We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Our room was ready when we arrived and the staff were very friendly and efficient. Parking can be a bit of a nightmare but we knew what to expect and got by. We upgraded to a sea view on the first floor and when we opened the curtains in the morning we had a beautiful sunrise to greet us. We didn't mean to rise that early so got back into bed with a proper mug of tea and stared out to sea. The cheerfulness of the staff continued for the next two mornings at breakfast and nothing was too much trouble. We snuggled down on the sofas in the bar in the evening with friends and enjoyed some excellent wine although we did think the bar area could do with more comfortable seating like more sofas and some mood lighting. We had a quick peep at the pool which was ideal for someone like me who isn't a very good swimmer as it wasn't too big or deep and had natural light. Didn't go for a dip as forgot the tankini!

Room Tip: We had a sea view double, room 104, which had a superking bed but there are larger rooms available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for your review.

It is really noticeable how much people are appreciating our large superior sea view rooms especially now that the sun has decided to re join us!

Thank you also for your comments reference my staff and I have noted your comments reference our bar area and will bear this in mind for the future - we do have some plans for those areas.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,618 - 1,624 of 2,139 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We both had big grins as soon as we walked into our room - excellent. Large and spacious with a four poster bed. Felt very spoilt
The hotel was great, the staff were friendly and helpful, the food was excellent. Can't think of a negative.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLL1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for your review.

Yes, our contemporary four posters are great and most people always smile when they stay in these great rooms.

Thank you for your comments reference my staff and our food and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I booked a short break at this hotel and had an excellent stay. Room 104 was perfect, a terrific seaview and lots of complementary extras like slippers and dressing gown.
Hotel is in a superb seafront location within easy walk of the town centre.

The only downside was the breakfast buffet, which, although a good selection, was typical of most buffets, was tepid and rather overlooked meats.

Staff throughout we're friendly and efficient and couldn't have been more helpful - and cheerful (nice to see smiling faces in an English hotel)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmb03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you liked your room which is one of our new Superior rooms, with those added luxuries.

Apologies reference the buffet temperature this I will look into as this certainly shouldn't be the case.

Thank you though, as usual, for your comments reference my staff.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have been coming to Eastbourne for many years, but have stayed at various other hotels. The York House hotel now goes on our short list of places to revisit. The staff, from reception, to bar, to restaurant, were friendly, welcoming, helpful and professional. The sea view room, 164, was very roomy, bright and clean. It was very warm on arrival as both wall heaters were on. When turned off and the large window opened, it was lovely. I am sure other people would like it warmer than us, so not a problem. It is worth upgrading to a sea view room. Although the room faces South the curtains block out any unwanted light. The mattresses are comfortable, with toppers, but are on the softer side, rather than the firm side. The breakfast is a buffet style, with plenty of choice and well cooked. It is also nice to have proper tablecloths and good cutlery. The staff are attentive and friendly without being a nuisance. Sarah and Andrew in particular stood out, a credit to the hotel. Dinner in the restaurant was also very good. The menu favours a British feel with a modern take. The food was well cooked, with good flavours and was good value. We are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chenahusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed the benefits of our sea view rooms and the great sunrises.

Thank you also for your comments reference my staff and specifically Andrew and Sarah as I know they all appreciate being recognised.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Hotel nice, staff are very welcoming/polite/helpful.

Breakfast was lovely, good choice to choose from.

Upgraded to sea view room 204, £50 for 2 nights, could have been slightly bigger, with More of a modern bathroom, but Never the less, overall it was still a lovely 2 night break.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demi131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your review.

Glad to see you had a good time with us this month.

Thank you also for your comments reference my staff and our breakfast.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed one night in a lovely room with a sea view which was quiet in spite of being on a busy road. Parking can be a problem but we appreciated the parking permit issued by the hotel. We also liked the proper mugs provided for our morning tea. TV channels limited and with variable reception. Disappointed that our morning paper had to be collected from Reception and not delivered to our door as other hotels do. Unfortunately no hot water in our room in the morning but our visit ended on a high with an excellent breakfast with very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cranside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your review.

i am glad you had a good time with us and liked our Breakfast.

The limited channels is being addressed on the 2nd March when the full Freeview channels with subtitles will be available.

I note you were here when we had the boiler breakdown on that one morning ( why does it always happen in the morning and not at lunchtime!) However it was rectified and back up and running by 11am the same day - we are not one of these hotels that run out of water even when we are at maximum capacity.

We do hold papers at Reception purely due to our narrow corridors - originally being 4 Victorian houses - our experience shows that when previously left in the corridor and the narrowness they got trampled on and or 'stolen'. Please feel free to ask us if you would like it brought up anyway at a certain time as I know my Reception team would only be more than happy to oblige.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We chose to stay at The York because of it's location, right on the seafront and minutes from the pier and town centre. It was our wedding anniversary and we just wanted to get away for the weekend in relative comfort and style. I am pleased to say that The York came up to our expectations in most respects. It was sufficiently modern in the reception and bar area and the room was well furnished and comfortable. I'd read in other reviews that the staff were not professional enough but our experience was pretty much the opposite. All were friendly and seemed happy in their work and actually had time to chat whilst carrying out their work. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and reasonably quality too. It seems that they took on board a previous comment about the low quality sausages. The room and hotel temperatures were pretty good and even though the front was being lashed by what seemed like force 10 gales and torrential rain we still kept warm and dry. A couple of niggles; the quilt was the same size as the bed (no overhang except for the cover!) probably due to the huge size of the bed and it was also surprising that the TV was still a clunky CRT taking up space on the desk and not a modern flat screen mounted on the wall. However all in all it was all we hoped for and we would definitely come back (when the weather finally calms down a bit!)

Room Tip: The £30 upgrade charge for a sea view room was definitely worth it. The angry sea was spectacular to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snearxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had an overall good time with us.

Not sure when you last looked at our reviews but the one recurring theme is that my staff are friendly and helpful.

You will also be pleased that the old CRT's are gone all rooms have LCD and LED's.

Yes we do listen to our reviewers, it is essential we do, and we changed our Breakfast buffet in January and happy to say no 'murmurs' since.

I am sure that when you do come back you will of course notice these changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
999 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#8 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
951 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#2 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £36 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing