We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Had a very enjoyable two night stay. Staff friendly & helpful, rooms & public areas clean , nicely furnished & comfortable. Breakfast was superb with a huge range to suit every taste & the Easter chocolate bunny for everyone on the table on Sunday was a lovely touch. We managed to park outside the hotel & the voucher from the reception allows 24 hour parking for a £1, bargain. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph_and_Jon_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,093)
There are newer reviews for Best Western York House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,460 - 1,466 of 2,093 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Should dogs be allowed in hotel rooms is a Marmite question, you'll say that's great or that's disgusting! York House allows dogs in rooms but the hotel's policy isn't obvious from the Best Western web site.

York House does a four star job in a three star hotel. Service is particularly and noticeably good. Front of house and dining staff are pleasant, polite and well trained. Special mention to Ewa for her considerate dinner service.

The hotel is perhaps not in the best part of Eastbourne but just 20m from the beach, sea view rooms have a very relaxing outlook. The £1/day parking rate from the local council via the hotel is a good idea, Brighton could learn lessons here!

I have marked down York a House on cleanliness for two reasons. The first is out of local management control. The franchise holders need to spend money upgrading the dated and a bit icky bathrooms. The second isn't, it isn't too hard to vacuum right up to the edge of the room. Get that better and a five star review would be justified.

We picked up a good two night deal from Amazon, worth looking out for. Bizarrely though we had to pay the sea view supplement on arrival, the reason lost in language with the receptionist.

And, by the way, we think dogs in hotel bedrooms is a bad idea.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth paying for.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazy_amersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your review.

As you say, I happen to like Marmite, but I appreciate your point. I would point out that on our website it is quite prominent on the home page we are pet friendly, but this afternoon I will make it even clearer via our STOP PRESS banner running across the home page, so people can clearly make their choice.

I personally believe that people with dogs, or cats or guinea pigs (yes we have had them too!) should be able to come away and we will even set a table for you in our Bar for dinner and breakfast so you can dine together.

On that point we will obviously have to agree to disagree.

Thank you for the rest of the review and in particular my staff and Ewa in particular and I note your points reference housekeeping.

As you noted you paid Amazon for your break but this is for a standard room and the sea view charge is collected upon arrival locally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Hotel was lovely and clean, All staff were very helpful.
Car parking was a nightmare. There is no allocated parking for the hotel and although the hotel gives out prepaid permits this does only cover a small area to which you can park.

The food was lovely all of the family ate very well.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms next to stairs the hotel cleaning staff can be noisy first thing in the morning
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your review.

Great to see you enjoyed my staff and our food - thank you for that.

As you will of noted parking for most of the direct sea front hotels is based on side roads and seafront parking which we do issue a permit for £1 until 11am the following day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Excellent room, meal ,and service.Well done York house we will be back!
The room was very clean . The meals were excellent and the staff could not have been more helpful. The parking voucher system was very easy to use.We will recommend this Hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your review.

Great to see you had a good time with us recently and thank you for your positives on my staff and our food.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

What a fantastic hotel, lovely room , great food, even had a chocolate easter bunny on the tables at breakfast on easter sunday very nice touch, very friendly and courteous staff a big THANK YOU to all the staff

Room Tip: Nice room 302 overlooking side streets and with a slight seaview
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your room as you were the very first occupant of it since its refurbishment.

Glad you liked the 'bunny' and thank you for your comments reference my staff and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I went with my partner on a two day break 14th-15th April. Very lucky with glorious weather. We were also lucky to have picked this hotel. I can only agree with the positive comments left by others. Very nice a and helpful staff, general housekeeping excellent. Lovely room. Not a sea view but a large comfortable room, massive TV, with a bath. If I ever return to Eastbourne this hotel would be my only consideration. Well done to all at the hotel.

Room Tip: Asked for a room with a bath instead of shower only. I believed this room might be bigger than a sho...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan_226_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our 'standard' rooms with bath as opposed to shower only.

In fact our new 'walk in' showers are the same size as a 'bath' room - before the shower there was a bath so you can imagine the shower size.

Thank you for your comments reference my staff and concurring with the common theme and we look forward to seeing you again if you visit Eastbourne again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had a 3 night stay, were welcomed warmly at reception and were very impressed with the high standard of the room. Comfy bed, hot baths/showers, large TV. In fact the T.V was the largest we have found in a modestly priced hotel. Breakfast selection was good but would have liked the option of more fruit and NON low-fat natural, unsweetened yoghurt. Low fat natural yoghurts are poor on taste quality, so this, for me was a big disappointment. We had one evening meal which was excellent. All staff were polite and helpful.
The biggest problem was parking space. We never managed a space outside the hotel, always had to walk some way. The hotel offers a £1 daily parking concession if you park outside but the space may not be available if you have to use the car during the day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marjorie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you were happy with your stay recently with us.

I note your point reference yoghurt - not something I have had requested before but always please remember that if you ask a Duty Manager they will do their utmost to go and get it for you, if we don't have it in stock.

My comments reference parking concur from a few reviews down.

Glad you liked our new additions of our LED TV's and you felt dinner was excellent.

Hopefully we will see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,258 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
963 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
938 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#2 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £49 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing