We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I was given a present of a two day stay at a hotel for my birthday. My husband and I chose the York House Hotel as we had not stayed in Eastbourne before and it was not too far away. When I booked the room I was offered a sea view but as it was an extra £50 it seemed a lot as the price of the holiday was only £99. I thought the room we booked would be good even without a sea view. Big mistake! the room was very small with a very small bed and an even smaller bathroom, it was clean but it spoilt the holiday as it was so claustrophobic for two people, it seemed like a single room. We slept badly as we heard people going past on the stairs it seemed all night and there was no air, very stuffy even with the window open.
I just feel it is unfair that just because you do not pay the extra you get a room that is unsatisfactory and disappointing to say the least you are punished for not paying for a sea view.
On a good note the staff were very welcoming and friendly and the breakfast very tasty it was just the room, there is obviously no choice unless you pay.

Room Tip: Pay for a seaview !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldilocks39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

Always sorry to see someone that has been disappointed. I note from your reservation though that we had no note of Birthday and no notes have been made for a request of room type - which is a shame because we would have done our utmost to assist if we had been communicated to.

All hotels, and we are no exception, have varying room sizes and types - if you see our reviews we will always try to upgrade wherever possible but as a guarantee the sea view rooms are worth the money.

If you do wish to travel over from Kent again drop me a direct line and I will sort out something special for you at the same rate.

My direct email is mark.cotman@yorkhousehotel.co.uk

Glad at least you found my staff and Breakfast good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,093
    668
    167
    48
    28
See reviews for
328
1,245
28
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (752)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Ok, I stayed here for a few nights to meet up with friends in the area. What a pleasant surprise!! The Hotel was lovely, room was gold and beige with great TV and sea view. The hotel boasts a beautiful swimming pool and gym . Bed, big and comfortable and the room was perfect to fall asleep to the sound of the sea! Breakfast was amazing with continental and full English on offer, award winning sausages and as much as you can eat! The restaurant was equally good with locally sourced meats , guinea fowl and venison also offered. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff are all welcoming and attentive! I will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

Glad to see you had a good time with us recently and thank you for your comments about my staff and our food.

Glad you enjoyed the pool.

Looking forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

my wife and i have had another wonderful stay in this hotel. service.staff and rooms as always
first class. we are coming again during the christmas period.the easter bunny made a pleasant surprise at breakfast.the manager(mark)ensures that your stay is enjoyable
reg/eileen purkiss

Room Tip: select seafacing rooms away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reginald p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

Great to see you both again and glad you liked your 'bunny'.

Looking forward to seeing you again for New Year if not before.

(PS My apologies for the reviewer directly below this one I hit the send button by mistake I didn't mean to be so basic (!) and thanks for the great comments)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Had a very enjoyable two night stay. Staff friendly & helpful, rooms & public areas clean , nicely furnished & comfortable. Breakfast was superb with a huge range to suit every taste & the Easter chocolate bunny for everyone on the table on Sunday was a lovely touch. We managed to park outside the hotel & the voucher from the reception allows 24 hour parking for a £1, bargain. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph_and_Jon_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham
Level Contributor
202 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Should dogs be allowed in hotel rooms is a Marmite question, you'll say that's great or that's disgusting! York House allows dogs in rooms but the hotel's policy isn't obvious from the Best Western web site.

York House does a four star job in a three star hotel. Service is particularly and noticeably good. Front of house and dining staff are pleasant, polite and well trained. Special mention to Ewa for her considerate dinner service.

The hotel is perhaps not in the best part of Eastbourne but just 20m from the beach, sea view rooms have a very relaxing outlook. The £1/day parking rate from the local council via the hotel is a good idea, Brighton could learn lessons here!

I have marked down York a House on cleanliness for two reasons. The first is out of local management control. The franchise holders need to spend money upgrading the dated and a bit icky bathrooms. The second isn't, it isn't too hard to vacuum right up to the edge of the room. Get that better and a five star review would be justified.

We picked up a good two night deal from Amazon, worth looking out for. Bizarrely though we had to pay the sea view supplement on arrival, the reason lost in language with the receptionist.

And, by the way, we think dogs in hotel bedrooms is a bad idea.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazy_amersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

As you say, I happen to like Marmite, but I appreciate your point. I would point out that on our website it is quite prominent on the home page we are pet friendly, but this afternoon I will make it even clearer via our STOP PRESS banner running across the home page, so people can clearly make their choice.

I personally believe that people with dogs, or cats or guinea pigs (yes we have had them too!) should be able to come away and we will even set a table for you in our Bar for dinner and breakfast so you can dine together.

On that point we will obviously have to agree to disagree.

Thank you for the rest of the review and in particular my staff and Ewa in particular and I note your points reference housekeeping.

As you noted you paid Amazon for your break but this is for a standard room and the sea view charge is collected upon arrival locally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Hotel was lovely and clean, All staff were very helpful.
Car parking was a nightmare. There is no allocated parking for the hotel and although the hotel gives out prepaid permits this does only cover a small area to which you can park.

The food was lovely all of the family ate very well.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms next to stairs the hotel cleaning staff can be noisy first thing in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

Great to see you enjoyed my staff and our food - thank you for that.

As you will of noted parking for most of the direct sea front hotels is based on side roads and seafront parking which we do issue a permit for £1 until 11am the following day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Excellent room, meal ,and service.Well done York house we will be back!
The room was very clean . The meals were excellent and the staff could not have been more helpful. The parking voucher system was very easy to use.We will recommend this Hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

Great to see you had a good time with us recently and thank you for your positives on my staff and our food.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,549 reviews
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
2,960 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Property: Best Western York House Hotel
Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing