We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel near the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel near the sea”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A comfortable hotel that was closely situated to the sea. Pleasant staff and very good buffet breakfast. We had a Groupon deal but paid extra for a sea view although there wasn't much to see apart from the sea - no ships etc!. For me the evening meal was disappointing but I suspect that was due to the dining room being very busy or the chef doesn't know how to cook pork belly. My wife had steak pie which was better. We had a better meal in the Veranda bar the following evening, which was very quite but had a very pleasant barman who reappeared at breakfast the next day!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnH887125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your seaview room albeit we will have to organise some ships next time you visit - not beyond the realms of possibilities with a bit of notice.

Thank you also for your comments reference our Breakfast and my staff and specifically the Barman, Andrew, who is a multi tasker.

Sorry you didn't like your dinner in the Restaurant particularly but good to see your bar meal the next day was more acceptable.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,080
    663
    165
    48
    28
See reviews for
323
1,232
27
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel is in a nice location on the seafront and only a short walk into town.We had a standard room which was small but adequate.The breakfast was buffet style and of average quality but lacking a good variety of seasonal fresh fruit.The staff were all friendly especially Eva who ran the restaurant.My main reason I marked this hotel down was that the fire alarm went of at 5 am and quite a few guests vacated their rooms and gathered in reception until the staff member on duty announced that 'all seemed fine' and we could return to our rooms.The alarm at this time was still ringing on the monitor in reception so it was with some apprehension that we all returned to our rooms.Also no apology or explanation was offered the next morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sanfoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

Glad to see you had overall a pleasant stay with us - with the exception of the fire alarm which I am sure you can appreciate was not intentional. This was deemed as a 'common fault' so in other words a technical hitch hence why you would have heard the panel in reception still bleeping.

My staff were instructed to deal with sympathetically and I'm sorry if this was not the case.

Thank you though for your comments reference Ewa and the staff in general. Not sure about the fruit as we do have freshly prepared fruit platters on the buffet for breakfast and they were certainly there that morning as I saw them at 7am when I came in - perhaps they were being refreshed whilst you were at the buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We bought a Buy a Gift voucher for a 2 night stay here and were really surprised. We ended up with a superior room with a sea view! What a bargain! The room itself was good, bed was huge. Everything was clean aside from the blanket inside the wardrobe!

The hotel staff were very friendly and the breakfast wasn't that bad. I would recommend getting to breakfast early though, otherwise you'll miss out!

Excellent location too... and the parking is great! You pay £1 a day for a parking permit to park directly outside the hotel - if you can find a parking space of course.

Room Tip: Seaview room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teacakeblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

Glad to see you were upgraded with us and you appreciated the sea views and size of the room.

Good to see with your other reviews from around town that you had a varied visit, couple of the places I don't know as they are new so always good to read.

We hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Good size room very clean as was the whole hotel, comfortable king size bed Would have liked to be offered an upgrade to a sea view as we didn't think to ask . Staff all very polite and helpful. Noisy In room 151 at night sounded like boiler going on and off. Excellent food, breakfast light or full English using local produce. Booked evening meal when we saw menu and again on the second night . Pleasant sitting in bar or on the terrace looking out to sea .

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clivea-949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad overall you had a pleasant stay with us and thank you for your comments reference our food and my staff.

As you mentioned room 151 is one of our new fully refurbished standard rooms and as you will note from my previous comments we will always upgrade if possible however on the 2 nights of your stay we had none available to do so.

Please feel free to drop me a line next time round if you visit us again and I will see what I can do.

mark.cotman@yorkhousehotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Thank you to the manager for arranging the stay for us. A lovely hotel with great staff. Unfortunately we were given a smoking room, so make sure you state your preference as it did smell of smoke. All in all a good place to stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeandCarol14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

Good to see you again on the return for your first anniversary.

The smoking issue is a bit of a mystery, so I will have to investigate, as we are 100% non smoking. However you do get the occasional guest that chooses to ignore that fact, so my apologies if Housekeeping had not refreshed the room adequately.

Drop me a line if and when you do return for that special offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Best Western York House. The hotel is in a fabulous position directly opposite the beach and it was a lovely perk to be upgraded to a room with a sea view.
The reception staff were very polite and helpful and always had a smile. The same was true of all the staff in the dining room. Nothing was too much trouble.
The breakfast was wonderful - so much choice!
We didn't make use of the pool and spa as the weather was really good. We enjoyed walks along the length of the promenade and along the cliff tops.
We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: I am sure the standard of all rooms is excellent but the rooms with a sea view make the stay even mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the upgrade to one of our seaviews. if we have them available we always will upgrade - there is no point not letting customers enjoy our best rooms.

Thank you for your comments reference my staff and our Breakfast and we look forward to seeing you again on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
axminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

a joy to stay in situated right on the seafront with an excellent vharanda to watch the world go by. It has a very good restaurant with a good choice menu at affordable prices, and a good parking policy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and also enjoyed our open air verandah - we are the only large hotel left with one - and you are quite right it is the perfect spot to watch the world go by.

Thank you for your comments also about our Restaurant.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,866 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Property: Best Western York House Hotel
Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing