We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Hotel and Staff are very nice. We have a beautiful sunny seaview room with a view to the Pier. The room and bathroom were very clean. The staff are very very nice and friendly and even the Breakfast was good. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leahhargreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your seaview room and your view of the pier.

We do try to put on a good breakfast and overall most people appreciate the quality ingredients we use.

We hopefully will see you on a return visit at some point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,080
    662
    164
    48
    28
See reviews for
323
1,230
27
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

What a refreshing difference two members of staff in particular Edward and the restaurant manager were exceptionally helpful with all requests the room was beautiful, apple juice a lovely extra. A lovely stay we will return thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a pleasant stay with us.

Thank you for your comments reference my staff and in particular 'Andrew & Ewa'

Glad to see you also liked our organically sourced Apple Juice and we look forward to seeing you on our return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my 7 year old daughter stayed for 2 nights during Half Term, The hotel staff were very friendly and did all they could to accomodate my daughters fussy eating habits! The pool area and bathroom could have been cleaner however it was perfectly acceptable! The fact that they accept dogs make it a dead cert that we will return at some stage!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mkimmings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad to see that yourself and your daughter had a good time with us and that we also catered for your 4 legged friend adequately.

Thank you for your comments reference my staff and I note your comment reference the pool area which I will check into.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

From the initial booking by 'phone, checking in, the 2 nights stay at the hotel and then checking out we found all the staff we had dealings with to be good natured and pleasant. The staff were most helpful, the room was well appointed and the breakfasts were first class. We would definitely stay at York House again.

Room Tip: We are both in our 70s and although we were on the 3rd floor we were in the nearest room (322) to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed one of our 'standard' rooms.

Thank you for your comments reference my staff and our breakfasts and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay , amazing room lovely toiletries and Jacuzzi bath in modern en suite bathroom,helpful and professional staff, good choice of wines etc, tasty English and continental breakfast with home made jams ,must have sea view room
will return very soon

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EBK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed one of our contemporary 4 poster seaview rooms and all its trappings.

Thank you for your comments reference our breakfasts and my staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northiam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

It is not always easy finding a hotel that is dog friendly so we were delighted to find the York House Hotel suited all our needs. Our huge family room overlooking the sea had a seating area, spacious bathroom and our dog had his own bed, towel and bowl ready waiting for him!
The Hotel is in a perfect location for the seafront and town centre. We stayed for 3 nights and didn't use the car once! The Hotel has an excellent voucher parking system for £1 a day which is superb value.
The Hotel is clean and tidy both inside and out. The staff were very attentive and welcoming and always willing to help with information. The lady in charge of the Dining Room kindly took it upon herself to arrange a breakfast table for us in the Bar Area so our dog could be with us at all times.
The breakfast was good with plenty of choice for fussy children. Perfectly grilled tomatoes and good quality sausages and bacon. My only complaint would be the eggs which suffered due to the buffet style - and became a little rubbery. We did not eat in the Restaurant in the evening but the Menu looked varied with a daily fixed price option or Al a Carte.
The indoor heated swimming pool was a real bonus, it was very warm and clean and not busy at all so we all enjoyed a relaxing swim every day.
We all slept well, beautiful blackout curtains did a good job of keeping out the light, road noise was minimal. As is often the case in hotels the room was very warm, but the sash windows could be opened for some fresh air and it was lovely to hear the sea. Unfortunately we were disturbed by loud music from a function on our last evening, but this was swiftly and efficiently dealt with by the Manager.
Overall we would heartily recommend this hotel and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad overall that you enjoyed your stay with us in your seaview family room.

Thank you for your comments reference my staff and our breakfast, it is difficult with the egg selection sometimes as you say.

Nice to see we also catered for your 4 legged friend which we always try to do.

I note your point reference the function and as you have already pointed out this has been dealt with.

We look forward to seeing you again on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a great short break of 3 nights bed and breakfast here. The room was very good, the service was on the whole excellent and the breakfasts were very good, with great fresh fruit and good English breakfast ingredients. There was a bit of a problem with the only evening meal we had there, but the staff were so helpful that we couldn't hold that against them. We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad to see that you had a great short break with us and thank you for your comments reference my staff and regarding Breakfast.

I'm sorry you had an issue with dinner but glad to see my staff resolved it for you.

We look forward to seeing you again when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#27 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Property: Best Western York House Hotel
Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing