We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs more attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Ferring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Needs more attention to detail”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Visited York House on a 2 day break as it had quite a high Trip Advisor rating. On arrival, parked car and went to the Hotel Reception and got a £1 All Day Parking Ticket which in fact lasts up to 11am the day after the day shown - Brilliant as don't have to worry about getting up early to sort out parking tickets. However, our confirmed room on the 3rd floor overlooking the sea had been changed to one on the second floor. When we questioned this, we were dismissed with the words "we had to reorganise". This rankled with us and certainly reduced our opinion of the hotel. Be warned that there are a lot on Fire Doors on each floor which bang loudly every time someone passes through them. Surely they could be made to close more quietly without compromising the dreaded Health & Safety rules. The same is true of the room doors.

We were advised to avoid the last 45 minutes of breakfast availability as it would be quite busy. We decided to eat 30 minutes after breakfast started and arrived to find a coach party just finishing breakfast to get on their coach. We had a table overlooking the sea which was great and very few fellow guests. The quality of the breakfast offerings is pretty good but the hot food is let down by not necessarily being hot. It looked to me that too much was being put out at one time and then not being kept heated sufficiently. Things like fried eggs were hard and cut in little squares which suggested a big batch had been done at one time and then individually separated into squares - it looked most odd. I was going to photo this but it was less evident the following morning. We noticed that there is little space between tables, when they are occupied, so one has to take the round the edge of the room route to get to the breakfast bar. Also, there appeared to be only one 6 Slice toaster available for everybody so people could land up queuing while any hot items on their plate go cold. People would wait for the others to remove their toast even if there were spare slots available to put their toast in mid cycle. Maybe a chain type toaster would be quicker as the toast is automatically ejected after it been under the heating element.

I struggled with the pillows which I found somewhat hard and lumpy. Reception arranged for extra pillows but they were little better and I found it hard to get to sleep. In the morning I had a really stiff neck. If you are particular, it might to best to bring your own.

There is a small swimming pool in the basement which is heated. It ranges from roughly 3-5 feet deep. There is a small changing room without a shower or lockers so really it is best to come directly from your room. The only problem is the pool is closed to residents at certain times for Swimming Classes for local children but since the information is only known in Reception and no timetable posted on the Pool access door, you can get caught out. Four guests sat on the stairs down to the pool debating when the pool would be available and all irritated that this information isn't posted in advance as we had all changed in our rooms and would not have come down if we had known it was not available.

Bus 99 to Hastings goes every 20 minutes from outside the hotel. You can sit down and wait undercover on the hotel porch - great when it is raining hard. There is no equivalent stop over the road when you are returning to Eastbourne so you have the choice of either getting off one stop earlier or carry on another 200 yards or so beyond the hotel. The 99 does go into the centre of Eastbourne so it is quite useful. If you walk from the hotel, it takes about 10-15 minutes to the centre of town. If you cut back one street from the seafront, you will have shops and restaurants most of the way. If you don't want to eat in the hotel, there are plenty of alternatives down in this area.

In my view the hotel could greatly enhance its reputation by dealing with some of the above issues. It has a lot going for it with friendly staff and decent rooms. Following our initial reception, we decided not to eat in the hotel in the evenings so the hotel lost out. There is plenty of competition on their doorstep so they cannot afford to be complacent.

Room Tip: We had 294 on the front corner overlooking the sea. I think we were well away from the Function roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FerringFerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

Hands up on this one, one of my Receptionist's who has been here 13 years forgot to put a comment on your reservation reference the 3rd floor requirement so apologies for this.

We are catering for 120 plus persons everyday for Breakfast but you are correct that on this particular morning they overcooked and as you say the quantities were too much, little and often is our usual procedure but I am glad to say that my Duty Manager that morning did notice and this was brought to the Head Chef's attention. Thanks though for noticing the quality items.

One thing that bugs me though is how people cannot read a daily changing sign in Reception which lists any lessons in the pool that day and it is put up before midnight the day before. This is clearly mentioned on our website also.

I note your point reference pillows which I will check into. Thank you for bringing to my attention.

Please also feel free to drop me a direct line if you do indeed venture along the coast again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,091
    668
    167
    48
    28
See reviews for
327
1,245
27
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (752)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have just returned from our third visit to this great hotel. Loved our room facing the sea, already looking forward to returning :)
The staff are all so friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was excellent and service fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caskelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

i am glad that it wasn't a case of 3rd time lucky and that you have enjoyed all of your 3 visits with us.

Thank you for specifically mentioning my staff and our breakfast and we look forward to the 4th.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at hotel on Friday 12th July for one night. Upon arrival we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff.we had a wowcher voucher for standard room but we're upgraded to sea view room and also received a complimentary box of chocolates as it was a birthday gift which was very nice.room was clean and very comfortable and breakfast was very good plenty of choices. Would definitely return

Room Tip: The sea view room was supberb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcooper404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a pleasant 1 nighter with us and as we were informed it was a special occasion I am glad that we were able to upgrade you and give you some extra calories!

Thank you for the mention of my staff and our breakfast and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the York House hotel. Excellent room with a sea view and very helpful courteous staff, with a special thank you to Roxanne for her help. Very good breakfast, lovely walks along the promenade and pier and ashore walk to town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a good stay with and thank you also for the specific mention of my staff and our breakfasts and even more-so Roxanne.

We hope to be able to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

WOW! Free upgrade to large sea-view room. Lovely bed, lovely view, lovely shower-room and lots of added extras, which made our two-night stay just wonderful. We were able to swim in the lovely warm pool before deciding just what to choose for breakfast - such choices! We even had a window seat one morning. The staff were just brilliant, so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Comfortable armchairs in reception and bar areas, and the chairs, tables and benches outside were another added bonus.

Room Tip: Our corner room, 104, could not have been better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a good stay with us and appreciated the upgrade to a seaview room - room 104 is a great room.

Thank you also for your comments reference our breakfast and my staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night break at the York House Hotel. The Hotel is in a very good location facing the sea within short walking distance from the pier and shops.
Our room number 392 was at the back of the hotel and it was quite small but very adequate for our short stay. I believe the room had recently been renovated and the furnishings were very tasteful. The bathroom also had been renovated and it was sparkling clean.
It was very quiet apart from the seagulls early morning but then we were at the seaside so it is expected..
The staff were very friendly and efficient. We would definately like to stay again.

Room Tip: possibly it might be better to pay a little more and have a front facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad to see that you had a good 2 nighter with us in one of our standard rooms and you still felt it was adequate value for money.

Our seaview rooms are definitely worth the upgrade cost for a guaranteed seaview and larger room.

Thank you also for mentioning my staff and we look forward to seeing you again on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed overnight at the York House, on a travelzoo promotion. Very good value for money, in a lovely room, overlooking the sea. Comfortable super kingsize bed in a large room with en suite shower room. Nice to wake up to the sounds of the sea crashing on the shingle beach. Good breakfast with lots of choice. Friendly staff, only too willing to be of exceptional service. Would heartily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: You will pay more. But a sea view is very nice, and the noise from the road is not too bad, especial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad to see that you felt it still 'value' to upgrade to one of our great seaview rooms and overall you had a good stay with us.

Thank you for mentioning our Breakfast and particularly my staff.

We look forward to seeing you again on your second visit to Eastbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,548 reviews
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
2,957 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#30 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Property: Best Western York House Hotel
Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing