We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel was lovely and the staff were very nice and made you feel very welcome, we had a family room with sea view and it was lovely and spacious, would highly recommend this hotel and the location, we are going back to same hotel in September, great place!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review.


I am glad you had a great stay with us and thank you for mentioning my staff and the size of our seaview family rooms.

We look forward to seeing you again in September.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,376 - 1,382 of 2,149 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights on an Amazon Local deal £139 with breakfast. On that note the breakfast was had plenty of choice and was well cooked. Service was was attentive and polite. Our room was very compact although being at the back it was very quite and the bed was very comfortable.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad that overall you had a good stay with us and thank you for mentioning our service and breakfast.

Our standard rooms are smaller but as you say they can be quieter than the front so I guess it is a matter of preference.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Overall enjoyed the stay. Upgraded to a seaview room which is worth the extra. Just across from the beach and only a short walk to the shopping area. Breakfast good but not so keen on buffet style. Nice swimming pool. rooms a bit tired. Reception staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad overall you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated your seaview, sorry if you felt your room wasn't upto standard and it sounds like you may have had one of the few left that will shortly be refurbished.

Thank you for specifically mentioning my Reception staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

After an initial problem with the room offered. which was quickly resolved by the offer of another room. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. The food was excellent and we would definitely return. I have Coeliac decease and have to have a gluten free diet , there was no problem at all.

Room Tip: We were 1st floor corner front there was no problem with noise at any time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad that my staff were able to quickly resolve any issues that you had initially and you then had a good stay with us.

Thank you for mentioning my staff and our food and we do always carry gluten free bread etc and any sauces on the menu can easily be made gluten free as they are homemade.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was our first visit to Eastbourne, we could not have asked for a better first visit, of course the hotel was all we could have wished for, the front desk staff were so friendly you felt like you were dealing with a friend, the bedrooms were well equipped and the restaurant staff were also very attentive & polite, the food was also VERY good. We would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a good place to stay. Next time we visit England (quit often) we will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robertharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a good stay with us and thank you for mentioning my staff and our food.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Only had one overnight stay through Travel Zoo and overall it was good value for the money paid for our voucher.The room was clean, quiet, nicely furnished and had a modern bathroom with good shower.It overlooked a rubbish skip but as we were only staying a night it didn't worry us.
The staff were excellent on the whole and nothing was too much trouble.
Only had a couple of gripes the first being that the bed was rather "rocky" and the mattress a little soft and un-supportive, although, that said my wife and I had a good nights sleep. If we had been paying full price I would certainly asked for a room change.
Our second gripe was that although we went down to breakfast relatively early, as suggested by one of the staff, the dining room was extremely busy and we were shown to a tiny table right near the breakfast self service area, which really, I would suggest, was only meant for one person. It was so small that it was difficult to try and fit everything on it and we had to ask one of the waiting staff to give us smaller plates.After we had eaten our cooked breakfast all our plates were whisked away by a waiter without asking us whether we had finished. Luckily we had! The choice of breakfast was good and about average for a hotel of this type. I can only suggest that if you visit the hotel and want a leisurely breakfast you go down to the dining room as soon as they start serving at 7.30am.
I Can only reiterate other visitors general comments particularly as regards parking and the non-taking of visitors names/room numbers at breakfast.
The hotel is nicely situated and within easy reach of most amenities including restaurants and has a pleasant bar area and veranda. With a little more attention to visitors needs this could certainly be a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side don't have an attractive outlook but are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muso30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad overall that you had a pleasant stay with us and I appreciate your comments reference view - this is a necessary evil whilst we are finishing our last few bedrooms on refurbishment.

Thank you for bringing to my attention the breakfast issues that you had and I will look into as this is not our normal service as you will see on past reviews.

Hopefully we may tempt you again soon and please feel free to contact me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Top points for-
Good location & views
Clean & comfortable rooms
Good hospitality
Great breakfast
Reasonable price
Relaxing swimming pool

A bit of a walk from the station (around 12-15 minutes).
Drawback was there were very few eating options closeby with just a handful of takeaway.
Water was salty like every other sea side place so buy/carry lots of water.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFK06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for specifically mentioning our hospitality and Breakfast.

There are actually 3 very good eating establishments within crawling distance behind us - please always feel free to ask at Reception - we don't mind if you want to eat out - we do know the area and are happy to recommend the best based on customer feedback.

Hopefully we will see you again soon when we can point you in the right direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,534 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £31 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing