We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“3 night stay”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Hubby & I stayed here with our daughter, her hubby & 5yr old son from 30th July thru a Travelzoo offer. We were given a room upgrade with a side sea view.(room 203) Lovely, although it seemed a room of 2 halves. Modern, refurbished bedroom, but the bathroom, although large, needed a new loo and bath/shower. We forgot to mention to reception that the extractor fan didn't work. Being at the side of the hotel it was fairly cool at all times. Our daughter's family room (huge, with 2 armchairs), at the front of the hotel was very hot, but they got a fan from reception which helped.

Breakfast was always hot & there was a great choice of food. We didn't eat dinner there as we were there to visit family, so they fed us.

A few negatives: Our daughter, son in law and grandson went swimming one morning and she wasn't happy to find a plaster floating in the pool, and for the whole day our grandson was miserable due to the chlorine being so strong his eyes smarted. And of course the parking. A little challenging when you have difficulties walking.

The staff were all great, especially Clare who manned the bar and the tall blonde (sorry I didn't find out her name) who greeted us each morning for breakfast.

We arrived just as the pier started smoking - it was very sad to see it burning. We've had some lovely walks on it.

All in all a very good hotel to stay in. We would return, but out of season when Eastbourne is much quieter.

Room Tip: Room 254 is very large but at the front, so some noise is inevitable Room 203 is a good size and at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad that overall you had a pleasant stay with us and thank you for specifically mentioning our Breakfast and Clare and Ewa (the tall Blond).

I note your comment reference extractor and will get that checked out.

Look forward to seeing you again 'off' season when we will be doing offers so keep an eye out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,100
    680
    170
    51
    28
See reviews for
334
1,262
28
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were lucky enough to book this on a travelzoo deal for bed and breakfast.

Fantastic location right on the sea front, major bonus, our room was fabulously done out, shame no sea view but that would have been the icing on the cake and we only paid a small amount so were very pleased. Our room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom was beautifully tiled.

Everyone really friendly and the service was impeccable as was the breakfast.

I would definitely return and definitely recommend

Room Tip: as fab location might be worth paying for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad to see that you had a great stay with us and appreciated the location and one of our refurbished standard rooms.

Thank you also for specifically mentioning my staff and our breakfast and we hope to see you again soon. Keep watching for those offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel was lovely and the staff were very nice and made you feel very welcome, we had a family room with sea view and it was lovely and spacious, would highly recommend this hotel and the location, we are going back to same hotel in September, great place!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review.


I am glad you had a great stay with us and thank you for mentioning my staff and the size of our seaview family rooms.

We look forward to seeing you again in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights on an Amazon Local deal £139 with breakfast. On that note the breakfast was had plenty of choice and was well cooked. Service was was attentive and polite. Our room was very compact although being at the back it was very quite and the bed was very comfortable.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad that overall you had a good stay with us and thank you for mentioning our service and breakfast.

Our standard rooms are smaller but as you say they can be quieter than the front so I guess it is a matter of preference.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Overall enjoyed the stay. Upgraded to a seaview room which is worth the extra. Just across from the beach and only a short walk to the shopping area. Breakfast good but not so keen on buffet style. Nice swimming pool. rooms a bit tired. Reception staff very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad overall you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated your seaview, sorry if you felt your room wasn't upto standard and it sounds like you may have had one of the few left that will shortly be refurbished.

Thank you for specifically mentioning my Reception staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

After an initial problem with the room offered. which was quickly resolved by the offer of another room. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. The food was excellent and we would definitely return. I have Coeliac decease and have to have a gluten free diet , there was no problem at all.

Room Tip: We were 1st floor corner front there was no problem with noise at any time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad that my staff were able to quickly resolve any issues that you had initially and you then had a good stay with us.

Thank you for mentioning my staff and our food and we do always carry gluten free bread etc and any sauces on the menu can easily be made gluten free as they are homemade.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was our first visit to Eastbourne, we could not have asked for a better first visit, of course the hotel was all we could have wished for, the front desk staff were so friendly you felt like you were dealing with a friend, the bedrooms were well equipped and the restaurant staff were also very attentive & polite, the food was also VERY good. We would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a good place to stay. Next time we visit England (quit often) we will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a good stay with us and thank you for mentioning my staff and our food.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,052 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,568 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#31 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
890 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Property: Best Western York House Hotel
Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#1 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing