We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Far exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

WOW! Free upgrade to large sea-view room. Lovely bed, lovely view, lovely shower-room and lots of added extras, which made our two-night stay just wonderful. We were able to swim in the lovely warm pool before deciding just what to choose for breakfast - such choices! We even had a window seat one morning. The staff were just brilliant, so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Comfortable armchairs in reception and bar areas, and the chairs, tables and benches outside were another added bonus.

Room Tip: Our corner room, 104, could not have been better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a good stay with us and appreciated the upgrade to a seaview room - room 104 is a great room.

Thank you also for your comments reference our breakfast and my staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    650
    160
    48
    27
See reviews for
319
1,211
26
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night break at the York House Hotel. The Hotel is in a very good location facing the sea within short walking distance from the pier and shops.
Our room number 392 was at the back of the hotel and it was quite small but very adequate for our short stay. I believe the room had recently been renovated and the furnishings were very tasteful. The bathroom also had been renovated and it was sparkling clean.
It was very quiet apart from the seagulls early morning but then we were at the seaside so it is expected..
The staff were very friendly and efficient. We would definately like to stay again.

Room Tip: possibly it might be better to pay a little more and have a front facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad to see that you had a good 2 nighter with us in one of our standard rooms and you still felt it was adequate value for money.

Our seaview rooms are definitely worth the upgrade cost for a guaranteed seaview and larger room.

Thank you also for mentioning my staff and we look forward to seeing you again on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed overnight at the York House, on a travelzoo promotion. Very good value for money, in a lovely room, overlooking the sea. Comfortable super kingsize bed in a large room with en suite shower room. Nice to wake up to the sounds of the sea crashing on the shingle beach. Good breakfast with lots of choice. Friendly staff, only too willing to be of exceptional service. Would heartily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: You will pay more. But a sea view is very nice, and the noise from the road is not too bad, especial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad to see that you felt it still 'value' to upgrade to one of our great seaview rooms and overall you had a good stay with us.

Thank you for mentioning our Breakfast and particularly my staff.

We look forward to seeing you again on your second visit to Eastbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Malden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Spent a 2 night Amazon stay at this hotel. Upgraded to a twin executive room for extra £25 & well worth it as both bathroom & bedroom bigger than average size. Excellent quality & selection for breakfast. Comfortable beds and hotel in an ideal location on the sea front not too far from pier & main shops
1 small gripe: we were not told that the swimming pool was closed for children's swimming lessons on the Wednesday afternoon. As there is CCTV for the swimming pool at reception & signs advising for swimming only, it is disappointing that these rules are not adhered to by other residents & a member of staff does not come to the pool area to request people refrain from mucking around. Most residents just wanted to to have a relaxing swim.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay & the staff were very friendly & helpful.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad to see that you had a pleasant stay with us and appreciated the upgraded cost to a larger executive room.

Thank you also for your comments reference my staff and our Breakfasts.

I am sorry that you didn't notice the clear mention on our website that on average we do hold swimming lessons for an hour a day which is also on the electronic noticeboard in Reception. This however should have been mentioned also by my front office team on check in and I will re enforce this so thank you for bringing to my attention.

Hopefully we will see you again soon when you decide to 'escape' the big city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at the York hotel for two nights and had a great deal from Amazon. The hotel was situated right on the seafront as advertised and quite close to the pier and town all within walking distance. Out side the front of the hotel was a lovely seating area overlooking gorgeous views of the beach and sea. The welcome we received inside was warming and nothing was too much trouble by the reception staff. We stayed in room number three which was a disabled room very spacious comfortable with a very large bathroom with a wet room. The only problem I found in the bathroom was there was no seat or stool and this was probably because being a wet room and the user would normally be showering in a wheelchair, however, not all disabled people are wheelchair bound and a stool or seat would have been very helpful. I also found there were no non-slip tiles in the bathroom which meant I had to tread very carefully. The only problem we found in the bedroom was that the window was a an old sash window and there was no way of keeping it open and so we needed to use something to wedge it open. There was plenty of seating in the bar area and also in the front reception hall and all staff whether reception, bar or restaurant were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast in the morning was a buffet style and there was a huge choice of food, all cooked to a lovely standard. The staff were constantly asking if we wanted more tea or coffee which I found rather than unusual in a Best Western. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and we most certainly would stay in this hotel if we return to Eastbourne

Room Tip: Room number three was a disabled room. no sea view but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

Thank you for mentioning my staff and our breakfasts.

I will check out the window in room 3 myself tomorrow as this should not be the case and thanks for bringing to my attention.

We do have shower 'chairs' available on request for our 2 disabled access rooms - please feel free to request them.

When you do come back to Eastbourne please feel free to drop me a line.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Had a very small room but did book at 10pm!! Very clean and staff were friendly, only thing was it was a hot evening and no fan or air con in room! This is a must in summer months and should go without saying in a hotel in this banding. All in all I can't complain but would maybe ask for a room with a bath

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gofylloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

The answer to your question reference air conditioning is on the review below this one. Fans as detailed in our Guest Directory are available but perhaps due to the lateness of your arrival you may not have noticed this.

We do of course have plenty of rooms with bath but we also cater heavily for the inbound European market as well and they prefer showers of which we have a lot too - I guess it is down to personal preference but please always request and if we can we will.

Nice to see and thank you for mentioning that you noticed my staff were friendly and we were clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Spent two nights at this hotel June 8/9 2014. Room was very big with twin beds as I was with my sister. Had sea view which was nice. Bathroom was adequate. We got this trip as an offer through Amazon so was a little disappointed that the hotel wasn't as advertised on it's website. It looked very luxurious and well furnished, but on arrival the front entrance didn't give a good impression. It was rather shabby and needed updating as did the rest of the hotel as we went along. Although our room was clean it was again rather shabby. Sleep was not too good as there was no air conditioning and we could have had a fan which would have kept us awake. (The breakfast was excellent, great choice, full English, cereal, yoghurt, fresh juice and much more. Given the price we paid we couldn't grumble too much but had we paid full price We would have complained. The staff at all times were very helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are best but some noise from the road. We were on the 2nd floor so no noise from abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milouEnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

This sort of review is somewhat confusing, however let's stick to the positives and thank you for your comments reference my staff and our breakfasts.

I note your comments reference air conditioning however due to the location of our hotel EB Council do not allow the projection of the outer workings along the whole seafront as we are in a conservation area and hence why you find no such things as amusement arcades etc on our seafront. Air conditioning is effectively an electric fan so I don't quite get your comparison to an electric fan.

I am intrigued reference your '1' for location - if you want a beachfront hotel in Eastbourne then you can get no closer to the beach than us - equal yes but no closer.

I guess we won't see you again but if you do fancy another trip to a 'shabby' hotel then feel free to drop me a line and let's see if we can change your mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,794 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#9 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#26 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Property: Best Western York House Hotel
Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing