We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We booked a mini break at the York House Hotel for our silver wedding anniversary, and were instantly impressed with the friendliness and welcoming nature of the staff. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and during our evening meal on the first night of our stay, we were approached by a member of staff who came over to our table especially to wish us a happy anniversary. This was such a kind and thoughtful touch which we will never forget!! You can park up for the length of your stay as everything is within yards of the hotel, and heavily discounted parking is available from the hotel on a daily basis. You can basically come and go as you please and room service is no problem should you wish to use it. The staff give the impression that nothing is too much trouble, and we would without a doubt return if we find ourselves Eastbourne bound again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a great anniversary break with us.

Thank you for your comments reference my staff and we do genuinely try and make a difference given the opportunity.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,090
    668
    167
    48
    28
See reviews for
327
1,245
27
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (752)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights. The rooms were clean and comfortable, good location for restaurants and staff were very friendly. Small swimming pool which we used and breakfast was good with self service. Would visit again if the offer came up on Groupon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jancee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a good stay with us and always feel free to ask about other 'eateries' as we know where to avoid!

Thank you for your comments reference my staff.

Our next offer is direct on our website with even a discount for dinner as well if you pre book.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loubes-Bernac, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at the York House Hotel 11-13 April 2014 for a family wedding. We seem to have been allocated a huge room compared to other family members & the walk in shower was nice. Great to have tea & coffee facilities & loved the massive bed! Found a packaged contact lens & some dirty socks left behind by previous room occupants but clean during our stay was thorough.
Breakfast was good, with lots of choice, & staff very friendly & helpful. Very impressed with parking facility - incredible value to be able to park on the sea front for £1 a day.

Room Tip: We didn't bother with extra for sea view & room was very quiet. As referred to above size of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenatLoubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your review

I am glad you enjoyed one of our rear facing brand new 'standard' rooms.

Thank you for your comments reference my staff and breakfast and apologies for the 'find' but glad to see this was upto standard throughout your 2 nights with us.

Parking as you say is a bargain for £1 day on the seafront compared to other nearby seaside towns.

Hope to see you again if you are visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Clean, quiet and comfortable room, and very friendly and helpful staff. If the room had had a fridge, with fresh milk in it (tea with UHT = yuk), and better water pressure for the shower it would be even better. Breakfast coffee not bad at all (a test this) - although one of Sunday morning's croissants was stale. Overall v happy.

Room Tip: I was in 303 which has no direct sea view (you could see it if you leant out of the window) but was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolcetto23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

Glad to see overall you had a good time with us and thank you for your comments reference my staff.

We are actually just refurbishing 3 great rooms which will have their own kitchenettes in and a fridge so be sure to ask for one of these if you visit again. The first one should be on line in the next fortnight.

Shame you missed the sign on you tea tray saying 'call us if you prefer fresh milk' - we offer this as an alternative and wish you had of asked as we are always happy to oblige.

I have actually got a guest arriving tomorrow which has requested goats milk, which we don't stock but we are getting in especially.

Look forward to maybe seeing you again soon, always feel free to drop me a line.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Brilliant stay - if it wasn't for the lack of fridge in the rooms, this would definitely be a four star. Couldn't fault it, staff very helpful indeed - room very clean and spacious. Pool lovely. My little boy loved it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a 'fab' time with us and your son enjoyed our pool.

Fridges are a consideration for the future and thank you for mentioning this plus the thanks to my staff is always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We had a two night Amazon local break here. Was a lovely clean and friendly hotel. We had a good sea view and a lovely large bed. Dinner on first night was excellent., as was the ample breakfast. So much to choose from . There was workman laying the green lawn outside the front and they were fun and friendly too. I will certainly be looking out for any other offers on this lovely hotel. Was a well needed break from my demanding job teaching children with Autism

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are bigger. Also some rooms have walk in showers so worth requesting if better for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stitchylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a great time with us and I am glad you noticed our new 'lawn' going down at the front of the hotel.

I agree with you that the sea view rooms are better and worth the upgrade charge. We now have quite a few rooms with great double walk in showers so if you do require please always ask.

Our latest current offers are now published for the summer season and our new Dining voucher is just about to go online.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at York House with another couple and used Buyagift.com vouchers for 2 nights B&B. We booked pretty late and had to upgrade our rooms to 'Executive' in order to get the dates we wanted. This was not expensive and the rooms were nice and the beds really comfortable. The hotel will sell you a day parking permit for £1 which allows you to park outside on the seafront up until 11.00am the next day...a bargain! The real BIG plus about this hotel is the excellent staff and great food in the restaurant. Breakfast was included and there was a wide variety on offer but dinner (which we had on both nights) was really very very good. The food was only surpassed by the serving staff under the leadership of Nestor. Although some were Spanish and others Polish they had great language and customer service skills and happily put up with our attempts to converse with them in both of these languages...and occasionally in French ! They really made us feel special guests and we were most grateful as it made our stay really worthwhile. Many thanks!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyWatford_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you all had a pleasant break with us recently and that Nestor and his team on your days were good (Nestor is 2IC)

Thank you also for your comments reference our food and don't forget we do have a lot English staff around too but clearly they were off when you were here. I think the mix of nationalities we have here makes for a very good team as we all have our strengths and weaknesses which covers as many areas as possible.

We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,546 reviews
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
2,950 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#29 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Property: Best Western York House Hotel
Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing