We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A lovely weekend break”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on a deal which was excellent value. All the staff were very welcoming and helpful, the room was very clean with a large bathroom and massive comfortable bed. There was a great variety for breakfast and the evening meal was excellent. The pier is about 5 minutes walk from the hotel and the town a few minutes more. We really enjoyed our stay and will be looking to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S and U G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a good time with us recently on your 2 night break.

Thank you also for your comments reference my staff and our food.

We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,091
    668
    167
    48
    28
See reviews for
327
1,245
27
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (752)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hounslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed here with a friend in January and really liked it .. the staff were all really helpful and friendly and we were upgraded to a sea view room which we thought was lovely.
In February after my father unexpectedly passed away I had a break booked with my Mum. I called ahead to ask if we could upgrade to a seaview room - unfortunately they were all booked, but receptionist said they would see what they could do. When we arrived they gave us the most wonderful room - a superior room with a seaview - It was such a gift especially at this difficult time! Thank you so much for such a lovely room and for making us feel welcome once again. Will definitely book again!
(the only thing I would say is that the pool changing room area could do with some showers and the pool area looks a little tired - and the pool was the only "spa" facility and quite small though very welcome for relaxing)

Room Tip: do book a sea view room if at all possible - the view is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moominlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

If we can make you happy we will endeavour to do so - from the pictures I can see that you had one of our new superior family rooms which sleep 5 comfortably and I agree these are great rooms.

We do have plans in the future to add a full 'spa' facility - just trying to get my owner to delving into the 'wallet' - easier said than done though! (Now I'm in trouble again!)

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Our room was ready when we arrived and the staff were very friendly and efficient. Parking can be a bit of a nightmare but we knew what to expect and got by. We upgraded to a sea view on the first floor and when we opened the curtains in the morning we had a beautiful sunrise to greet us. We didn't mean to rise that early so got back into bed with a proper mug of tea and stared out to sea. The cheerfulness of the staff continued for the next two mornings at breakfast and nothing was too much trouble. We snuggled down on the sofas in the bar in the evening with friends and enjoyed some excellent wine although we did think the bar area could do with more comfortable seating like more sofas and some mood lighting. We had a quick peep at the pool which was ideal for someone like me who isn't a very good swimmer as it wasn't too big or deep and had natural light. Didn't go for a dip as forgot the tankini!

Room Tip: We had a sea view double, room 104, which had a superking bed but there are larger rooms available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

It is really noticeable how much people are appreciating our large superior sea view rooms especially now that the sun has decided to re join us!

Thank you also for your comments reference my staff and I have noted your comments reference our bar area and will bear this in mind for the future - we do have some plans for those areas.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We both had big grins as soon as we walked into our room - excellent. Large and spacious with a four poster bed. Felt very spoilt
The hotel was great, the staff were friendly and helpful, the food was excellent. Can't think of a negative.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLL1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

Yes, our contemporary four posters are great and most people always smile when they stay in these great rooms.

Thank you for your comments reference my staff and our food and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I booked a short break at this hotel and had an excellent stay. Room 104 was perfect, a terrific seaview and lots of complementary extras like slippers and dressing gown.
Hotel is in a superb seafront location within easy walk of the town centre.

The only downside was the breakfast buffet, which, although a good selection, was typical of most buffets, was tepid and rather overlooked meats.

Staff throughout we're friendly and efficient and couldn't have been more helpful - and cheerful (nice to see smiling faces in an English hotel)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmb03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you liked your room which is one of our new Superior rooms, with those added luxuries.

Apologies reference the buffet temperature this I will look into as this certainly shouldn't be the case.

Thank you though, as usual, for your comments reference my staff.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have been coming to Eastbourne for many years, but have stayed at various other hotels. The York House hotel now goes on our short list of places to revisit. The staff, from reception, to bar, to restaurant, were friendly, welcoming, helpful and professional. The sea view room, 164, was very roomy, bright and clean. It was very warm on arrival as both wall heaters were on. When turned off and the large window opened, it was lovely. I am sure other people would like it warmer than us, so not a problem. It is worth upgrading to a sea view room. Although the room faces South the curtains block out any unwanted light. The mattresses are comfortable, with toppers, but are on the softer side, rather than the firm side. The breakfast is a buffet style, with plenty of choice and well cooked. It is also nice to have proper tablecloths and good cutlery. The staff are attentive and friendly without being a nuisance. Sarah and Andrew in particular stood out, a credit to the hotel. Dinner in the restaurant was also very good. The menu favours a British feel with a modern take. The food was well cooked, with good flavours and was good value. We are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chenahusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed the benefits of our sea view rooms and the great sunrises.

Thank you also for your comments reference my staff and specifically Andrew and Sarah as I know they all appreciate being recognised.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Hotel nice, staff are very welcoming/polite/helpful.

Breakfast was lovely, good choice to choose from.

Upgraded to sea view room 204, £50 for 2 nights, could have been slightly bigger, with More of a modern bathroom, but Never the less, overall it was still a lovely 2 night break.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demi131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your review.

Glad to see you had a good time with us this month.

Thank you also for your comments reference my staff and our breakfast.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,549 reviews
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
2,961 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Property: Best Western York House Hotel
Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing