We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, peaceful location”
Review of The Sheldon B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sheldon B&B
Ranked #27 of 76 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My wife and I stayed for three nights at the Sheldon Hotel, we chose to stay here due to the excellent reviews given by others. It was my wifes birthday so I chose to stay in the 'Suite' (Room 15) which includes a King size bed, a bath and shower, a settee and fridge plus en-suite toilet.

The room was lovely, very large and airy with very high ceilings. Good selection of coffee / tea provided along with a kettle, milk waiting in the fridge along with water and fresh orange juice. An excellent assortment of shampoo / body lotion / shower gel also provided, along with lots of clean towels and also dressing gowns + slippers. Very high quality all round.

The settee was very comfortable and, being next to the window, a great place to sit and read. The TV worked fine, normal selection of digital channels available. The hotel itself is about 200 metres from the main road by the beach but this made it extremely quiet in the evenings and throughout the night, no noise from late night 'revellers'. The parking at the back is through a very narrow entrance but had plenty of space for everyones car and is very convenient. All in all, no complaints.

I must remark on the fact that I had mentioned in the booking that it was my wifes birthday and we were pleasantly surprised to come back to our room on the 'big day' and find a lovely bunch of flowers just waiting for her! A very nice touch and much appreciated.

All in all, no complaints. Breakfast was very good, great selection of cereal / croissant / juices, etc., plus an individually cooked breakfast. Room was always clean and everything topped up on a regular basis (including some lovely little cakes!) If you are looking for a nice, clean and peaceful place to stay in Eastbourne, with good wi-fi and near the beach but away from the noise of the seafront, stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

It was a real pleasure looking after you! We are really glad you had a nice stay. You are right, it is usually a very peaceful spot, whilst a sea view is lovely, we think being close to the sea, but not on the main road is actually better, we never have that constant traffic flow and rarely get late night revellers passing. Our noisiest residents are the seagulls! Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

Just spent one night at The Sheldon. Very easy place to stay. I had to leave at 5am in morning for a photoshoot and then returned in time for check out at 10.30am. Easy in, easy out. Just stayed in a single room which was fine for the few hours I was in there. I would like to try it again, next time in a double. Looking at other reviews, this is a favourable place to stay. I have stayed once before in Eastbourne and it was a disaster - old people's hotel which was grim with a capital G. So thank God or similar for The Sheldon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisetasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

We had no idea you'd been out that early! If you like a double room, our budget doubles may be booked as single occupancy - watch out for special offers especially out of season! If ever you don't have time for breakfast, we can do a magic porridge pot with syrup and fruit to eat in your room or take away for later.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

just spent the weekend in Eastbourne-staying at the Sheldon hotel.booking in was easy and quick our room was on the second floor -lots of stairs but there was a lift if you needed it.what a lovely surprise when we opened the door the room was nicely warm and was big and light with huge windows.a,large bed with clean and fresh bedding.bathroom was very nice with a roll top bath.we were at the front of the hotel and it was quiet. the beds were very comfortable.good service at breakfast with good choice of hot and cold.parking is easy either on site or the road outside. it's only a short walk into town and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: only downside to room 28 is that the light stay's on in the corridor and this shine's under...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you so much. x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Having found this wonderful hotel by chance a year ago - largely because they have an on-site car park - shortly after Greg and Judith took over, there was no question about where we would stay in Eastbourne this time. I was even more impressed when Judith and I spoke on the phone and she clearly remembered us. We were pleased to find that the hotel, and its owners, were just as we remembered them: the welcome was genuine, the room was large and comfortable, the breakfast set us up for the day, and busy people found time for a chat!

We can agree with everything that other people say, with one (very minor) criticism - the shower was a tight fit for me! This was, however, a problem for just a few minutes in the morning.

We will be back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

It is always a pleasure when previous guests return and one of the biggest complements! I think the shower fitted you quite nicely until you had one of my lovely breakfasts! We are all looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I spent some nights at the Sheldon last autumn.
Yes, I picked it for the name and the location.

We had a wonderful stay there! The owner family is very smart,
gives you advice about what to do in Eastbourne. The breakfast is big enough,
the hotel rooms as well. I guess we were some of the youngest visitors in Eastbourne, but who cares? ;o)

Thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We certainly started with a 'big bang' and hope that even if you choose us for the name, you will come back time and time again! Although we do have a reputation for a more mature resort, there is actually plenty for families, young couples and singles to enjoy here as you will have found out during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Absolutely beautiful hotel, rooms are lovely really big and airy. Very clean and very well thought out and tastefully decorated. Owners are lovely, very friendly and welcoming. Really good value, much better than a lot of the bigger hotels. Would definitely stay here again

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank rp2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you so much, We have a lot to live up to now! We will always listen to our guests and hope that we learn from their comments and improve as we go along. Thank you once again for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The owners are lovely and very welcoming and really made us feel at home. Breakfast was cooked to perfection each morning with our needs being anticipated after they knew what we liked, which was a nice touch. We stayed in a budget double room so I can't comment on the regular rooms, but I thought for £56 a night including breakfast it was very good value. The town centre, restaurants and the seafront are right on the doorstep, but we didn't find the location noisy at all. There is a lift to the first and second floors. All in all we were very happy at the Sheldon and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesBee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

We have tried to brand our rooms in accordance with facilities and floor space. This is a really old house, so all the rooms are a bit different and quirky. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mowbray
The Mowbray
#14 of 76 in Eastbourne
391 reviews
0.7 mi away
Albert & Victoria
Albert & Victoria
#11 of 76 in Eastbourne
360 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gyves House
Gyves House
#6 of 76 in Eastbourne
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eastbourne Reymar
Eastbourne Reymar
#32 of 76 in Eastbourne
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Berkeley Guest House
The Berkeley Guest House
#20 of 76 in Eastbourne
263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Front Guest House
Beach Front Guest House
#3 of 76 in Eastbourne
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheldon B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheldon B&B

Address: 9-11 Burlington Place, Eastbourne BN21 4AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range: £58 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheldon B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheldon is a 4* family owned and run bed and breakfast. With FREE on-site parking, so it ideal for those visiting the theatre, shops, beach, pier and most attractions as you can walk just about anywhere! Wi-fi is available in most rooms and all public area's - FREE of charge! All our rooms benefit from flat screen TV with satellite, pleasant seating area 'Cafe etc...' refreshment tray, Luxury 'Au-Lait' (by Scottish fine soaps) toiletrie. We are exceptioanlly family friendly - why not sit in the lounge whilst the children settle using one of our baby monitors and enjoy a drink! We have a room to suit every budget and need - family rooms for up to 5 occupants now available! We have a spacious dining room a childrens playroom and lovely guest lounge. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sheldon B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheldon Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing