We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really nice weekend away”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I spent some time looking for a hotel that could cater for my family and our four legged friend and settled on the York House Hotel after reading reviews on trip advisor.
How pleased were we to find this fantastic hotel. We had a family room overlooking the sea which had a double bed, single bed and double sofa bed. The bathroom had a large shower but no bath. The sea view was excellent and we had a first class view of the carnival too.
The staff were all really friendly and you felt nothing was too much trouble. Because of our four legged friend we had breakfast and dinner in the bar area (which I preferred to be honest). The hotel was busy but you never felt that this was the case because of the efficiency of the staff.
We used the pool (fairly small but nice) and pretty much everything but the main resturant (for reasons explained). Our four legged friend had the run of the place except the resturant and pool.
Would I recommend this hotel Yes
Would I recommend Eastbourne Yes
Would I recommend Best Western Yes

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad yourselves and your 4 legged friend had a good time with us recently and we do our best to cater for this. I actually had a guest say last week that all Best Western's should ban dogs, which is a bit harsh! We specifically state on our website we are pet friendly and as they say you make your choice.

Thank you also for your comments reference my staff and I am glad you also appreciated the separate dining we can arrange so that you can all be together.

We hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,099
    680
    170
    51
    28
See reviews for
334
1,261
28
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (756)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the York House Hotel during this past half term week, for 2 nights. The family room ( 2 adults, 2 children) was on the second floor overlooking the sea. It was clean and pleasant with complimentary caramel waffles and apple juices.

Overall, we had a wonderful 2 days. All the staff were friendly, with the receptionists particularly charming and helpful.

Breakfast offered a great variety to suit all tastes with some of it locally sourced as well.

We were offered as many towels as needed. Whenever we went for a swim in their pool (small pool but complimentary so a great bonus) we were able to pick up fresh towels from reception.

Definitely 5 star with one reservation - there must always be one - after all we're human! The double bed was quite soft. This is fine if you enjoy sharing the middle of the bed with your partner all night long. It's a long climb to reach the side, so you must allow an extra half an hour to get out of bed in the morning :-) Joking aside, a great hotel; well worth while, and Eastbourne - a real treat to explore.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing view if you are a sea lover and 2nd or 3rd floor if you want a quiet room for l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad to see that you and your family had a good time with us and that you were allocated a superior family room, I can tell because of the caramel waffles, which were a secret but too late now.......

I will look at the bed situation which shouldn't be the case but as you say look on the bright side at least you got extra time in bed.

Thank you for your comments reference my staff and our breakfasts and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I was looking for something really special as a lovely treat for my wonderful husband, who after five long painfilled years is still recovering after a serious car accident. The booking could not have been more straight forward using an Amazon Local deal for three nights with breakfast included.The manager & all the staff were extreamly courteous & helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was superb, well maintained clean & comfortable. The breakfast was amazing offering a lovely selection of both traditional & continental, to suit all tastes. We were extreamly satisfied with the whole experience, particularly the comfort & accessability which are an essential for us. We certainly hope to return in the future, many thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

Good to see that yourself and your husband enjoyed your stay with and glad of course that we could be of help.

Thanks also for your comments reference my staff and in relation to rooms and breakfast.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Best Western-just the name made me expect a quality stay, but it unfortunately some basic matters where missing: clean lobby, clean beds, clean tea pots. The lobby was very dusty with bits a the corners. In the room, the carpet was not properly hoovered...the bed was very small and hard; and had a blood stain. I saw it too late to be able to make any discussions-we had already paid.
The breakfast was horrible. The scambled eggs were a watery mess. Staff was arrogant. The waiter kept touching the inside of the cups when putting them on the table.So he must have touched mine-I could not drink my tea anymore...Sorry, cannot find anything good about this stay....very disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minna24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

Wow that flies in the face of all my other reviews, sounds like this was a disaster and never ever had any of my staff called arrogant.

I am surprised that you never mentioned anything to my Reception team.

I would ask that you contact me on my direct email so that we can examine what went on here:

mark.cotman@yorkhousehotel.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay at your hotel for three nights. We were pleasantly surprised to be told on arrival that we had been given an upgrade of a sea view room which was much appreciated. The staff attention to detail and pleasant manner- without exception- made our stay very enjoyable. My wife also enjoyed a swim in your pool on two occasions which was a bonus. The breakfasts were excellent with attention to detail by the staff on duty very special in this day and age. We have no hesitation in highly recommending your hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

Glad we had the opportunity to upgrade you on your 'special' occasion and that this was appreciated.

Thank you for your comments reference my staff and our breakfasts and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed for two nights over half term as we had a special deal offer. We upgraded last minute to a sea view room, the last they had was on the top floor so the room was smaller than I presume the others may have been but still very well appointed. There was no traffic noise or other disturbances even from the wedding party happening in the hotel.

The location couldn't be more convenient right by the beach and even parking represented no challenges.

The staff were all charming and attentive, the warm indoor pool was a pleasant bonus with plenty of clean towels available.

We ate in the Verandah restaurant on our last evening and were looked after concientiously by Ewa the restaurant manager and the fixed price menu was delicious, of a very high standard and very good value.

Overall, we were delighted with our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel and return for another trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you appreciated the benefits of our seaview rooms and liked our small but warm indoor pool.

Thank you for your comments reference my staff and in particular Ewa and of course your mention of our 'daily' dinner menu.

We look forward to seeing you again when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Hotel and Staff are very nice. We have a beautiful sunny seaview room with a view to the Pier. The room and bathroom were very clean. The staff are very very nice and friendly and even the Breakfast was good. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leahhargreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your seaview room and your view of the pier.

We do try to put on a good breakfast and overall most people appreciate the quality ingredients we use.

We hopefully will see you on a return visit at some point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,042 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,567 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#11 of 40 in Eastbourne
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#32 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
889 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Property: Best Western York House Hotel
Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#2 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing