We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Retreat”
Review of The Sheldon B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sheldon B&B
Ranked #25 of 77 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed at The Sheldon for two nights. The availability of parking was a huge draw.My room was very comfortable and cosy. The complimentary toiletries and tea/coffee making facilities was also very nice. Breakfast was scrumptious and plentiful. Best thing of all was, Judith and Greg, the owners. They were very welcoming and friendly. I'll definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Remi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon B&B, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    53
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
118
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The Sheldon really lives up to the fantastic reviews on tripadvisor. We stayed midweek for 3 nights on a special deal in the suite,on the `1st floor,lift if needed. We received a very warm welcome from Judith,a very lovely lady/owner. We were shown to our room,and WOW ,what a room. Very large with huge bay window,king bed,rolltop bath,large walk in shower,with bag of toiletries, soaps gel shampoo,etc.

There was a basket fruit, biscuits, tea/coffee/chocolate etc. A fridge with orange juice,jug milk,bottled water, and easter mallow nest chocolate, a lovely touch. This is replaced daily if needed. Dressing gowns, slippers,and so quite and peaceful. Free car parking for all rooms,which is a bonus in Eastbourne.
The hotel is absolutely spotless, decoration is lovely,no chips or marks on walls,which does happen even in our own homes. The breakfast room was large and bright, with beautiful laid tables. Cooked breakie was lovely, served with a smile from their hard working staff. If you don't fancy cooked, there is everything you can think of on the breakfast table.
What a hotel, nothing, and I mean nothing, was too much trouble for Judith or greg.
It was a real pleasure to stay here and to meet a lovely hard working couple,we will return.

This is the GRAND of eastbourne.....

Regards...Jo & David

Room Tip: Just book the suite if available, a dream room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisso12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon B&B, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you so much. It has taken lots of feedback to find out what our guests want, and we appreciate everything everyone says to us. We love showing guests to the suite because they all love it as much as we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A highly impressive hotel almost on the sea front which deserves the accolades.
The room we stayed in was a superior suite, which was huge, with a roll top bath and walk in shower in the room which we though was great but possibly not ideal if you are on the shy side.
Breakfast was just about perfect with excellent service. Nothing seemed too much trouble and we would make a point of staying again.
Dined in a local Italian restaurant which was recommended by the hotel owners and even got a discount. The on site car park is a bonus which I always look for.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon B&B, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
It was lovely looking after you, thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry I missed you at check-out, but really pleased you loved your Sheldon experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had friends visiting for a few days and booked them into The Sheldon. What a great find with a car park. The superior double room was beautiful and the owners Judith and Greg could not have been more welcoming to our friends. The whole hotel seemed spotless and very well decorated. Breakfast which we joined our friends for was excellent. Can be recommended totally.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrythewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon B&B, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you very much, great company!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

This is a real gem, I have stayed several times and always had a warm welcome. Several friends and family members have also stayed and each one intends to return. Rooms are spotless and comfortable, breakfast is individually cooked, the car park is a real bonus whilst the location, in a quiet road 2 minutes from the seafront could not be better. However what really makes the Sheldon special is the care and commitment of the owners who do everything possible to ensure the comfort and enjoyment of their guests. An excellent choice for a stay in Eastbourne.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon B&B, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
You were an amazing house guest! We loved your company and it was wonderful to look after you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Excellent B&B. Brilliant location close to the beach and the pier. Really nice spotless single rooms. Staff so kind and friendly. Extremely knowledgeable about local cafes and fun things for children to do Thank you. Pam.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon B&B, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Many thanks indeed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Seemed a bit more B&B than hotel. Lovely staff, nice building, Superior single was decent, Superior twins were very good, shower was difficult to get the right temperature. Great location & free parking. Breakfast was good and staff very accomodating. All in all good for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonbeamandstardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith B, Owner at The Sheldon B&B, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
We have gone to great lengths to market ourselves as a family owned and run 4* bed and breakfast. We no longer have the word hotel in any of our marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mowbray
The Mowbray
#15 of 77 in Eastbourne
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ivydene
Ivydene
#7 of 77 in Eastbourne
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Berkeley Guest House
The Berkeley Guest House
#23 of 77 in Eastbourne
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cherry Tree Hotel
Cherry Tree Hotel
#28 of 77 in Eastbourne
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheldon B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheldon B&B

Property: The Sheldon B&B
Address: 9-11 Burlington Place, Eastbourne BN21 4AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheldon B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheldon is a 4* family owned and run bed and breakfast. With FREE on-site parking, so it ideal for those visiting the theatre, shops, beach, pier and most attractions as you can walk just about anywhere! Wi-fi is available in most rooms and all public area's - FREE of charge! All our rooms benefit from flat screen TV with satellite, pleasant seating area 'Cafe etc...' refreshment tray, Luxury 'Au-Lait' (by Scottish fine soaps) toiletrie. We are exceptioanlly family friendly - why not sit in the lounge whilst the children settle using one of our baby monitors and enjoy a drink! We have a room to suit every budget and need - family rooms for up to 5 occupants now available! We have a spacious dining room a childrens playroom and lovely guest lounge. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sheldon B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheldon Hotel Eastbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing