We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stop ...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastbourne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Belle Tout Lighthouse
Ranked #1 of 75 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Excellent stay with stunning views from every window and a very clean and tidy hotel... Ian was so welcoming and made our stay enjoyable ..the breakfasts are great and the early evening drink gave us a chance to meet the other guests ...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hi Karl C,
Thank you for your kind review.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you have taken away some great memories.
Regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Was taken here as a surprise for our engagement. It was honestly amazing, there was flowers and champagne in our room upon arrival, the host aim was very personable and welcoming, we were treated to complementary drinks in the evening which was a chance to meet the other guests and talk to Ian about the B&B.

The observation deck is simply sensational, my fiancé struggled to pull himself away from the 360 view. Breakfast was incredible with a great choice.

This a really relaxed B&B with a lovely feel, I'm looking for an excuse to go back and cannot recommend this highly enough.

Ian if you read this thank you for the card

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Hi Emma B,
I read all of these Emma and congratulations on your engagement!!
You were both wonderful to host for and good luck with the planning of the Wedding.
I'm sure you'll have a fantastic future together.
I look forward to seeing you both soon.
Regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I booked this as a surprise for my husband for our anniversary. It was expensive but worth every penny. He loved it & didn't stop smiling all weekend. We stayed in Beach Hut. The room was a bit small, but as the last reviewer pointed out - this is a real lighthouse. The stairs are steep but worth every step. The room was clean & airy with a comfortable bed & large shower. The best thing though was the view. We could see all along the coast & across the downs from our bed. The view from the breakfast room was equally stunning and the food was wonderful. The views from the lantern room were stunning and we were lucky enough to be there when it was warm enough to go outside. We had a lovely welcome from Ian & nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff for the whole weekend. Perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Hi Nicola R,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review on here for us.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your Belle Tout experience and have some lovely memories to take away with you.
We all look forward to hosting for you again at some stage in the future.
Kind Regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

So firstly you have to understand this is a lighthouse. Captains Cabin was fantastic with a superb view towards the new lighthouse and providing a great chance to watch the sunrise without getting out of bed. Yes there were stairs and yes the rooms are compact, but this is the real deal and when you climb up to the lantern room you will know why. Shirley was a wonderful hostess and the generous wine and snacks on arrival served while the sun sank in the west were only marginally beaten by the great english breakfast the following morning.

We were lucky with the weather, but to be honest its the weather that makes this place... sun or storm... it will be unforgettable. Plenty to do locally to especially if you like walking and Virginia Woolf.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AostaAosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi AostaAosta,
Thank you so much for your lovely kind words.
I am so glad that you had a memorable time with us here at the Belle Tout and I hope there will be an occasion that you return to stay with us again?
Kind Regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I surprised my husband for his 40th birthday present and we've just returned from two nights Easter break at this incredible location. It truly is part of the 51 things to do before you die.
Our welcome from Ian was lovely after a long drive, the weather was stunning, the room we had (Shiraz) was compact but beautifully finished. I would have enjoyed a bath after our long walk on the Saturday but due to space constraints it's understandable there are no baths. The staff made us feel welcome, and very special. From local recommendations for our dinner (Thai Terre) to good walking routes, they went out of their way to make our stay utterly memorable which it certainly was. The lantern room was particularly stunning with 360 degree views. The breakfasts were huge with such a variety we were truly spoiled for choice. It cannot be faulted and though not cheap it is a once in a lifetime opportunity to stay somewhere truly unique.

Room Tip: We had the Shiraz with incredible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rona12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Hi Rona12014,
Thank you for giving us such a great review.
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your time with us.
If you decide to return to stay with us one day, choose our Old England room!!! It has a bath for you to soak those aching limbs after your long walks.
I hope to see you both soon.
Regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed last week on the first night of a week away in Sussex. What a mistake!
Once you have stayed here everywhere else will seem second best. It really is extraordinary; perched on the cliff at Beachy Head.
The greeting from Ian, the manager, made us feel that the place belonged to us.
Our room looked over the rolling South Downs, but the views from the first floor lounge and light room at the top were fantastic. Take a walk around the outside if you dare 
We had a great time chatting with the other guests, as we drank champagne and watched the world go by, from sunset to darkness, with the lights of ships in the distance.
Great location, accommodation, food and company, what more could we have asked for. Thanks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCP-Worcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Hi MCP-Worcester,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review here for us.
I am pleased you got the relaxing time that you were after.
So sorry the other stops along your Sussex break didn't live up to your stay with us, I'll hopefully see you again if you are having another break in our neck of the woods.
Regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

How many times in your life do you have the opportunity to stay in a place like this? The answer, not many.

My wife and I stayed here for two nights to celebrate her birthday, and we stayed in a room that had stunning views of both the downs and the beachy head lighthouse.

The weather was fabulous too, but it's one of the places that you wouldn't mind being in if the weather was dreadful!. Win, win, really.

We watched the history of the conversion on the DVD whilst we unpacked, which is really interesting, then we went up to the top for a most convivial hour with fellow guests, whilst Shirley fed us with free vino. (We also met Ian the following day, and all the staff are 100% nice people!)

Rooms excellent, breakfast is awesome!

There are loads of things to do around here too, we went on a couple of short walks to the Birling gap, and beachy head. We ate out at Flamenco Tapas in Eastbourne, then spent an hour on the pier, the following nice we had a short trip out to Thai Terre and would highly recommend it.

During the day we spend quite a few hours on Brighton Pier and the wheel, which was great fun, but parking is uber expensive. (£10 for 4 hours at the time of writing.)

Belle Tout is highly recommended, don't miss the opportunity if you are lucky enough to be presented with it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Hi theburtonion,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
I am so pleased that you had a great Birthday break with us.
Such great local information will hopefully help our future guests decide where to eat/go etc... during their stay with us.
I look forward to meeting you both again at some stage in the future.
Kind Regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
3.6 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,541 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,413 reviews
4.1 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,806 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
3.6 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Tout Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Tout Lighthouse

Address: Belle Toute Lighthouse Beachy Head Road, Eastbourne BN20 0AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range: £138 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belle Tout Lighthouse at Beachy Head is a hotel with a difference. Built in 1832 and decommissioned in 1902, a tea-shop, a home, part-destroyed during the second world war and lovingly rebuilt in the 50's. Owned and filmed by the BBC, moved due to erosion - and now, beautifully restored and renovated.With 360 degree views of the English Channel, beautiful landscape, countryside and the enigmatic Seven Sisters, Belle Tout is a remarkable place to stay.With themed rooms such as 'The Captains Cabin', 'Old England' and 'Keepers Loft', the accommodation and facilities will ensure a comfortable and memorable break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belle Tout Lighthouse Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing