We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Just returned after a super two night break at the York House Hotel in Eastbourne. We had a lovely room,134 with a sea view, very comfortable and cosy. We ate in the restaurant for dinner on both nights and the food was exceptional as was the breakfast. A very warm welcome from all the helpful and attentive staff. Thank you and we would definitely come back to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for your review

I am glad you liked the sea view from your room and thank you for your great comments reference my staff and our food

Look forward to seeing you again next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,711 - 1,717 of 2,150 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

We needed a hotel deal to visit family in Eastbourne and our 3-day kgb trip to the York House gave us exactly the bolt hole we were looking for.
Arriving very late on Sunday (after midnight) and without our voucher codes we were 'admitted' with the minimum of fuss. The room had a huge bed and all the usual extras. Continental breakfast was varied and easily filling enough for us to fuel a walk up to Beachy Head and back!
There was plenty of street parking outside the front door for only £1 a day.
Best bits: comfy bed, sea view restaurant, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for your review

I am glad you had a pleasant stay with us whilst you were visiting your family.

What more do you need other than a comfy bed, sea view Restaurant and friendly staff - except maybe a Lotto win

Hope to see you again next time you visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

what can we say first time at York house hotel 5starfood + 5starroom + 5starstaff+ had a fantastic time room was beautiful very big and lots of room for wheelchair as im disabled couldn't fault it in any way don't want to go home but our 2 days are up in the morning ,thanks very much for the stay York house will def be back .from kevin and jean from great Yarmouth norfolk

Room Tip: front of hotel with beautiful views of sea and pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kev950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for your review

Glad to hear you appreciated our super seaview disabled access room and thank you very much for your kind comments reference my staff and other areas

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I booked this on a deal through Amazon local so had low expectations. I was quite wrong. What makes this hotel is the staff. They were all unfailingly pleasant, friendly and helpful. At reception they offered help with the luggage, gave us a huge seaview room and told us about the pool and parking. The room was old fashioned - no posh TV or flashy bathroom fittings but that is not as important to us as a comfy bed, separate dressing area for clothes and a lovely view. It was warm and clean. We had a drink in the bar then ate in the restaurant on the first evening. The wine list is varied and food is excellent. The breakfast on Saturday and Sunday is a buffet with a fair choice although not as extensive as we have had elsewhere. It was certainly adequate. On Monday they cook to order from a big menu of hot dishes. The dining room is overseen by Ewa without whom I suspect the whole thing would collapse when they are under pressure. The only fault is with the kitchen who let the hot food run out on Sunday's breakfast and were incredibly slow to cook the orders on Monday despite relatively few guests in the breaksfat room. I used the pool every morning. It is warm and pleasantly decorated but tiny - so really only any good for 2 or 3 swimmers at a time. Overall it was a good value hotel perhaps not suitable for those seeking more up to date facilities but a great team who put the customer first.

Room Tip: It is noisier on the sea front but the view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wodie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for your review

Glad that overall you had a pleasant stay with us and my consistent staff made your stay memorable.

New Breakfast buffet offering from next Thursday so please look out for our next offer on Amazon

The room you had will be another new 4 poster very soon

Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Booking this hotel was easy and the information supplied was very clear. The location is superb too as it is on the sea front and not far from the centre. The hotel itself was really nice with a welcoming and exquisite looking lobby. Staff were very courteous and kind all over. The rooms were also of very good standard as was the breakfast. Overall, very impressed and happy with our stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ephrem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for your review

Glad you had a good stay with us and thank you for your overall comments regarding my staff etc.

Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with two young children the room had a sea view and it was spacious, very clean and recently decorated. The pool was really wonderful and warm. The staff were extremely helpful. We really enjoyed it! My only criticism would be the breakfast, the food was mediocre, not great quality and poorly designed, for example there was no where to put your hot plate whilst lifting the lids of the hot food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for your review

Glad you and the kids enjoyed themselves and my staff were as attentive as ever.

I note your point reference breakfast but whilst all ingredients are certainly not cheap, variance etc to todays differing tastes will now be accounted for from next Thursday with our new offering.

Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Had a fab two night stay with our family pooch Millie the Chocolate Labrador and couldn't have been treated better. Our room was large and warm already equipped with dog bed, blanket and water bowl. Great service and very accommodating due to obviously not being able to eat in the restaurant we had our own sea view table in the bar for dinner and breakfast!!! Would definitely stay again so don't understand some of the negative reviews. Once again brilliant!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K1mb3rlY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for your review

Thank goodness we are back up to par was getting worried then!

We will always accommodate your 4 legged friend where we can and glad my staff looked after you so well

Hope to see you and Millie again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,535 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £31 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing