We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A REAL EYE FOR DETAIL WELL DONE !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Birchington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A REAL EYE FOR DETAIL WELL DONE !!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Booked via Groupon for two days to celebrate our wedding anniversary and was delighted with what we found.We paid £30 extra for a sea view in room 294 and would recommend you follow suit.A truly delightful room with great décor and facilities and spotlessly clean.Part of the deal was dinner the first night in the hotel restaurant which we really enjoyed so much so we booked for the second night as well.Both the food and the service was excellent both evenings and I pay my warmest compliments to the hotel management for a job well done.We are already looking forward to our next stay at this great hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your Wedding Anniversary with us and were encouraged by your first night experience to re book and have dinner the second night.

Thank you for your comments reference my staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,090
    668
    167
    48
    28
See reviews for
327
1,245
27
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (752)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We decided to to have a weekend away and this hotel was available as a "Groupon" offer. The hotel is positioned well on Eastbourne front and I am sure would be lovely in decent weather, during our stay we had torrential rain, gale force wind and a thunderstorm. The hotel is comfortable and the staff are a credit to their employer, the food is local, freshly cooked and sufficient quantity. The room we stayed in was comfortable, very clean and warm.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronhurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you liked the hotel and my great staff, who will do anything if they can and are asked.

I am sorry we couldn't arrange the weather for you on this occasion but as I am sure you appreciate this is an unusual weather pattern at the moment - however as I speak the sun has just come out.

Hopefully when we see you again this period of storms will of passed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We had a room on the 1st floor, we paid an extra £25 a night for the sea view which was worth it. Room 114 has a nice bay window with a small balcony. Decor is good and the bathroom is nice.
Everything was clean and no stains or marks. Breakfast was excellent, but the hotel restaurant is a bit pricey for an evening meal. But the staff are brilliant, always smiling and happy, even the chambermaids. The hotel is dog friendly and the small swimming pool is clean and very warm. On street parking only costs £1 a day.
Highly recommended we will come again.

Room Tip: Front facing sea view, room 114 has a nice bay window and small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a good time with us recently and you appreciated the sea view rooms and they are worth the extra.

Thank you very much also for the comments reference my staff and Breakfast. Don't forget if you do want to eat out always ask us for recommendations as we know the places to avoid.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Amazing large family room over looking the sea,with a big sofa and fresh fruit to welcome us.
lovely indoor swimming pool which was empty most of the time,so our 6 year old could splash as much as she liked without upsetting anyone!
The staff were so friendly they couldn't do enough to help,highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you liked our large family rooms overlooking the sea.

We do provide little extras, as you say, and thank you for your comments regarding my staff.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed two days on a voucher break and as I had asked for a walk in shower because I was unable to climb into a bath we were given a ground floor room adapted fro wheelchair use.
The room was lovely, bed very comfortable, sea view and large wetroom, the grab rails round the toilet area whrer good and not too obtrusive, however there was no rail to assist getting out of the shower, no seat in the shower so how people who cant stand manage?, no seat on which to sit outside the shower so as I cant bend I couldn't dry myself.
Food was good and plentifull , staff were lovely. Like I said the hotel is nearly perfect.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you liked our accessible room - we do have lots of purpose built walk in showers on other levels too.

If you do visit again please just ask for a shower chair as we have a couple of these as well but we don't put them in the wetroom as standard as they can be in the way if not needed. I note your point about a grab rail outside the shower and will rectify that.

Thank you for your comments about my staff and our food and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights on a KGB deal.
We paid extra for a room overlooking the sea. The view was great, especially as we were able to sea the large breakers coming in on the evening when the weather was very bad, and we were able to look out on to it rather than being in it. The room was good sized and clean, twin beds very soft. Breakfast was either cooked or a buffet style, plenty to choose from. You can park your car in the road outside, Zone H, with a card bought from reception for £1. This allows you to park up to 11 am the next day. You can park in side streets for free. However, when we were there we did not see many free spaces in the side streets, and this was out of season. If coming by car, in season, you may find parking anywhere difficult. The hotel has a small heated swimming pool. Whenever we went we were the only ones in it. We will be staying again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillHolyoake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and loved the rolling seas in the recent weather we have been having.

Parking in general is not a major issue even in high season.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,546 reviews
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
2,952 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#29 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
877 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Property: Best Western York House Hotel
Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing