We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent midweek break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent midweek break.”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have been coming to Eastbourne for many years, but have stayed at various other hotels. The York House hotel now goes on our short list of places to revisit. The staff, from reception, to bar, to restaurant, were friendly, welcoming, helpful and professional. The sea view room, 164, was very roomy, bright and clean. It was very warm on arrival as both wall heaters were on. When turned off and the large window opened, it was lovely. I am sure other people would like it warmer than us, so not a problem. It is worth upgrading to a sea view room. Although the room faces South the curtains block out any unwanted light. The mattresses are comfortable, with toppers, but are on the softer side, rather than the firm side. The breakfast is a buffet style, with plenty of choice and well cooked. It is also nice to have proper tablecloths and good cutlery. The staff are attentive and friendly without being a nuisance. Sarah and Andrew in particular stood out, a credit to the hotel. Dinner in the restaurant was also very good. The menu favours a British feel with a modern take. The food was well cooked, with good flavours and was good value. We are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chenahusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed the benefits of our sea view rooms and the great sunrises.

Thank you also for your comments reference my staff and specifically Andrew and Sarah as I know they all appreciate being recognised.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,080
    662
    164
    48
    28
See reviews for
323
1,230
27
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Hotel nice, staff are very welcoming/polite/helpful.

Breakfast was lovely, good choice to choose from.

Upgraded to sea view room 204, £50 for 2 nights, could have been slightly bigger, with More of a modern bathroom, but Never the less, overall it was still a lovely 2 night break.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demi131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

Glad to see you had a good time with us this month.

Thank you also for your comments reference my staff and our breakfast.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed one night in a lovely room with a sea view which was quiet in spite of being on a busy road. Parking can be a problem but we appreciated the parking permit issued by the hotel. We also liked the proper mugs provided for our morning tea. TV channels limited and with variable reception. Disappointed that our morning paper had to be collected from Reception and not delivered to our door as other hotels do. Unfortunately no hot water in our room in the morning but our visit ended on a high with an excellent breakfast with very helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cranside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

i am glad you had a good time with us and liked our Breakfast.

The limited channels is being addressed on the 2nd March when the full Freeview channels with subtitles will be available.

I note you were here when we had the boiler breakdown on that one morning ( why does it always happen in the morning and not at lunchtime!) However it was rectified and back up and running by 11am the same day - we are not one of these hotels that run out of water even when we are at maximum capacity.

We do hold papers at Reception purely due to our narrow corridors - originally being 4 Victorian houses - our experience shows that when previously left in the corridor and the narrowness they got trampled on and or 'stolen'. Please feel free to ask us if you would like it brought up anyway at a certain time as I know my Reception team would only be more than happy to oblige.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We chose to stay at The York because of it's location, right on the seafront and minutes from the pier and town centre. It was our wedding anniversary and we just wanted to get away for the weekend in relative comfort and style. I am pleased to say that The York came up to our expectations in most respects. It was sufficiently modern in the reception and bar area and the room was well furnished and comfortable. I'd read in other reviews that the staff were not professional enough but our experience was pretty much the opposite. All were friendly and seemed happy in their work and actually had time to chat whilst carrying out their work. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and reasonably quality too. It seems that they took on board a previous comment about the low quality sausages. The room and hotel temperatures were pretty good and even though the front was being lashed by what seemed like force 10 gales and torrential rain we still kept warm and dry. A couple of niggles; the quilt was the same size as the bed (no overhang except for the cover!) probably due to the huge size of the bed and it was also surprising that the TV was still a clunky CRT taking up space on the desk and not a modern flat screen mounted on the wall. However all in all it was all we hoped for and we would definitely come back (when the weather finally calms down a bit!)

Room Tip: The £30 upgrade charge for a sea view room was definitely worth it. The angry sea was spectacular to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snearxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had an overall good time with us.

Not sure when you last looked at our reviews but the one recurring theme is that my staff are friendly and helpful.

You will also be pleased that the old CRT's are gone all rooms have LCD and LED's.

Yes we do listen to our reviewers, it is essential we do, and we changed our Breakfast buffet in January and happy to say no 'murmurs' since.

I am sure that when you do come back you will of course notice these changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Enjoyed a 2-night Amazon deal here. Glad we took the £15 pn upgrade to seaview superior room (284) which was fabulous - huge bed, huge room! (Brother- and sister-in-law's non-seaview room - 340 - was a little 'cosy' and the bed a very small double.) All staff were friendly and not only helpful but looking out for ways to help. Parking ticket (£1 per day from Reception) was easy - just look out for a space outside the hotel. Our 3-course meal (inc in the cost of the deal) was superb and the young man in charge of the restaurant on Mon night (17 Feb - wish I'd noted his name!) couldn't have been more helpful. We asked to sit at a window table in the York Room (overflow from the restaurant) for breakfast and he went, unasked, to find a small radiator to warm it up as it was a little chilly. He reserved the table for us the 2nd morning. Breakfast covered all we could possibly have wanted, inc kippers on request! I'd struggle to find anything to improve - the only thing I can think of is, if the shower curtain in the bathroom of 284 were replaced with a shower screen, it might dispel the slightly mildewy smell and a shelf or small cabinet in the bathroom, in which to put toilet items, would be useful. Otherwise - perfect, thank you and a great value-for-money deal from Amazon!

Room Tip: Seaview superior room (284) was spacious, with a huge bed! Although on the seafront road and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your sea view room and thank you for your comments reference my staff and specifically Andrew who assisted you at Breakfast time.

I note your points reference the bathroom and will certainly look at that in the near future.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Had a overnight stay last Monday using an Amazon deal. Paid extra for a sea view room.
On arrival, check in was quick, room was ready & even managed to find a parking space opposite this hotel. Reception gave me a parking permit for £1 valid until 11,am the following morning. Excellent value.
Our room 341 on the first floor opposite the lift. Despite its location we had a peaceful and good nights sleep the room was wonderfully room throughout the night. Surprisingly quiet despite being on first floor on main road & opposite the lift. The bed was very comfortable and bedding spotlessly clean. We had an excellent nights sleep.
Breakfast was really busy with a queue of 15 minutes before being able to enter the dining room. I understand that a lot of rooms arrived at the same time and I could see the staff rushed of there feet and working hard. Buffett style with a fair choice .

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank debdee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a pleasant stay with us and thank you for your comments about a good nights sleep. Both of our lifts are hydraulic so are virtually silent - sometimes it is just the people that are in them that are noisy.

Breakfast as you say during 'half term' week has been a series of 'sundays' ie; 130 people all coming for breakfast in an hour instead of spread over 2 1/2 hours but I am glad we still gave you a fair choice.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Superb weekend package with voucher -Sea view room ( Fantastic) Chocolates and beautiful flowers. Lovely meal included on the Friday evening with beautiful table settings. Food was excellent quality and choice.Great Breakfasts too! Tickets for Saturday matinee at the theatre.
Everywhere in hotel clean and well decorated. All staff waiters,waitresses,manager, bar staff and reception staff excellent - proffesional but friendly, willing to spend time talking and listening to guests - nothing was too much trouble for them. Didn't use swimming pool but it looked fine and If stayed longer would use it. Best Valentines day ever!

Room Tip: Paid little extra for sea view room - well worth it. Paid £1 per day for parking permit excellent va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naturel0ver64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed our Valentines package and I agree with you that the Restaurant, after it was dressed for the occasion, looked stunning. We even posted pics on our Facebook page, but they don't do it justice.

Thank you also for your comments on my staff and Breakfast.

Hope to see you 'same place, same time' next year, if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Property: Best Western York House Hotel
Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing