We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,333 - 1,339 of 2,134 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I (and our lil Chihuahua cross) always are drawn to Best Western Hotels. Extremely nice staff here and sea view rooms very comfy. However, I booked a lot earlier this year ( through central reservations) asking for 3 rooms all close together and was told we would have 2 sea view rooms next to each other and the other room opposite these rooms ( as my Mum and Daughter wanted their own room each). On arrival there was absolutely no-where to park (first let down) even though the hotel offer discounted vouchers, you need to park - so a wasted voucher for the first day as my husband had to park 1/2 a mile away down a side street.
Also, disappointed that even though all rooms given were sea view - they were not at all close together, we did ask the reception to rectify this and was told that they had a group there who wanted to all be close together - well wasn't we?? After waiting some time and just knew that they were really busy we compromised and just swapped rooms with our daughter.......did spoil things slightly as we planned to pop in & out of each others rooms but being 5 or more rooms apart from each other bit annoying..........
However the rooms are lovely and spacious - only thing is, there was a bit of a "funky" smell in our room which my husband thought might be the smell left from the burning pier, as soon as we opened the window it cleared but had to shut the window every time we went out as shared balcony with all guests on that side.......so "funky" smell back there whenever we returned.
Breakfasts here are lovely - buffet style but really nice, we had our table set up in the bar area because we had a dog with us, and same for dinner but again the staff were superb and professional, the 2nd night dinner unfortunately, was not so good as the first night, felt we had to mention this as we thought there must be 2 different chefs! But we were told it was the same chef, had to wonder still if it was a trainee chef as they were training waiters and some of our order came out wrong too - but really couldn't be asked to complain further otherwise our w/end would have felt like one long complaint!
The hotel did redeem themselves slightly by paying for our drinks so that was very decent of them, even though we had no complaints about the drinks! lol
Probably wouldn't come to this Best Western again, as parking was a big issue......
I just hope that Best Western accommodate more PET FRIENDLY hotels in their chain - and not cut down on them as this limits our visits to places we would like to go and have to look for alternative hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anglosaxeness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

On the positives I am glad that overall you had a good stay with us and as we are pet friendly we are able to accommodate you to dine as well.

Glad the drinks went down well.

Not a lot we can do about the parking but is not normally an issue and as I often say here I have to park all year round but I don't find it frustrating.

Thank you for mentioning my staff and our breakfasts.

In relation to the allocation of bedrooms I will look into this, as this is not our usual standard, please accept my apologies.

As you will no doubt be aware all Best Western hotels are privately owned and the pet policy is individual and not something BW can do anything about.

If you do wish to return please drop me a line personally and we will endeavour to make up for our misdemeanour's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We arrived at York House for my girlfriends birthday weekend expecting big things due to the brilliant reviews this place has received, and, it did not disappoint! The hotel staff greeted us at reception and painlessly checked us in and showed us to our beautiful sea view room. The room was well kept (cozy) and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is only a pleasant 15 minute walk along the beach to town. Breakfast was enjoyable, setup in a buffet style the food was generally of good quality and service was good.

The only downside of the hotel is at night it is quite loud with people walking around upstairs or in the corridors.

All in all I definitely recommend the York House hotel for anyone who is looking to stay a couple of nights in Eastbourne.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank minggu18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad we lived up to your expectations and that you had a good time with us.

Thank you for mentioning my staff and our breakfasts.

Please always feel free to ask for a 'quieter' room with less corridor footfall - this can be arranged for you.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel is very clean & tidy & near all amenities
Unfortunately certain parts of the room let it down
like the toilet paper, the toilet seat was lose and cheap
plastic & the bed was very uncomfortable did not get much sleep
Did not have an evening meal but the breakfast was to good standards

Room Tip: A sea view room there is not much traffic noise with the window closed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JOHN O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad overall you had a good stay with us and sorry we let you down on certain elements.

I have never had a complaint about toilet paper but there is always a first time I guess. In my opinion we do offer a quality roll but I guess we are all different.

Thank you for your comments on our Breakfasts though.

I will try and look at the bed in question too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just got back from this Hotel and was very pleased with it, especially as we got it on a Groupon deal quite cheap. The reception staff was very friendly and helpful and we booked in early. The rooms were spacious and clean. We didnt dine there in the evening, we went to the Devonshire Park theatre to watch a play called Double Death, we walked out half way!
Back to the hotel for drinks on the veranda and watch people walking past getting soaked in the rain!!
Breakfast was OK, plenty to choose but not of highest quality , but passable. Checked out at 11am. We parked the car right outside and was given a permit for the duration of our stay.
We like Eastbourne, and the York House Hotel made it even better. Great location. Thank you

Room Tip: 202, good room, not a front view, but side view could still see the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a good stay with us recently.

Thank you for mentioning my staff but disappointing, of course, to see that you thought the quality of our breakfast items were only passable. We do source a lot of our products locally but appreciate your opinion.

Hopefully if you return to us we look forward to chatting to you about this to see what we can do,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Recently took 2 rooms for 3 nights. Both rooms were of a good size and to a high level of up to date décor. We were not on the front so did not suffer from road noise. The hotel does not have car parking but for £1 per day you purchase access to a permit for free parking along the road outside. We always found a space to park. Breakfast is buffet style and includes juice, cereals, full English, pastries and toast etc. This can not be faulted as to choice and quality. We took our evening meals in and these were excellent value- you could not get much better outside for £20 for 3 course meal with a good choice. There is also an A La Carte menu. The choice is yours. From the minute we arrived the staff we attentive, helpful and friendly. The hotel does not have air conditioning which meant that at times during the hot weather it could be a bit warm and stuffy.
Frequent buses run from outside the front door so one can quite easily not use your car at all. taxis are plentiful. Eastbourne is a civilised resort and we have decided we will likely return and use this hotel !

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank djk3816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

Great to see that you all had a good stay with us recently.

Thank you for mentioning my staff, breakfast and our dinner.

We look forward to seeing you when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#8 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,735 reviews
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,447 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,032 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#15 of 40 in Eastbourne
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#2 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £36 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing