We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful place to stay”
Review of The Sheldon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sheldon
Ranked #23 of 77 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had friends visiting for a few days and booked them into The Sheldon. What a great find with a car park. The superior double room was beautiful and the owners Judith and Greg could not have been more welcoming to our friends. The whole hotel seemed spotless and very well decorated. Breakfast which we joined our friends for was excellent. Can be recommended totally.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrythewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you very much, great company!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    50
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
115
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

This is a real gem, I have stayed several times and always had a warm welcome. Several friends and family members have also stayed and each one intends to return. Rooms are spotless and comfortable, breakfast is individually cooked, the car park is a real bonus whilst the location, in a quiet road 2 minutes from the seafront could not be better. However what really makes the Sheldon special is the care and commitment of the owners who do everything possible to ensure the comfort and enjoyment of their guests. An excellent choice for a stay in Eastbourne.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
You were an amazing house guest! We loved your company and it was wonderful to look after you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Excellent B&B. Brilliant location close to the beach and the pier. Really nice spotless single rooms. Staff so kind and friendly. Extremely knowledgeable about local cafes and fun things for children to do Thank you. Pam.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Many thanks indeed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Seemed a bit more B&B than hotel. Lovely staff, nice building, Superior single was decent, Superior twins were very good, shower was difficult to get the right temperature. Great location & free parking. Breakfast was good and staff very accomodating. All in all good for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonbeamandstardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
We have gone to great lengths to market ourselves as a family owned and run 4* bed and breakfast. We no longer have the word hotel in any of our marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Excellent hotel . Lovely room. Crisp white bedding . Soft white towels . Lovely and warm rooms. Tea and coffee refreshed every day . Rooms are a lovely size with TV and two seater sofa plus table and chairs. We found this ideal in the evening to chill out and relax after our evening meal . The breakfast was wonderful , set us up for the day . Plenty of choice and nothing was too much trouble if you wanted to change it around a bit. You are looked after very we'll . The rooms have a comprehensive guide to Eastbourne which we found very useful . It's ideally situated too , only two minutes walk from the nearest restaurant and five mins from a wetherspoons pub and the town centre . Just to finish on a big tick in the box for The Sheldon is its own car park behind the hotel . Invaluable . Can't speak highly enough of the Sheldon . Will hopefully be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you so much, actually my favorite room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have choosen this place as a stopover hotel traveling from Calais to South West England.
The location is perfect, in the centre with good and secure parkingspace for FREE ! at the rear of the hotel.
You can easily walk to restaurants and to the pier and the sea.
They gave us good restaurant tips. We finally ate at Solo Pasta - that was "perfetto"
Our room was very spacious but a little outdated. Curtains were torn, the sofa broke. We had a room in the basement at the back of the hotel, so it was very quit at night. Maybe this room was not yet re-done.
Breakfast was ok and enough for a morningstart but not 4-star hotel worthy.
All in All it is a very good choice to stay at the Sheldon. Price/quality is good.
And Eastbourne is so much nicer than for example brighton. Specialy the pier is so beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reisverslaafde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
I'm really struggling with this review. The sofa is not broken and the curtains are not ripped, there are brand new panels at the window and were when you stayed, so I am really confused. If you ever stay again, please bring things to our attention during your stay, because it really helps us to get things right for the next guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I selected the Sheldon Hotel based upon the locality and the favourable feedback left on Tripadvisor.

I booked through Laterooms, which I highly recommend other users never to do so!!!!! However I would recommend to book directly with the hotel. The level of service the family run Sheldon offers far exceeds that of any booking agents!

Upon contacting The Sheldon directly I was greeted by a most kind lady who's smile emanated via her voice ;) she booked my husband and I into the suite. I mentioned that we were driving a large vehicle and I was a little worried about whether it would pass through the carpark entrance (as I had noted by reading other reviews that it may be a right squeeze to enter although the carpark itself was more than ample) absolutely no fuss was made and she acknowledged my concern and I was offered a space located at the front of the hotel (how lovely was that!!!!)

Upon arrival we were greeted by a well presented scholar who, once again, was of genuine kindness and upmost of professionalism. What a brilliant skill to have (one of hospitality) prior to leaving secondary schooling years. He will go far in life :)). We were booked in, we were offered for our cases to be carried however we were ok to carry them (a little touch like this goes a long way if we were unable to carry our luggage) and we were shown to our beautifully decorated and immaculate Suite (room 15).

The suite had a comfortable sofa located in a wonderfully large bay window. A double shower cubicle and large roll top bath were located in the room along with complimentary slippers and wonderfully soft bath robes as well as indulgent shampoos and soaps. An ensuite loo with sink was hidden in a large bright and clean cupboard.

A mini fridge containing bottled waters and orange juice was a real joy to have along with cakes and section of biscuits, fruits, coffees, teas and hot chocolates also. Something for every mood :)

The bed was HUGE clean pressed bedding and was so incredibly comfortable I could have slept for ever. Like sleeping on a nice fluffy cloud!

Breakfast was perfect!!!! A wonderful selection of cereals, fruits, yoghurt, breads and fresh juices and that's just to tickle your taste buds prior to tucking into a perfect portion sized cooked English, yum yum.

Once again the hospitality goes over and beyond that of what I have ever experienced anywhere!!!
Te morning smiles and genuine interest that the family run Sheldon exudes is absolutely spot on.

All in all ....... I cannot fault anything, apologies for no constructive feedback ;) all I can say is "keep up the brilliant work"

Sending thank you's on mass you truly did make out two night mini break away an experience to look forward to once again. Can't wait to come back and say hello to you all again :)))

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Smurf197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
You were such a lovely couple and your story touched us. We are so glad you got the suite because we think you really needed it! I hope you 'like' us on facebook, so we can tempt you back again! Good luck with everything and please keep in touch! x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Marine Parade Hotel
Marine Parade Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mowbray
The Mowbray
#13 of 77 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sherwood
The Sherwood
#32 of 77 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Berkeley Guest House
The Berkeley Guest House
#21 of 77 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ravilious
Ravilious
#8 of 77 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Front Guest House
Beach Front Guest House
#1 of 77 in Eastbourne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheldon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheldon

Property: The Sheldon
Address: 9-11 Burlington Place, Eastbourne BN21 4AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheldon 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheldon is a 4* family owned and run bed and breakfast. It has 20 lovely en-suite bedrooms with FREE on-site parking, so it ideal for those visiting the theatre, shops, beach, pier and most attractions as you can walk just about anywhere! Wi-fi is available in the hotel, FREE of charge! All our rooms benefit from flat screen TV with satellite, 'Cafe etc...' refreshment tray, towels and Luxury 'Au-Lait' (by Scottish fine soaps) toiletries. We have a room to suit every budget and need - family rooms for up to 5 adults now available! We have a spacious dining room and 2x guest lounges. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Sheldon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheldon Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing