We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“fantastic..”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My partner and I booked this hotel through a virgin gift experience, the staff could not have been more helpful, attentive and welcoming.
I managed to upgrade our room to one of the deluxe rooms overlooking the sea with a four poster bed and a jacuzzi bath which was absolutely fantastic.
We will definitely return to this hotel, so much to see and do in an around the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeetR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your review

Glad you liked one of our new contemporary 4 posters and the associated jacuzzi

We always operate the BRA theory here (Best Room Available!) so if we have a better room available we will always upgrade and we get menay positives on this police.

Thanks also reference you comments on my staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,080
    662
    164
    48
    28
See reviews for
323
1,230
27
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Excellent location in Eastbourne to the east of the pier. Good easy parking right in front of the hotel in pay and display bays - you can pay £4 for 24hrs. We used a groupon voucher and paid extra for a sea view room which was definitely worth while. Booking the dates over the phone the staff was brilliant and very flexible as we changed our dates around a couple of times.
We arrived way before check in time and the staff tried to get our room ready for us (I do hold a Best Western card though which can sometimes help and gives priorities). After a good cappucino in the bar our room was already ready. The pool is clean, a good size and got good use from us - just be aware it is quite deep for kids. Lovely staff at breakfast, very attentive and nice to our 4 yr old daughter. Overall an excellent stay and definitely will stay at the hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view room on the 2nd of 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your review

I'm glad you had a good time with us and thank you for your kind comments on my staff and how they looked after you.

Reference the parking don't forget if you do get a space on the seafront we can give you a permit for £1 which will last you until 11am the following day and the side roads around us are unrestricted and free of charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Crendon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Loved the Hotel, loved Eastbourne and really loved Airbourne.
Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The Manager was fantastic and even delayed pool cleaning so we could have a last swim.
Breakfast was fab and the location of the hotel is superb. All round fantastic and will definitely come again. Thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaliFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for your review

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and liked Eastbourne's Airshow

Glad we could help with the pool too

Look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel a few years ago and it was a definite 3/5 I was very pleased to see the fantastic refurb of the room we stayed in. The sea view in the morning was superb :) the staff were super friendly and helpful. Breakfast had an excellent choice. Would definitely stay here again. Well done for all the improvements.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian3663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your review

It's always great to read a review from a former visitor before we had done a lot of our recent improvements.

I am glad we pleased and thank you for your comments reference my staff and breakfast

Look forward to seeing you again - perhaps not with such a long gap this time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We booked here using a value for money groupon deal and having never been to Eastbourne or thought of it as a place to visit, thank you to York house hotel and its offer, we will now be coming back again.
We stayed in the standard room (102), not tempted to upgrade to seaview to be away from the main road as my other half is a light sleeper and the room was nice. Although slightly on the small side, it was pleasant, well decorated, clean and comfortable, with a mounted perfect height TV and coffee/tea facilities.
The service at breakfast was great with ample staff assisting and breakfast delicious and hearty.
The reception area and staff modern and friendly and helpful.
Although we did not have dinner here, the menu seemed well thought out and well priced. The price of alcohol too is decent and I had an delicious glass of white from the bar which i dont think i will forget in a long time.
A place to stay if your looking for a comfortable stay with a relaxing stay, modern rooms and nice views.

Room Tip: Good rooms are probably the scenic ones but to be honest the views are pretty much amazing from beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandeep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your review

Yes Eastbourne is not all mobility Scooters as some people say! Plenty to do if you look or even ask us for suggestions - we always aim to please

Glad you enjoyed your standard room and thank you for your comments reference my staff and facilities

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights on groupon deal, so glad we upgraded to sea view! Fantastic view from first floor, had to be one of best rooms! All great, room clean and nicely decorated, had dinner one night which was excellent. Shame menu not changed nightly might have had another meal. Also shame continental breakfast didn't include some nice bread or rolls and perhaps a bit more than very nice ham and cheese. Slight niggle that duvet was winter weight! too hot, but weather not quite hot enough for nothing at all which was the only alternative!All staff were friendly and very efficient, would definitely stay again. Would give 4.5 but don't now how to do that!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your review

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us overall.

I note your comments reference the menu changing daily but we do like to run a seasonally changing menu based on the freshest produce available so we do change quarterly. I also am working on a new breakfast content which I will introduce in September which will include some great new organic breads etc - so I appreciate where you are coming from

Look forward to seeing you again soon when you can try it out
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Got this deal off Groupon, as most people have said staff very nice. Lady with blonde hair showing you to your table at breakfast, really deserves a special mention. Stayed two nights did upgrade to sea view room, view great but felt for the extra £50 room was a bit dated. Old fashioned chunky tv ,one chair, small table, bathroom was clean but very old and dated and in need of a lot of work. Was told on booking, rooms were huge but our room 234 was a little soulless. Some website photos didn't reflect are room. WFI worked fine with cloud. But all in all not bad for two nights away, the nice staff make a big difference!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your review

Sounds like you had 1 of the 3 seaview rooms left to refurbish, which will be attended to this autumn.

Thank you for your special mention to Ewa who is in charge of the Restaurant and yes she is a great asset to us.

Hope to see you again and contact me if you are in the area next on:

mark.cotman@yorkhousehotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Property: Best Western York House Hotel
Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing