We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just spent 2 nights at the York house hotel which I only booked a couple of days before through groupon. The location on the sea front is excellent just a few minutes walk from the pier and town.
The receptionist was very friendly and helpfull we upgraded to a sea view for £15 per night (groupon) well worth the extra. The room was very spacious and well decorated with a sofa which was nice to sit and watch the view of the sea front. The on- suit was also spacious and well fitted.
The restaurant was very nice and staff very friendly especially the restaurant manager. We had our evening meal both nights in the restaurant as the food was very good and a reasonable price. (Note for the chef) I will say that my meal on both nights had to much gravy on the plate it would have been better if the gravy came in a small jug so that I could then use what I wanted this would also be a better presentation. The bar area is very good with a good selection of beers. The entertainment on our second night was excellent with Adam playing guitar and his excellent vocals. We did try to use the pool but there were swimming lessons taking place no problem though. The pool looked really nice.
My wife and myself really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend the York House hotel this was our first time in a best western hotel hopefully the first of many.

Room Tip: We stayed in 254
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISCA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

Glad you enjoyed your sea view room and thought it worth the upgrade charge. Sounds like you had one of our large family rooms with sofas.

I note your point reference 'gravy' and I know the Chef is an avid reader of reviews here so I am sure he will take your point on board.

Thank you for your comments reference my staff and our food overall, much appreciated.

Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,115
    691
    172
    51
    29
See reviews for
341
1,282
29
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Using an Amazon Local offer we stayed for one night on Bank Holiday Sunday and enjoyed our time in the hotel. We were impressed with the welcome for our dog, a nice comfy bed, towel, treats and a water bowl. We were happy with our upgrade to Executive room which was spacious. The only negative was that the radiator did not work, although we were able to use the electric wall heater in it's place. We had a restaurant meal served in the bar which was very good and breakfast was excellent. We found the staff very efficient and helpful and particularly the lady in the bar who was very helpful when a spillage occurred!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougalSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad to see that yourselves and your 4 legged friend were happy with the stay overall.

Apologies reference the radiator - this sounds like one of my brand new rooms and I only found out at the end of last week that the plumber hasn't connected the radiator up yet! This has now been done. Why you would put a radiator in and not connect it is beyond me but..........

Thank you for your comments reference my staff and in particular Teresa.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed Friday and Saturday night and booked a seaview room (a must) and on arrival was told we had been upgraded to a stunning room. Jaccuzi bath, four poster bed, robes, fresh fruit and no extra charge! Had meal in the restaurant Fri eve which was superb and both
waiting and bar staff so attentive. Breakfast was fresh and good quality. Whole experience was perfect. A beautiful hotel in lovely location with friendly, helpful staff for which nothing was to much trouble. Will def stay again and highly recommend. Thank you York hotel for making our anniversary so enjoyable.





S







Stayed friday and saturday and booked a seaview room. On arrival was upgraded to the most stunning room. Jacuzzi bath robes, fresh fruit, four poster bed at no extra charge! Had a meal in the restaurant Friday eve which was beautiful and staff so attentive. Breakfast fresh and of great quality. Whole experience was perfect. Lovely hotel in great location with excellent staff for which nothing was to much trouble. Will def stay again and recommend.
.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Annette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

Great to see we looked after you so well on our anniversary and it just goes to show that let us know it is a special occasion and we will endeavour to do our best to try and upgrade you.

Thank you for your comments about my staff and our food also glad you enjoyed one of our contemporary 4 posters.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Had a lovely stay at the York House Hotel and would highly recommend, great location a stones throw from the beach and a short stroll to eastbournes lovely traditional pier where we enjoyed a couple of drinks whilst basking in the sun.
The staff at the hotel were friendly and couldn't do enough for you, we enjoyed a lovely meal in the hotels restaurant and the food was more than adequate and the staff were very attentive.
Staff on reception were also extremely helpful and happy to answer any questions we had, will definitely be returning at some point in the near future.
Thanks to all of you at York House Hotel for making our stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevearmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad to see that you had a good time with us and left feeling 'recharged'.

Thank you also for your comments reference my staff especially Reception.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I absolutely Love the location of this Hotel and Hotel itself, love the views and Victorian Rooms, love staff, that are so amazing every time we stay.We live in Central London and I just like to run from madness of the city every now and then for inspiration and soul searching.And that's where I go.Every time.Sometimes even for just one night.We always come for special occasion too or family reunions.And we always bring our little doggy too.Bed and treats are always ready for her:)We coming back very soon again.I'm thinking spending few weeks in summer while doing some writing.I cant wait.x

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayaAugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your re visit to us again and your dog enjoyed the new treats we provide as well.

The photo of the pier is a great shot too.

Thanks for the comments reference my staff who are consistently good.

Look forward to seeing you again when you need to escape the 'madness'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A wonderful weekend stay at this hotel, all the staff were very friendly and helpful, very clean and comfortable, the restaurant was really good value very impressed with the food and service. The swimming pool was lovely and warm, will definitely go again.

Room Tip: Easy to get parking vouchers at reception only £1.00 from 11am to 11am, no problems parking even on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a good weekend with us and thank you for your comments reference my staff and our food.

Parking is good value when comparing to other major seaside towns.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed at this Hotel a couple of weeks ago for three nights on a special deal, was well worth the money, all the staff were polite & very helpful.
We had a very nice room at the front with lovely views of the sea & prom.
Parking was easy right opposite the Hotel & we had a special rate from Hotel at £1 for 24 hours.
we had dinner in Hotel on the first night which was superb but am afraid we ate too much as it was so nice.
Would certainly go back to this Hotel again.

Room Tip: choose a room at the front if at all possible, although we did not see any other rooms to compare wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvje11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a good stay with us recently and appreciated our sea view rooms.

Thank you for your comments reference my staff and our food, always much appreciated.

Glad to see you would stay with us again and we look forward to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,161 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,585 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
911 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Property: Best Western York House Hotel
Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing