We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally fine”
Review of Ebor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ebor Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed in single room which has reasonable space and windows on 2 sides creating a nice light space. It's at the back of the house looking out onto a back street and was quiet and I slept well. The front of the house is on fairly busy, but not unpleasant road.
The en-suite toilet is set well back in a narrow alcove (no door) and has a washbasin. I felt their web site description of the bathroom being directly opposite was a little disingenuous as it was 14 paces along the landing past 2 other rooms and is shared. Breakfast times were between 8:45 & 9:15 (you could probably have it earlier on request) and did not have the grapefruit and prunes mentioned on their web site. Also the bread/toast was fairly cheap, the white sugar had a little brown patch and one cup seemed stained.
The room cleaning & servicing was mostly fine (they seem to want to do it from 9:30ish), although there was toilet paper in the toilet bowl when I arrived, once the bin wasn't emptied and once no biscuits.
The location is good and the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonGromit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

We put our friends into this guest house as we have no room for them to stay with us. Beryl could not have been more welcoming or helpful. The sea view room with balcony was beautifully decorated and so clean. A real sea view, not like some who offer sea view from a side window! The breakfast which we joined in with on the first morning was excellent and any choice of eggs with whatever you wanted. A fantastic experience to be shared with trip advisor readers. A five star guest house to always be used for our friends and family. Thank you Beryl

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrythewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We have a lovely couple of days at Ebor. Beryl was incredible helpful and friendly. She really went the extra mile and had tennis timetables printed and ready for us at breakfast and had suggestions about the local area and how to get around.
The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. Breakfast was good too, being made to your order from the night before. With Ebor being right on the sea front and close to Eastbourne we walked everywhere.
We had a great relaxing few days and would definitely recommend Ebor Lodge.
Thanks Beryl,
Annie and Richard.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annieraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Beryl is the perfect host, she greets you warmly but in no way overpowering. Courtesy is of the utmost with her and her staff. Our bags were taken to our room upon arrival and we were taken to a beautiful large clean and airy room. The bed was exceptionally large and comfortable, spare blankets etc were in the wardrobe. There was ample tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits in the room etc, a clock radio and a good sized flat screen tv. Three mirrors were also in the room one exceptionally large also very good storage wardrobes etc.There was a door at the side of the front window which lead out onto a small balcony with chairs which looked directly out to the sea and Redoubt Fortress. Breakfast consisted of a fantastic choice and Beryl will try and cater for most she even has a fridge in the dining area for anyone who needs to keep medication in a cold temperature and a microwave available also. The food is cooked to perfection and NOT greasy.The range was vast e.g. prunes, grapefruit, cereals, fruit juice, full english, etc. etc. Ebor Lodge at Eastbourne is a must for that small friendlier service and comfort.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mildenhall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GottfriedChiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank ThorstenLejeune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Petit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
1 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,693 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,925 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,061 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
981 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#32 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ebor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ebor Lodge

Address: 71 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Eastbourne
Price Range: £46 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ebor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ebor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing