We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at York house hotel eastbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at hotel on Friday 12th July for one night. Upon arrival we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff.we had a wowcher voucher for standard room but we're upgraded to sea view room and also received a complimentary box of chocolates as it was a birthday gift which was very nice.room was clean and very comfortable and breakfast was very good plenty of choices. Would definitely return

Room Tip: The sea view room was supberb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rcooper404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a pleasant 1 nighter with us and as we were informed it was a special occasion I am glad that we were able to upgrade you and give you some extra calories!

Thank you for the mention of my staff and our breakfast and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,440 - 1,446 of 2,181 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the York House hotel. Excellent room with a sea view and very helpful courteous staff, with a special thank you to Roxanne for her help. Very good breakfast, lovely walks along the promenade and pier and ashore walk to town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michael r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a good stay with and thank you also for the specific mention of my staff and our breakfasts and even more-so Roxanne.

We hope to be able to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

WOW! Free upgrade to large sea-view room. Lovely bed, lovely view, lovely shower-room and lots of added extras, which made our two-night stay just wonderful. We were able to swim in the lovely warm pool before deciding just what to choose for breakfast - such choices! We even had a window seat one morning. The staff were just brilliant, so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Comfortable armchairs in reception and bar areas, and the chairs, tables and benches outside were another added bonus.

Room Tip: Our corner room, 104, could not have been better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yvonne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a good stay with us and appreciated the upgrade to a seaview room - room 104 is a great room.

Thank you also for your comments reference our breakfast and my staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night break at the York House Hotel. The Hotel is in a very good location facing the sea within short walking distance from the pier and shops.
Our room number 392 was at the back of the hotel and it was quite small but very adequate for our short stay. I believe the room had recently been renovated and the furnishings were very tasteful. The bathroom also had been renovated and it was sparkling clean.
It was very quiet apart from the seagulls early morning but then we were at the seaside so it is expected..
The staff were very friendly and efficient. We would definately like to stay again.

Room Tip: possibly it might be better to pay a little more and have a front facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Audrey891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad to see that you had a good 2 nighter with us in one of our standard rooms and you still felt it was adequate value for money.

Our seaview rooms are definitely worth the upgrade cost for a guaranteed seaview and larger room.

Thank you also for mentioning my staff and we look forward to seeing you again on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed overnight at the York House, on a travelzoo promotion. Very good value for money, in a lovely room, overlooking the sea. Comfortable super kingsize bed in a large room with en suite shower room. Nice to wake up to the sounds of the sea crashing on the shingle beach. Good breakfast with lots of choice. Friendly staff, only too willing to be of exceptional service. Would heartily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: You will pay more. But a sea view is very nice, and the noise from the road is not too bad, especial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad to see that you felt it still 'value' to upgrade to one of our great seaview rooms and overall you had a good stay with us.

Thank you for mentioning our Breakfast and particularly my staff.

We look forward to seeing you again on your second visit to Eastbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Spent a 2 night Amazon stay at this hotel. Upgraded to a twin executive room for extra £25 & well worth it as both bathroom & bedroom bigger than average size. Excellent quality & selection for breakfast. Comfortable beds and hotel in an ideal location on the sea front not too far from pier & main shops
1 small gripe: we were not told that the swimming pool was closed for children's swimming lessons on the Wednesday afternoon. As there is CCTV for the swimming pool at reception & signs advising for swimming only, it is disappointing that these rules are not adhered to by other residents & a member of staff does not come to the pool area to request people refrain from mucking around. Most residents just wanted to to have a relaxing swim.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay & the staff were very friendly & helpful.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad to see that you had a pleasant stay with us and appreciated the upgraded cost to a larger executive room.

Thank you also for your comments reference my staff and our Breakfasts.

I am sorry that you didn't notice the clear mention on our website that on average we do hold swimming lessons for an hour a day which is also on the electronic noticeboard in Reception. This however should have been mentioned also by my front office team on check in and I will re enforce this so thank you for bringing to my attention.

Hopefully we will see you again soon when you decide to 'escape' the big city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at the York hotel for two nights and had a great deal from Amazon. The hotel was situated right on the seafront as advertised and quite close to the pier and town all within walking distance. Out side the front of the hotel was a lovely seating area overlooking gorgeous views of the beach and sea. The welcome we received inside was warming and nothing was too much trouble by the reception staff. We stayed in room number three which was a disabled room very spacious comfortable with a very large bathroom with a wet room. The only problem I found in the bathroom was there was no seat or stool and this was probably because being a wet room and the user would normally be showering in a wheelchair, however, not all disabled people are wheelchair bound and a stool or seat would have been very helpful. I also found there were no non-slip tiles in the bathroom which meant I had to tread very carefully. The only problem we found in the bedroom was that the window was a an old sash window and there was no way of keeping it open and so we needed to use something to wedge it open. There was plenty of seating in the bar area and also in the front reception hall and all staff whether reception, bar or restaurant were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast in the morning was a buffet style and there was a huge choice of food, all cooked to a lovely standard. The staff were constantly asking if we wanted more tea or coffee which I found rather than unusual in a Best Western. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and we most certainly would stay in this hotel if we return to Eastbourne

Room Tip: Room number three was a disabled room. no sea view but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Medigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your review.

Thank you for mentioning my staff and our breakfasts.

I will check out the window in room 3 myself tomorrow as this should not be the case and thanks for bringing to my attention.

We do have shower 'chairs' available on request for our 2 disabled access rooms - please feel free to request them.

When you do come back to Eastbourne please feel free to drop me a line.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,925 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,693 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#32 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,439 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £41 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Stayforlong S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing