We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even in the world of Excellent Ratings, this place stands out!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastbourne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Belle Tout Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 77 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Even in the world of Excellent Ratings, this place stands out!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

How does one review a place like this?? Right from the time you first see it from the top of the Downs silhouetted starkly against the glistening sea behind, it takes on a magical quality. And then you hear its story ..... and you're captivated. It's hard to believe that you're actually bed and breakfasting there rather than partaking in some sort of on-going history. Whoever heard of a b & b being moved every now and again to avoid falling over the cliff edge!!
Needless to say, as a b & b it is faultless. From the décor to the welcome and, especially, to the breakfast. Eggs Benedict as the day's special?? You must be joking!!
As an experience, it simply cannot be forgotten. It's one of those life changing moments sitting there in the lantern room on top of the lighthouse in the evening sunshine sipping a glass of wine and wondering at the never ending whiteness of the Seven Sisters to the West and the iconic Beachy Head lighthouse to the East.
But be prepared ...... it sets you a challenge: to come back and experience it "for real" - in a winter storm when you have to shed your role as a guest and join it in its fight against the inclement elements. Now THAT would be an experience!!
And, Ian, it's one we're looking forward to!

Room Tip: All rooms had their own quirkiness. We loved the Shiraz. Looks west. Kingsize bed. Good shower. Perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi MickCarolyn,
Thank you for such an amazing review.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us!
I'll make sure that I summon the strongest storm for your return!!!
See you both soon.
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
405
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
luton
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

If you are looking for somewhere special to take the other half look no further.This place is superb.
The location can not be beaten nor can the welcome you get from the staff Ian and Shirley. From the moment you get there you are made to feel special and that nothing is too much trouble.
We stayed in the Keepers loft which although a small room gives a real feeling of what it must have been like to be a light keeper.
Ian who is the manager and also a great chef cooks the breakfast in the mornings and i have not eaten a better breakfast anywhere.
I recommend that you join in with complimentary drinks each day between 5 and 6 o'clock. Its a great chance to meet the other guests and we found this added tremendously to our enjoyment of the stay.
We had a great time we plan to go again.

Room Tip: The keepers loft has a ladder to reach the bed so don't pick this room if don't climb ladder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 946brianw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi 946brianw,
Thank you for your wonderful review.
Also many thanks for my personal praise, I am so glad the breakfasts were one of the highlights of your stay.
You were a great couple to host for and I am so pleased that you enjoyed the lighthouse keepers experience for a couple of nights.
See you both soon,
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

As a surprise for my husband's 50th, a surprise stay was arranged at this wonderful B&B. Well worth the three hour drive. The welcome was friendly, warm and very personal. The facilities were perfect especially the sitting areas in the lattern room. Views from the bedroom are spectacular and can only provide that total feeling of peace and relaxation. The breakfast was delicious and served with a friendly smile. Thank you - I couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: All the rooms provide you with spectacular views whether sea or the south downs, through the large p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi Bobbie C,
Thank you for your kind words.
I am so glad that the surprise went as well as planned/hoped.
You were both great to host for and I hope that I get the opportunity to greet you from a long drive in the future?
Best Wishes
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Recently spent the weekend at Belle Tout and had an amazing time. Perfect location, beautiful scenery and amazing service. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed and felt relaxed by both Ian and Shirley. We stayed in two different rooms; first night in the Keeper's Loft and second night in the 'Beach Hut' both rooms were equally comfortable and full of charm. We were also totally smitten with the Lamp Room enjoying the views both in the daytime and the evening. Plenty of options for evening dining within walking distance or a short drive. Our favourite had to be Thai Terre - would definitely recommend a visit. We definitely hope to return again in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi Teresa E,
Thank you for your great review.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your Belle Tout break.
I hope you both do return at some stage in the future.
Kind Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Can't beat the location and the view, must visit place. If you're looking for a quiet & quality time then this is the place to be. The views are amazing and the walks are beautiful, food in the local pub is great as well. Just a few minutes away by car from eastbourne train station.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovejit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi Lovejit,
Thank you for a lovely review.
We are so happy that you got the peace and quiet that you were after.
I hope that I have the chance to host for you again in the future?
Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We got engaged here and its difficult to find words that can express the unique charm and beauty this place holds in abundance.
We booked a three night stay in 2012 and returned in 2013,this year we will be going back.The views are breathtaking,the breakfasts sumptuious,and the staff wonderful.
Any of the rooms would be recommended as they each have an individual style and super view.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnijim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi sunnijim,
Thank you for a wonderful review.
I am so glad that you keep returning to us. It speaks volumes as to what we are trying to achive here.
I look forward to seeing you both on your 2014 visit.
Regards
ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Now to define this as a bed and breakfast does it do it justice. The quality of the rooms is first class and the experience of staying in a lighthouse on top of the cliffs is unique.

The breakfasts were fantastic with either traditional or the days special all in an intimate dining area with the most perfect views and the creation of your breakfast in view.

We spent an evening in the lamp room listening to music, with a glass and nibbles reading and just taking in the view. After dark the lamp room has a fantastic blue glow. Take your own supplies for this and there is a guest fridge - perfect.

For lunch or evening meal, the village green in East Dean has all you need, its an image of a Kent or Sussex village from a by gone age. We made the mistake of going into Eastbourne one evening, spoilt the illusion of detachment from the everyday world that you get at the lighthouse.

Ian was a perfect host as well as being a master of breakfast creations, thank you Ian for retrieving my camera from the flat roof!

Have a look on YouTube for Belle Tout and "The life and loves of a she devil" before you go.

Most enjoyable, I want to go again in bad weather next time and experience the view from the lamp room and the lounge with its wood burner.

Book, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slaughter98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belletoutmanagement, Manager at Belle Tout Lighthouse, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi slaughter98,
Thank you so much.
A lovely review from a lovely couple!
I hope the time lapse photo came out ok?
It would be great to see it, unless it didn't??
I look forward to hosting for you both at some stage in the future.
Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastbourne
3.6 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,055 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,571 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
3.4 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
4.4 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Tout Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Tout Lighthouse

Property: Belle Tout Lighthouse
Address: Belle Toute Lighthouse Beachy Head Road, Eastbourne BN20 0AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belle Tout Lighthouse at Beachy Head is a hotel with a difference. Built in 1832 and decommissioned in 1902, a tea-shop, a home, part-destroyed during the second world war and lovingly rebuilt in the 50's. Owned and filmed by the BBC, moved due to erosion - and now, beautifully restored and renovated.With 360 degree views of the English Channel, beautiful landscape, countryside and the enigmatic Seven Sisters, Belle Tout is a remarkable place to stay.With themed rooms such as 'The Captains Cabin', 'Old England' and 'Keepers Loft', the accommodation and facilities will ensure a comfortable and memorable break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belle Tout Lighthouse Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing