We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2 night stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Using an Amazon voucher we enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much.On the advice of people on Trip Advisor we up graded our room to a sea view room which was wonderful,it certainly had been refurbished and we had so much space with an enormous king size bed.
Just a little memo to the management the room could do with a small table by the sofa to put drinks and cups on.
We had no problem with the traffic noise,opened the window at night and closed it in the morning .easy!
The staff were all very helpful and dealt with our request for extra towels,pillows and an ice bucket within five minutes of us been in the room,very impressive.

Also another note to the management as we were leaving on Thursday 14th August we noticed that the reception staff kept a very cool head whilst dealing with an extremely rude guest,well done.
The breakfast was to me adequate, more fresh fruit and hard boiled eggs would of been great(but I do not eat a fry up) but top marks for the fresh juices and the tea

The hotel is an easy walk into town although the cabs are in abundant and very cheap.
We will keep are eyes open for any more offers with this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTennisfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated your upgrade to seaview.

Note to management noted - thank you

Thank you also for mentioning my staff, in particular Reception and as you say they do have cool heads.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and the offers are on our website already for September and other deals are just about to go live too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,102
    682
    170
    51
    28
See reviews for
335
1,265
28
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Using an Amazon voucher we enjoyed an excellent stay - generally speaking. Our room was compact but had all we needed for a couple of nights and was clean and attractive. A couple of faults with the bathroom were a) the fan not working (I begin to wonder if they ever do!) which is always inconvenient in a shared bathroom, and b) the shower head had been chosen with a jet system that sprayed water as generously behind as in front of itself - with the result that the splash back onto the wall inevitably cascaded onto the floor no matter what you did with the shower curtain. Result was a bit dangerous I thought.

However - the real problem was the pigeons! Our room was at the back of the hotel - fair enough; somebody has to be - but pigeons had taken up roosting on a window sill next to ours and their noise, and the mess across our window associated with their coming and going was appalling. The room was TOO compact to have kept the window shut so we could not avoid the disturbance. We were told by someone on duty at the desk that the problem was insuperable but I beg to differ. If a couple of thousand birds can be driven out of Trafalgar Square I would think it not beyond the wit of man to get rid of two! They had clearly been in residence a long time and had torn out the grill once installed to keep them at bay.

We asked about a room change but, alas for us, the hotel was fully booked.

I must emphasise that the staff were all delightful, very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts included an ample range of choice and plenty of everything. I saw the pool but didn't use it, having failed to bring a costume but what a beautiful asset that is. Next time I shall come prepared!

Room Tip: If there is an option I wouldn't choose a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz65S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad that overall you had a pleasant stay with us and I will track down your room and look at the shower and fan and rectify so thank you for bringing to my attention.

Pigeons - we do on the odd occasion get an occasional problem but the chef will be delighted as they are currently on the A la carte menu - so we will sort out a licensed cull in the near future.

Thank you for mentioning my staff and our breakfasts and as it looks like we might be seeing you again soon please feel free to drop me a personal line and I will handle the reservation for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Have not stayed in a Best Western for 15 years always use aPremier Inn or most of the other chain of hotels The location was was very good plus the parking voucher 1£ all day from the reception The room and the food were excellent but the staff could not do Anough to make it a pleasant and enjoyable stay. When considering my next break i will also look to stay at a Best Western hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad to see that we might have a convert from Premier Inn and that you had a good stay with us.

Thank you for mentioning my staff, our rooms and our food.

We look forward to seeing you again before PI soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here on13th/14th August, and felt it was one of the best hotels we had stayed in. The room was excellent, with a sea view, it was very clean, comfortable beds, and the service form all the staff was first class and so helpful and friendly. Breakfast and dinner could not be better, and the service here again was faultless, the lady greeting you and finding a table for you each time we used it could not have been more friendly and helpful, nothing seems to be too much trouble. The waiters again were so polite friendly and helpful. I would certainly use tthis hotel again if staying in Eastbourne and have no hesitation in recommending it to friends.

Room Tip: sea view roooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a good stay with us in one of our seaview rooms.

Thank you for mentioning my staff and in particular Ewa, my Restaurant Manager and also our food.

We hope to see you again soon the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We booked this hotel with an Amazon voucher for a three night stay. The staff were very friendly, the room was clean and well decorated, the breakfast good with locally sourced ingredients. Overall we had a good time and would stay again when down that way.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLizzieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

Good to see that overall you had a great stay with us recently.

Thank you for mentioning my staff and our breakfasts and am pleased you noticed the 'local' products.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We went for a two night stay courtesy of an Amazon voucher deal. It was excellent value for money, the hotel room was perfectly comfortable, well decorated, great facilities and the sea view was delightful. We used the pool, which is small but we had it to ourselves! The breakfast was ok, but busy and a little chaotic. Some of the presentation was a bit shabby and I must say I prefer a cooked breakfast to order rather than a buffet, but they didn't do bad. The location is amazing - across the road from the beach and a short walk to town, pier, bandstand and theatres.

Room Tip: Sea view third floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad to see that you had a good overall stay with us and thank you for mentioning our great sea views and location.

It is obviously not our intention to be chaotic but with 140 breakfasts at this time of year it can be a bit demanding - please also ask if you would like something cooked to order as I am sure my staff would have accommodated.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinderford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very friendly and professional staff, room nice and clean though could be slightly bigger, food of a good standard. One disappointment was being woken at 4.15am by a member of staff putting empty bottles out, very noisy. I would definitely visit again and also recommend to friends, however not a room at the back.

Room Tip: Select a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

Great to see a mention of my staff and of your overall good visit with us.

I must point out though it is not my staff putting bottles out at 4.15am, we occasionally find the hotel next door does this sort of thing with no consideration for other people and how sound travels at that time of the night.

I note your request for 'not a back room' next time so please feel free to drop me a line and I will sort out for you and we look forward to seeing you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,057 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,569 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
#10 of 40 in Eastbourne
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#31 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
890 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Property: Best Western York House Hotel
Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#2 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing