We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Eastbourne treasure!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea View Guest House
Ranked #5 of 78 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Eastbourne treasure!”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

The warmest of welcomes from the new owners of Seaview! Lovely room with a beautiful sea view and all topped off with a superb breakfast with a great choice of cereals and fruit as well as the more traditional 'Full English'. The 'paint a pebble' idea was lovely with everybody having a go leading to some very intreasting results! The pier was only a 10 minute walk away so all in all a lovely weekend was had by all. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Even the rooms at the back of Seaview have views across Eastbourne to the Downs and rooms 9,7 and 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    37
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
81
173
111
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We decided on a late notice long weekend away and found Sea View Guesthouse online.

There was plenty of parking (free) surrounding the place and managed to park about 30 seconds away. We were greeted at the door with a smile and shown around the hotel. I was surprised at the quality of both the house and the room, especially for the cost of the stay.

The building was warm and had a nice sitting room area for guests that had books and DVDs available. There were also other previous guests painted pebbles. We were encouraged to paint our own over our stay (which we did!).

The room was well appointed, clean and had a boutique feel. We had an on suite bathroom and a sea view balcony and the bed was comfortable.

The breakfast was really nice and had a choice of American (pancakes with syrup and bacon) or full English. cereals, yogurt, cakes, toast..... loads basically.

The town center is only 5 or 6 minutes walk away and because of this you are close enough to get to everything but the accommodation is nice and quiet of an evening so for me it was a win, win.

So to surmise: Clean, great room, nice facilities, great owners (Amazingly friendly!) good location and nice breakfast. I have paid a lot more to stay in far worse accommodation!

Room Tip: If you want a sea view book a room with sea view as there are some without.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ldb31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I stayed here for 3 days recently.

First night there was no central heating after 9pm to save money.

Other nights I was transferred to a larger warmer room which was nice. Very nice landlady.

B&B is situated in a good location for the seafront, however, the streets behind the B&B should be avoided as they are home to the drug and crack houses!

Be careful walking around Eastbourne at night as it is a surprisingly violent and aggressive feel for a retirement seaside town.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OttawaTravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaview G, Owner at Sea View Guest House, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
We were very sorry to learn that you had a bad experience on your recent visit to Seaview. I am sure that the previous owner would be very disappointed to read your comments and that she would have liked to have taken the opportunity to address your concerns at the time of your stay. However, we are pleased to read that you were upgraded by way of an apology.

We have now taken over ownership of Seaview this week and as all comments are very important to us, we will do everything possible to ensure that our guests are happy.

With regards to the heating issue. As we were not present at the time, we are unable to comment. However, we can assure you that all of our rooms are fully heated for maximum comfort.

We were also very sorry to hear that you felt unsafe. Again, we can assure you that Eastbourne Council try their very best to ensure that all visitors to Eastbourne have an enjoyable and safe visit and if you would like to give us another try and stay with us again in the near future, we will do our very best to make sure that you have a great time.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

This hotel is very cosy and the rooms are clean and efficient. The food served is a good variety and all cooked to how you like it.

Great place to stay of your down for a weekend or even a week as close to the pier, shops and even some bars and clubs.

Would definitely reccomend anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: A room overlooking on the beach are ideal, with a little balcony to sit out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at Seaview and would not go anywhere else if staying in Eastbourne again. The hotel is immaculate, fresh clean and modern with a twist of luxury that gives the feeleing of a boutique hotel as the bedrooms are decorated beautifully. The location is great as its right on the sea front with outstanding views and we especially like the friendly owner who, in addition to the homemade cakes and cereals available, offers an alternative to the Full English with an American style panckakes breakfast that we loved!
Very accomodating to my vegetarian requirements and even made us a packed lunch for our jouney! There were even activities like pebble painting, reading and DVDs to choose from in the living room!
Highly reccommend as such good value too!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiecobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

To get the most out of this guest house you would need to have a room at the front of the building and on the first or second floor. Sadly despite having requested a sea view ( it was my daughter's birthday and I specifically wanted it to be a treat ) our room was at the rear of the building and on the grand floor. This meant that we had a depressing view of the street behind and must have been damp judging from the overwhelming stench of air-fresheners.
The view was a disappointment but the smell was a genuine torment.
The breakfast was very generous, but slightly marred by the proprietor wandering through the room admonishing the guests for having allowed the front door latch to close the night before, which event had sadly locked us out at 10.30pm.
I wanted to give the place a chance as it is a small, family run venture with an intimate charm ( my daughter loved the paint -a-pebble table and the dvd library ), but when I got home I unpacked my clothes, still smelling of our dingy room, it was hard to look back too fondly on our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the building have sea view, despite the name of the guest house, many rooms co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarolinaWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford,Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Very nice welcome. Room was nicely layed out + I was offered a Seaview room with Balcony thrown in as this was available. Breakfast was excellent. Nicely cooked & a wonderful very wide selection of Breakfast to choose from. Everything is certainly nicely thought out. I enjoyed reading the information book included in the room. They certainly have put a lot of thought & effort in creating a B&B to be very proud of. I will certainly recommend to others visiting Eastbourne.Well done!
So to sum up, if you want good value for money & not the expense of the overpriced B&Bs you certainly can't go wrong with Sea View Guest House in Eastbourne! Although no car park facilities at Hotel, there seems to be plenty of spaces in side streets in surrounding roads near B&B. I found a space quite easily & was able to leave car & do some shopping - saving on Parking in Town! So 10/10

John L - Surrey

Room Tip: look on Website for photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.8 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#25 of 41 in Eastbourne
1,244 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
1,504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
2,774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 41 in Eastbourne
847 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#9 of 41 in Eastbourne
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Guest House

Property: Sea View Guest House
Address: 57 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea View Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing