We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mansion Lions Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mansion Lions Hotel
Ranked #36 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just returned from a trip at the Mansion Lions Hotel Eastbourne and I can say that it was very clean, had good food and lovely staff. Ok here and there the deco is a bit tired but to me that was not important. The hotel is in the most perfect location and as we had a sea view all the better. I nearly cancelled on this hotel due to the bad reviews i had read,but so glad i didn't. You get what you pay for and to me this was very good value for money. The moaners should pay more and stay in a 5 star. I will definately be going back to the Mansion Lions Hotel again.

Room Tip: Recommend a room with a sea view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jep65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    69
    58
    39
    69
See reviews for
37
65
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, Essex
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Had a fantastic time at this hotel from Friday 13th to Monday16th September. We were with a group of line dancers for a weekend of dancing and lots of laughs. We were not sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews but we were pleasantly surprised. Agreed the hotel rooms are in need of updating and a coat of paint but the room was comfortable and for three nights we were not expecting luxury. Nevertheless we had all that we needed - comfortable beds, enough room with quality furniture: wardrobe, bedside tables, dressing table, soft fluffy towels changed daily, tea and coffee facilities replenished daily and a full sized kettle. The carpet was new as were most of the rooms we saw. The beautiful mirrored dining room with chandeliers was impressive and the tables covered in gold tablecloths matched the rich royal blue carpet patterned with gold lions. We found the waiters to be very smart, polite and professional and had no complaints about the swift service. The food was cooked beautifully and plentiful. If more was wanted I am sure it would have been provided but we found that a 3 course meal with coffee/tea was quite enough in the evening. The breakfast offered fruit, cereals, yoghourts and of course a full english cooked breakfast or what ever you required from the menu. All in all it was extremely good value for money although we probably had a better deal than an independent traveller due to the fact that it was a block booking from our trip organiser.

Room Tip: Sea view is preferred. Lovely view of the pier and the bandstand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t0andfr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Stated here after booking a different hotel down the road nice breakfast nice staff can't go wrong for a value hotel.
All staff are foreigners polish etc
would stay again.
Breakfast was small but cooked well, no Internet in rooms only reception area

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

My god what a disgrace!!!!....we travelled down to see my sister with elderly people on the coach...we found them to be friendly and enjoyed a fun journey on the coach....we were greeted on arrival to be told that they were short staff and everyone had to bear with them transferring our cases to our rooms..one hour later!!!!!.the hotel is shabby and in desperate need of decor...the furniture is dated beyond belief...very depressing...although me and my husband are middle age we did enjoy being in the elderly's company who appeared to put up and shut up with the poor standards...disgraceful meals!!!!...poor hospitality...we were in a position to eat out after our first experience of evening meal and breakfast yuk!!!!...these poor elderly people have probably saved all year for a holiday of rest and enjoyment and to be made to feel special and wanted..but unfortunately this was NOT the case...I sat and observed how the waiters spoke to them..one lady requested more gravy as there was only one boat for an overcrowded table of 8 to be told NO!!! I asked why she could not have any the waiter bluntly said "there is none", We decided to eat out the rest of our stay but did notice their was lack of staff at the bar/reception/restaurant..rooms were not cleaned daily. The meals were not cooked thoroughly and were bought the table cold!!!.its the worst hotel ever!!! and certainly does not deserve a 3 star. Its a joke what we paid to stay there, we called in the hotel next door Cumberland for a coffee which out shone the Mansions by far...the whole staff need training on customer care to make the elderly peoples experience memorable and be made to feel special and not afraid to ask for anything they may need....we wouldn't let our dog stay there not in a million years....the trips we had were fantastic and my sisters complex near the hotel was out of this world the guest room we stayed in for one night was beautiful and that's where will stay in future...Eastbourne is ideal for the elderly and extremely therapeutic but please don't stay in the hotel from hell!!!!! there's lots of others that are beautiful and value for money how in gods name can Mansions justify the rates they charge...one word... a greedy owner who does not give a sod about his guests or have any respect for the elderly...FACT!!!!

Room Tip: cant comment on such a horrible place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hilda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the mansions for a 5 day break and must say it was a terrible mistake.we were met at reception by the porter who told us to leave our luggage with him and that it would be delivered to our room,after a 45 minute wait i decided to go to reception to retrieve my luggage myself.the porter was apologetic saying he was on his own & the other porter had not bothered turning up for work.our room was clean but very tired.our evening meal times were 19.30 which was rather late for our liking,but after travelling for 8 hours it was welcomed. After been shown to our places we were left 20 minutes before we were asked what we would like to eat,after ordering we waited another 20 minutes for our first course, the food was basic,cold and minimal.an elderly gentleman sat opposite me ordered a pork steak with mushroom sauce,when his food arrived he was told there was no sauce left,the gent then asked if he could have gravy with his steak & was told by the waiter that there was no gravy left.this was unacceptable but has the gent was old he never questioned the waiter.it seamed to be Shut up and Put up.We tried breakfast the next morning which was worse than the evening meal.we admitted defeat deciding to eat out for our remaining stay.bar staff seamed to be non existent with people stood waiting at an empty bar.This hotel is in desperate need of a refurb and a lick of paint,and a few more staff, We will never stay at the mansion again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

the hotel is well placed on the seafront near the pier and just 5 mins from a good shopping center, the food was presented well but not always hot. Plain gravy with your meal was only available with the roast beef, The hotel seems to be in a U shape with the rooms on the inside of the U having a view of the back the other rooms have a sea view but some only from the side.towels were changed daily & hospitality tray re filled.
As regard to entertainment ok if you like oneman entertainers, we found the ballroom (the entertainment room) to be very cold with slow bar service,but to be fair the bartender had to serve in both bars.
This was our first time in Eastbourne and maybe the last.

Room Tip: perhaps the even number rooms have a sea view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

The day started so well until we hit Eastbourne and made the jet lagged decision to stay at the Chatsworth Hotel which was so bad that even my dog wouldn't board there (and no, he's not a poodle!). We requested a refund only to receive an "upgrade" to the neighbouring Mansion Lion Hotel (same owner, same decor, same poor standard, same dodgy electrics but with a marginally better sea view). Seriously, we would NOT recommend this hotel, clearly there are others far superior in this area. Sadly we made an impulsive decision so late in the afternoon, so always do your research or preferably view the room before you hand over your credit card. The 108 pound per night was clearly extortion!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.0 mi away
Albany Lions Hotel
Albany Lions Hotel
#38 of 42 in Eastbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#10 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#23 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion Lions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Lions Hotel

Property: Mansion Lions Hotel
Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 42 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mansion Lions Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Mansion Lions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing