We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We decided to have a quick break in Eastbourne and booked York House Hotel. Right from when we booked in staff were efficient and helpful. The hotel was full but we were shown to a table as soon as we entered the restaurant. The staff were helpful to everyone and the breakfast was superb. It never ran low on anything despite the amount of people. We had a small room at the back of the hotel which although quite basic was clean and functional. A really great break,

Room Tip: Next time I will book at sea front room, I think it would be worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for your review.

Glad to see you had such a good time with us and thank you for your great comments reference my staff.

Look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,093)
There are newer reviews for Best Western York House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,725 - 1,731 of 2,093 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

The York House Hotel is a fantastic place to stay. This was our second year there, staying for 10 days, and it was just as good as last year. We had a large sea view room with a great view of the pier and the coastline. All the staff were very friendly and helpful - thank you all. There was plenty of choice at breakfast. In the bar they served an excellent cup of coffee. We have already booked again for next year.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Howard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for your review

Thanks also for your kind comments reference my staff

Glad to see you with us again and glad you liked our coffee - it is the best on Royal Parade!

Look forward to seeing you again next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Great hotel. Fantastic room with a view to die for. Nice big four poster bed with a very new en-suite, including spa bath. Hotel staff all very friendly. Good start to each day with a very good breakfast. I WILL COME BACK!!
Thanks to all who made our stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brianzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your review

I am glad you enjoyed one of our new 4 posters with its jacuzzi - these are now so popular we are adding another one in a couple of weeks time which will be ready for Christmas

Thank you also for your comments reference my staff and we look forward to seeing you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Weve just had a stay at The York House Hotel with a Sea View room Excellent the Staff were so helpful could not do enough for you the cleanliness overall of the Hotel.The food was good we had the 3 coarse set meal in the Evening &The Breakfast First Class.The only Down Side was the Pool Had Very Young Children Swimming Lessons being held there on the Friday & Dogs in the Hotel including bring them straight in from being in the Sea. We still had a Pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Sea View Room Facing South
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRIAN w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your review.

Glad you had a good overall stay with us and thank you for your general kind comments referency my staff and Breakfast.

We do have 'local' children in for 1 hour a day to learn to swim Monday to Friday as there are a lack of facilities in Eastbourne for suchlike and it is our 'giving' a little bit back to the local community. I personally don't think 1 hour a day Monday to Friday is too much of an imposition.

We do also accept dogs which we do advertise ourselves as pet friendly

My apologies if either of these 2 policies impacted your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We recently had my in-laws visit from Italy and we booked them into sea view room at The York House Hotel.

They are well travelled people and are use to high standards..... And that's exactly what they received at the YHH. The service was excellent, as was the cleanliness of the rooms (and the hotel in general) and they were extremely impressed with the breakfast and the restaurant in general.

We will definitely be using the YHH again in the future and would strongly recommend it to others visiting Eastbourne.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cxs1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your review

I'm glad we made the in-laws visit a pleasurable one (hate to think what would have happened if not!)

Look forward to seeing them again next time round

Many thanks for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

If we'd looked hard enough we could probably have found quite a few reasons to be negative about the York House Hotel, particularly as we were were booked into what must surely be the smallest room in the hotel, half way up the stairs, at the back. (Room 141) Indeed, we were glad we hadn't taken the family moggy away with us as there wouldn't have been room ….. oh well, you get the drift. (We were assured that it actually was a double.) But really, all you need when away from home is a comfortable bed, pleasant and helpful staff, and a good breakfast. York House scored highly on all three fronts during our three-night stay. There were slight problems seating everyone in the restaurant during breakfast but they were dealt with efficiently and charmingly by the restaurant manager, and the breakfast itself was of the highest quality. We didn't dine in the restaurant at night as there are so many good eateries in Eastbourne that we wanted to try out, so we can't comment on the evening meal, though the prices looked to be a tad on the expensive side. Neither did we use the separate bar, which looked a bit dismal. Our general impression though was of a hotel that genuinely tries to please its customers, and as we were there on a special Groupon deal we found it to be very good value for the money we paid. We would certainly return, hopefully to a slightly larger room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jongleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your review

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us overall and thank you for your comments reference my staff and their caring attitude

Ewa in the Restaurant is certainly proficient and an asset to us

I'm sorry you thought the bar was 'dismal' never heard that one before

If you do visit again it is always worth the upgrade to a seaview as these rooms are at least 50% bigger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed on a Groupon deal, and, for that, we felt it was reasonable value. We had to upgrade to a sea view room as no standard rooms available, so that made it a little less value for money. The receptionist who greeted us was somewhat uninspiring and appeared to be going through the motions.
The room was smallish but recently decorated and very clean, with a fantastic bed. The bathroom floor was badly laid, with sealant all over the place (recently done, if the smell was anything to go by). Also, despite all the refurb, the shower head and hose was rusty and in need of descaling, which led to a not very good shower. We did complain but don't think anything was done ( shower heads etc are pretty cheap - why not change it?).
Despite the fact the hotel was relatively full, we had a very peaceful stay. The breakfast was pretty good, and they did not rush us out, even though we came towards the end of service.
Swimming pool is nice although not good for people with mobility problems as they do not let you walk through the restaurant to get to it (so necessitating using 2flights of stairs). This is fair enough, but we did have the Aquafit people walking through with their woggles during breakfast!
Good location, easy to walk to town and pier.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank bookworm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your review

Glad my staff looked after you well during Breakfast

I'm sorry for any maintenance issues and I have tried tracking down your booking so that I can double check if it has been attended to but 'Dorset' is a bit vague for me to do so.

If you have the time drop me a direct email: markcotman@yorkhousehotel.co.uk so that I can look into.

The swimming pool is stair access anyway hence why we don't allow egress through the Restaurant especially when people are dining however after Restaurant hours ie before 10am our instructors do access this way

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,256 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
963 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
937 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#2 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £49 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing