We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Vernon Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vernon Guesthouse
Ranked #43 of 75 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Booked this hotel for one night during the air show in August. I wouldn't normally choose a 2 star hotel, but decided to give it a try as the reviews on Tripadvisor were so good. The hotel is in a great location, & we even managed to park right outside the entrance to the hotel. The owner & all the staff are extremely friendly. The room was very clean & the bedding was nice and crisp white. The breakfast was very good & when I asked for a hot water with lemon, they went out to buy a lemon for me. Great service all round. Would definitely return. Keep it up.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank martine6768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I were made very welcome by the owners of this Family Run Hotel.The room was clean and had everything you need for a relaxing stay.Dog's are welcome which is good as we will have a new addition to the family next year and plan to take him with us.Only a few miutes from the Sea Front and all the ammenities.Lovely Breakfast to start your day.Oue Son came down for the day and was offered breakfast,very thoughtful.We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Vernon is in a great location. It's situated a short walk from the seafront and just far enough away so as not to be disturbed by late night revellers. It's also excellent value for money. It's very clean and it has recently been refurbished internally. The staff are efficient and friendly. We had a room with a balcony and the room and bedding were spotlessly clean. The English Breakfast was good too. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daverogers2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Very friendly staff who I after I booked a twin room by mistake changed us to a double room. The hotel is very clean great location close to sea and town.Breakfast was good and great value would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SidneyJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night as attending a friends wedding on The Pier. Great location as A couple of minutes walk. Large room, creaky but comfortable bed. Very noisy toilet but apart from that every thing was great. Large bathroom with good shower, tea/coffee in room. Very friendly welcoming staff. Great breakfast. £1 parking permit and we parked outside front of hotel. We would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank huggi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The staff at Vernon Guest House were friendly and very helpful throughout our stay. Our rooms were in good condition and very clean. The location is excellent for all the main sights of Eastbourne, including the seafront. It's also close to parking. The room rates were also very reasonable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HonoriaPlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We booked into Vernon House just about last minute and we were so happy with the place ! Super friendly people who work there and nothing was to much for them .Free Parking and lots of parking spaces ,It is situated very near the town and seafront without having the noise of either .The house has a Lift and nice big rooms which are cleaned every day .The beds are comfortable and tea and coffee facility are also there The Breakfast is really good I had the full English everyday and will now have to lose a few Kilos ? There is also cereals and fresh fruit and yoghurt. also in the Breakfast room there are the Daily Newspapers for you to read. Door keys do not fill up your pockets because you get a modern card its like a cheque card which you just insert in your door and also the house main door .As some people mentioned on here they do have a dog it is a nice German Shepard dog who spends most of the day sleeping and would not hurt nobody .Also another plus to this hotel is that you only need to drive 150 metres at the most to use the filling station .So If you are looking for a place to stay and Chill then the Vernon House Hotel is for you .I would go back again anyday

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuart245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,799 reviews
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
0.3 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
955 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vernon Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vernon Guesthouse

Address: 1 Compton Street, Eastbourne BN21 3BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range: £84 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vernon Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vernon House hotel has been sympathetically restored and modernised by the owners to meet the 21st century requirements. Today, it offers elegant accommodation with 25 rooms - some with balcony and sea view. It makes the perfect venue for a getaway breaks, family holiday, romantic weekend and is for those who love exquisiteness, comfort and exclusivity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Vernon Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing