We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent mini break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

room was lovely ,staff was very friendly,restaurant was nice,only downside was the parking,but the same for all hotels on the sea front.quite central for places to visit eg.brighton,lewes,rye hastings,devils dyke,beachy head.would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: sea view are lovely rooms,but hear traffic early in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 156Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your review

I am glad to see that you had a good stay with us recently.

I agree with you that the seaview rooms are great and parking can be challenging at this time of year but we have never had a guest (to date) not being able to find a space - it might take a few go arounds - believe me I have to park here every week!

Thank you also for mentioning my staff and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,392 - 1,398 of 2,182 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Purchased a Travelzoo offer for b&b in a standard room. There was no standard room available for the night we needed, so agreed to pay a supplement for an executive room. The room was nicely decorated, but rather small. One of the reading lamps was hanging loose and didn't work. We didn't report this until the morning, but it should have been noticed and sorted by staff. I found the room warm and as it it had windows to two different roads quite noisy. Last moan, the newspaper we ordered wasn't at reception on the morning, even though the receptionist agreed it had been requested. One was quickly located and on the plus side, breakfast was very good, the staff very friendly and the bed very comfortable. It would also have been very good value, if we'd only had to pay the standard room rate.

Room Tip: A lot of the rooms overlook one or more roads, so check location. Also if it's hot ask for a fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry you were disappointed in your Executive room - not a point that has been raised before in reference to size - I agree with you the lamp should have been spotted and I will double check it myself tomorrow.

Thank you for the positives of your review in reference to my staff and our Breakfasts.

I note your value comment and have taken action already to not disappoint our next guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

All the staff made us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were excellent . Cannot comment on dinner as we did not use restaurant , which lacked atmosphere ( and customers!). Bar room was a little tired -had it missed out on seemingly recent upgrade of all other public areas?. Location right on sea front ( we had sea view room) was very handy -although noisy sea gulls made sleeping difficult as we needed windows open even with complimentary fan. Despite warnings in brochures that parking is "on -street only", there was plenty and the £1 to use a bay designated H (alomost all of them)meant that parking was not difficult ,
Would stay again and recommend to any-one looking fo a base in/near Eastbourne.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view but beware of seagull noise if weather is hot enough to warrant windows being lef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AP4948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a good stay with us recently in your seaview room.

Thank you also for mentioning my staff and our breakfasts.

I would love to do something about the seagulls but alas............

Our Bar which is modern and functional was actually the last area of the public areas to be refurbished albeit it is modern and functional for eating, I agree not necessarily cosy.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights on the 3rd & 4th of August with a Wowcher deal.
The hotel was very clean, the staff were very polite and helpful & in a fantastic location opposite the beach.Breakfast was really good with lots to choose from. Really enjoyed our stay would recommend this hotel as we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a good stay with us and thank you for mentioning my staff and our breakfasts.

Watch out for our Autumn offers soon and we hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed in a spacious size family room with the most beautiful sea view.
The room was clean and in a good position for easy access to entrance. The pool in the hotel was small but adequate for children, it was awkward at times as ourselves and others kept checking to see if it was overcrowded; disappointing for children when it was.
Breakfast was fine although there could have been more choices. The staff were pleasant and attentive also other guest were very friendly.

Room Tip: Chose a sea view family size, find out the quiet times for pool use and it's free to park on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad that overall you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed your large seaview family room.

Thank you for mentioning my staff and other guests.

Generally the pool is quiet except in school holidays and please always feel free to pop to Reception and ask them to look on the camera to see how busy it is - it will save you the trip.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Have just returned from a lovely 2-night break at York House Hotel through a Wowcher deal. It's in a great location right on the seafront, all the staff were very friendly and welcoming, rooms - although a bit on the small side - were very nicely decorated, very clean and had everything you could wish for. Breakfast was good with a wide choice - we all commented that the bacon and sausage were very tasty! An added bonus was free Wi-fi throughout the hotel - very easy to register and log on. As the previous reviewer, I would definitely recommend the open-top bus tour, lovely walk around Beach Head etc - a real bargain for £4.50 for us oldies!! (Buy tickets from the hotel, it's slightly cheaper). All in all, a lovely break at an excellent hotel. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you ad a good break with us and yes I agree our standard rooms are smaller, if you want that extra large seaview room there is always the alternative upgrade or if you wish to gamble there may be an upgrade available on arrival.

Thank you for your comments on my staff and our breakfast and I agree our smoked bacon and hand selected sausages are really good.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for two nights with a wowcher deal. Great location, seafront on your doorstep. Room was clean, well maintained and pleasantly decorated. The pool although small was really warm and just right for a quick swim in the morning. Breakfast was fine, what you would expect, the staff in the dining room were lovely especially the young lads. Didn't eat in the dining room in the evening, wish we had on the Sunday as we had a horrible meal in the Devenport pub in town. If your looking for a good pub dinner go to the Crown and Anchor, just along the road, great food for the money. For a day out get the sight seeing bus and have a walk around Beachy Head then jump back on for great views all around. Would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a good time with us and thanks for specifically mentioning my 'lads' they are a great crew and just need the occasional ........!

Always feel free to ask us where to eat as we know where to avoid - in fact one of the best food pubs is just behind us - crawling distance, which can be handy.

Don't forget also that if you wish to use the City Sightseeing bus we have tickets at reception and they are cheaper than buying direct.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,929 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,693 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#4 of 40 in Eastbourne
928 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#32 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £41 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing