restaurant manager, who was unfortunately on holiday during your stay, and she will look into some of the issues you have raised. Pleased however that you found the food good and I will be sure to tell the chef as I know she will be pleased to hear this. All reviews are important to us so thank you again for yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had a 5 day break at this hotel at the hotel with shearings, the hotel itself is clean and the staff are very welcoming.
The food is varied that there are more than a couple of choices for dinner, from meat, fish , vegetarian, also the special of the day, breakfast is served to you, it's help yourself to cereals, fruit, yogurts, fresh fruit, porridge and juice there is no limit to the portion sizes.
Our room was on the third floor and I have to say if there is one drawback to this hotel, it is the numerous stairs and only two very small lifts I should say one lift holds 3 people max and the other 4. and while we were there I would say that the hotel was full, or nearly, so queues did form for the lifts
Although the room was small and did not have a lot of natural light other than sleeping and showering we did not spend much time in it so it was not a problem.
As the weather was so good we did not stop for the entertainment, although when we arrived back each evening the lounge was well populated and the people we spoke to were enthusiastic about some of the artists.
One point though, all drinks from the hotel bar do seem more than a trifle expensive, if you like more than one.
There is plenty to do in Eastbourne and getting about is not a problem. The 99 bus stops almost outside the hotel, one way to Central Eastbourne, the other way it goes to the sovereign heights marina, which is worth a visit, also Bexhill and Hastings.
There are theatres and the bandstand that provides a variety of entertainment to suit most tastes
I would have no problem returning to the hotel, staff all seemed very genuinely friendly and were all helpful

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor, if you have problems with stairs
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank kateshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticManager, Manager at Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hi Kateshill. Pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your holiday and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Nice to know you took full advantage of the local area. The Harbour is lovely ay any time of the year but is especially good when the sun is shining on the water. Thank you for posting your review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Burlington Hotel
Bay Burlington Hotel
#17 of 40 in Eastbourne
848 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,622 reviews
0.8 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel

Address: 26-34 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range: £77 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Eastbourne hotel’s views look out across Royal Parade towards the wide expanse of beach and the rippling sea. The Majestic Hotel is one of the best value hotels in Eastbourne and is situated in an ideal position to discover Eastbourne’s many attractions – within a few minutes’ walk of the bustling pier and picturesque Redoubt Gardens, and lying close to the heart of the town, this popular hotel is the perfect complement to Eastbourne, which has an air of tradition and charm. Taking a well earned break from sightseeing is easy at the Majestic Hotel – watch the world go by from the television lounge, or enjoy the terrace which is a perfect sun-trap. Alternatively you can have a refreshing drink at the bar... full of friendly faces, it offers a lively welcome to one of the South Coast's finest resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Majestic Eastbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing