We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Chippenham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“wow!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Had a one night stay in room 124 - it so nice that we had our dinner in there. the room and bathroom were possibly amongst the best i have stayed in - i loved the split bathroom & loo. coffee machine, chocs and fruit are a really nice touch and the bed was so confortable and as usual a best western hotel upto a very high standard.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snortyhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your review

Great feedback and thank you. We have just launched a new bedroom product in our Deluxe rooms - see our website under 'deluxe 4 posters' - you were actually the first to experience it and I am glad it impressed - after all that is what we are here to try and do.

Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,100
    681
    170
    51
    28
See reviews for
334
1,263
28
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We have just returned from a two day break at the York House and it was perfect. Our sea view room was really big, well equipped and very clean. The view from our room was superb. The staff in the hotel were all very friendly and helpful. All public areas of the hotel were well maintained and very clean. The food in the restaurant was very good and the waiting staff very attentive. The location of the York House is perfect for visiting shops, restaurants and attractions. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally_smalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your review

I am glad you had a good time with us and thank you for your comments reference our food and as usual my staff.

Sounds like you had one of our new Superior rooms which have a few extra touches here and there such as robes and slippers, soft drinks, fruit, luxury toiletries, upgraded tea/coffee

Hope to see you next time soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay. Our room had a great view of the sea and was clean and spacious with all the facilities we needed. There was a good choice at breakfast and all the staff were very helpful. The hotel was close to the pier and convenient for the town centre. Eastbourne itself was very pleasant, and it was great to find so much open out of season. The town is also a really good base for exploring the South Downs National Park.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your review

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments reference my staff who I know appreciate it

Look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed on a two night deal so didn't expect to get a great room. It was refurbished but still had old TV so poor picture quality and lack of channels. It was in a part of the hotel that is hard to access if they are using the restaurant for a function. The first morning breakfast was a buffet which I don't really like but it was ok. The second morning, I was pleased that we were going to be served our breakfast . It was not busy so it should have been good .. The service was good but the breakfast was poor. Not freshly cooked as the eggs were nearly cold.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your review

From your comments as I have already mentioned on here we had one bad weekend for breakfast service whilst we were bedding in a new Breakfast Chef - comments since have been great - my apologies for this as this shouldn't have been the case.

But thank you for the comments on the staff service

I note your point on TV picture and upon investigation the aerial cable was damaged outside the building - this has now been repaired
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Just returned after a super two night break at the York House Hotel in Eastbourne. We had a lovely room,134 with a sea view, very comfortable and cosy. We ate in the restaurant for dinner on both nights and the food was exceptional as was the breakfast. A very warm welcome from all the helpful and attentive staff. Thank you and we would definitely come back to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your review

I am glad you liked the sea view from your room and thank you for your great comments reference my staff and our food

Look forward to seeing you again next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We needed a hotel deal to visit family in Eastbourne and our 3-day kgb trip to the York House gave us exactly the bolt hole we were looking for.
Arriving very late on Sunday (after midnight) and without our voucher codes we were 'admitted' with the minimum of fuss. The room had a huge bed and all the usual extras. Continental breakfast was varied and easily filling enough for us to fuel a walk up to Beachy Head and back!
There was plenty of street parking outside the front door for only £1 a day.
Best bits: comfy bed, sea view restaurant, friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your review

I am glad you had a pleasant stay with us whilst you were visiting your family.

What more do you need other than a comfy bed, sea view Restaurant and friendly staff - except maybe a Lotto win

Hope to see you again next time you visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

what can we say first time at York house hotel 5starfood + 5starroom + 5starstaff+ had a fantastic time room was beautiful very big and lots of room for wheelchair as im disabled couldn't fault it in any way don't want to go home but our 2 days are up in the morning ,thanks very much for the stay York house will def be back .from kevin and jean from great Yarmouth norfolk

Room Tip: front of hotel with beautiful views of sea and pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kev950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your review

Glad to hear you appreciated our super seaview disabled access room and thank you very much for your kind comments reference my staff and other areas

We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,052 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,569 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#31 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
890 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Property: Best Western York House Hotel
Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#1 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing