We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A room with a view!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastbourne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Belle Tout Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 77 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A room with a view!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed last week on the first night of a week away in Sussex. What a mistake!
Once you have stayed here everywhere else will seem second best. It really is extraordinary; perched on the cliff at Beachy Head.
The greeting from Ian, the manager, made us feel that the place belonged to us.
Our room looked over the rolling South Downs, but the views from the first floor lounge and light room at the top were fantastic. Take a walk around the outside if you dare 
We had a great time chatting with the other guests, as we drank champagne and watched the world go by, from sunset to darkness, with the lights of ships in the distance.
Great location, accommodation, food and company, what more could we have asked for. Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCP-Worcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi MCP-Worcester,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review here for us.
I am pleased you got the relaxing time that you were after.
So sorry the other stops along your Sussex break didn't live up to your stay with us, I'll hopefully see you again if you are having another break in our neck of the woods.
Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
394
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
357 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

How many times in your life do you have the opportunity to stay in a place like this? The answer, not many.

My wife and I stayed here for two nights to celebrate her birthday, and we stayed in a room that had stunning views of both the downs and the beachy head lighthouse.

The weather was fabulous too, but it's one of the places that you wouldn't mind being in if the weather was dreadful!. Win, win, really.

We watched the history of the conversion on the DVD whilst we unpacked, which is really interesting, then we went up to the top for a most convivial hour with fellow guests, whilst Shirley fed us with free vino. (We also met Ian the following day, and all the staff are 100% nice people!)

Rooms excellent, breakfast is awesome!

There are loads of things to do around here too, we went on a couple of short walks to the Birling gap, and beachy head. We ate out at Flamenco Tapas in Eastbourne, then spent an hour on the pier, the following nice we had a short trip out to Thai Terre and would highly recommend it.

During the day we spend quite a few hours on Brighton Pier and the wheel, which was great fun, but parking is uber expensive. (£10 for 4 hours at the time of writing.)

Belle Tout is highly recommended, don't miss the opportunity if you are lucky enough to be presented with it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi theburtonion,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
I am so pleased that you had a great Birthday break with us.
Such great local information will hopefully help our future guests decide where to eat/go etc... during their stay with us.
I look forward to meeting you both again at some stage in the future.
Kind Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We spent two nights and love the place. Our room was the keeper's loft, which is tiny but so beautiful at the same time, brilliant view from the tower window. Ian (the manager) welcomed us with a glass of wine, very lovely guy to talk to. Highly recommended place for everyone. Thank you Belle Tout.... I&M

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi Martin M,
Thank you for your kind words.
I am so glad that you both enjoyed your time in the Keepers Loft room, it's not to everyone's taste with the mezzanine level bed, but it's my favourite also.
I look forward to seeing you both again in the future!
Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wife & I spent two nights here as a 50th birthday present and it was truly stunning. We arrived just after 3pm on a Sunday and drove up the private drive and were greeted by Shirley who was incredibly helpful. We had booked the Captain's Cabin with views across to the Beachy Head lighthouse. Shirley gave us a tour of the lighthouse and told us about the pre-dinner breaks at 5pm which allowed us to meet the other guests.

We ate out at The Beachy Head Hotel on Sunday night and it took approx. 30 mins to walk there across the cliff path. We slept very well and the bed was comfortable. Free wifi was a help and the bathroom was clean and well appointed although the access might be tricky for guests of a large or wide stature.

Breakfasts were served between 8am and 9.30am and were all freshly cooked with lots of options. The views from the breakfast area were like looking through paintings and the lounge area was comfortable and also had great views. After pre-dinner drinks on Monday night we walked across the tracks to East Dean and ate at the Tiger Inn but found the food was not as good as at the Beachy Head Hotel Pub.

Our final breakfast was again very good and Shirley's helper was so friendly. We struck up a good rapport with two other couples and sitting in the former light room at the top with rain and wind blowing was very atmospheric.

Prices are not cheap but this is not somewhere to stay if you want to cut corners or get a cheap deal. You are paying for a truly unique location, the views and the uniquely furnished rooms. Our stay was for a special occasion and we would very much like to return again.

Room Tip: The Captain's Cabin has views across to Beachy Head lighthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WidleyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi WidleyTraveller,
Thank you for such an in depth review and some fantastic photos!
It will prove very helpful for our future guests.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and I am hoping that you do return to us at some stage in the future.
Kindest Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We just spent two nights at the lighthouse and it was amazing -- fantastic service, comfortable rooms, great breakfasts and beautiful views. I would recommend it to anyone. Our fellow guests were also very friendly, which makes a big difference.

Room Tip: I would pick rooms near reception -- Shiraz, Captain's Cabin and Beach Hut. They're slightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkLeSoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hi MarkLeSoleil,
Thank you so much for your kind review.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to hosting for you again in the future.
Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aldwick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Just returned from a short break booked for our wedding anniversary what a fantastic place to stay we had the Shiraz room-wonderful! Views amazing even from the small bathroom window!! The whole place is excellent from stunning views to breakfasts to die for (reconmend the touts florentine!) the service is first class and Ian's hosting skills are second to none, nothing is too much trouble and the complementary drinks are a lovely touch. Our favourite was the lantern room from witnessing an amazing sunset, walking around the balcony to generally chilling from life's stresses! If you are thinking of booking a stay... DO it is well worth it, a truly amazing place with history!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chez317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi chez317,
Thank you for taking the time to post such kind words.
I really enjoyed hosting for you and Ken for your Wedding Anniversary and I look forward to your return.
Kindest Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed in the keepers loft and this was a charming, quaint room which takes in the real experience of staying at a lighthouse. The room is compact so be prepared. My only issue was that the shower lost pressure and did not work for about 8mins. Apart from this our stay was excellent. The host was brilliant and the social hour was a great idea. Breakfast was delicious. Recommendation for walks and places to eat were great. Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Stay in the keepers loft as this is the "real" light house experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSC838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi RSC838,
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review.
I am so happy when our guests embrace the quirkyness of our Keepers Loft room, you just get the full effect of a lighthouse keepers experience.
I can only say sorry for the pressure in the shower, I have investigated it since but cannot find a fault. I just think it was having a lazy day? It's no excuse but sorry once again.
I do hope you choose to stay with us in the future.
Kindest Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastbourne
3.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
3.6 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
5.3 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
3.1 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Tout Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Tout Lighthouse

Property: Belle Tout Lighthouse
Address: Belle Toute Lighthouse Beachy Head Road, Eastbourne BN20 0AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belle Tout Lighthouse at Beachy Head is a hotel with a difference. Built in 1832 and decommissioned in 1902, a tea-shop, a home, part-destroyed during the second world war and lovingly rebuilt in the 50's. Owned and filmed by the BBC, moved due to erosion - and now, beautifully restored and renovated.With 360 degree views of the English Channel, beautiful landscape, countryside and the enigmatic Seven Sisters, Belle Tout is a remarkable place to stay.With themed rooms such as 'The Captains Cabin', 'Old England' and 'Keepers Loft', the accommodation and facilities will ensure a comfortable and memorable break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belle Tout Lighthouse Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing