We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western York House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I (sound like the royal 'we') spent a lovely afternoon here using an offer given to my husband as a birthday gift by our daughters to enjoy the Eastbourne Air show. We were not disappointed. We had comfy seats on the veranda with a great view of the sea front. We were under cover should it have been too hot from the sun or we stayed dry when it rained. Music accompanied us while we had drinks (hot/cold or alcoholic). A fabulous buffet lunch was severed in the dinning room at 12noon and the best cream tea ever was served at 4pm. All staff were very friendly, attentive, polite and helpful.
If this is what they lay on for a special event I can only assume that the standard throughout the rest of the hotel must be equally as good. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nexoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

Great to see you visiting us for the 4 day Airbourne Show and thank you for your comments regarding our inclusive Buffet Lunch and afternoon tea (chef at the moment doesn't want to see another scone for a while having gone through 1,100 over 4 days!)

Hopefully we will see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,327 - 1,333 of 2,141 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Very happy with our room with a sea-front view. The room seemed quite recently refurbed. It was clean, a good size, great view and nice new bathroom.
We didn't eat at the hotel but the check-in service was courteous and efficient, and the gent who was manning the reception overnight was very helpful when I was feeling a bit ill. Overall, a very pleasant stay. Would definitely choose this hotel again. Thank you Best Western

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elmobaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad to see you had a good stay with us recently.

Thank you for mentioning my staff and our great new seaview rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Using an Amazon voucher we enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much.On the advice of people on Trip Advisor we up graded our room to a sea view room which was wonderful,it certainly had been refurbished and we had so much space with an enormous king size bed.
Just a little memo to the management the room could do with a small table by the sofa to put drinks and cups on.
We had no problem with the traffic noise,opened the window at night and closed it in the morning .easy!
The staff were all very helpful and dealt with our request for extra towels,pillows and an ice bucket within five minutes of us been in the room,very impressive.

Also another note to the management as we were leaving on Thursday 14th August we noticed that the reception staff kept a very cool head whilst dealing with an extremely rude guest,well done.
The breakfast was to me adequate, more fresh fruit and hard boiled eggs would of been great(but I do not eat a fry up) but top marks for the fresh juices and the tea

The hotel is an easy walk into town although the cabs are in abundant and very cheap.
We will keep are eyes open for any more offers with this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTennisfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated your upgrade to seaview.

Note to management noted - thank you

Thank you also for mentioning my staff, in particular Reception and as you say they do have cool heads.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and the offers are on our website already for September and other deals are just about to go live too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Using an Amazon voucher we enjoyed an excellent stay - generally speaking. Our room was compact but had all we needed for a couple of nights and was clean and attractive. A couple of faults with the bathroom were a) the fan not working (I begin to wonder if they ever do!) which is always inconvenient in a shared bathroom, and b) the shower head had been chosen with a jet system that sprayed water as generously behind as in front of itself - with the result that the splash back onto the wall inevitably cascaded onto the floor no matter what you did with the shower curtain. Result was a bit dangerous I thought.

However - the real problem was the pigeons! Our room was at the back of the hotel - fair enough; somebody has to be - but pigeons had taken up roosting on a window sill next to ours and their noise, and the mess across our window associated with their coming and going was appalling. The room was TOO compact to have kept the window shut so we could not avoid the disturbance. We were told by someone on duty at the desk that the problem was insuperable but I beg to differ. If a couple of thousand birds can be driven out of Trafalgar Square I would think it not beyond the wit of man to get rid of two! They had clearly been in residence a long time and had torn out the grill once installed to keep them at bay.

We asked about a room change but, alas for us, the hotel was fully booked.

I must emphasise that the staff were all delightful, very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts included an ample range of choice and plenty of everything. I saw the pool but didn't use it, having failed to bring a costume but what a beautiful asset that is. Next time I shall come prepared!

Room Tip: If there is an option I wouldn't choose a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Liz65S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad that overall you had a pleasant stay with us and I will track down your room and look at the shower and fan and rectify so thank you for bringing to my attention.

Pigeons - we do on the odd occasion get an occasional problem but the chef will be delighted as they are currently on the A la carte menu - so we will sort out a licensed cull in the near future.

Thank you for mentioning my staff and our breakfasts and as it looks like we might be seeing you again soon please feel free to drop me a personal line and I will handle the reservation for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Have not stayed in a Best Western for 15 years always use aPremier Inn or most of the other chain of hotels The location was was very good plus the parking voucher 1£ all day from the reception The room and the food were excellent but the staff could not do Anough to make it a pleasant and enjoyable stay. When considering my next break i will also look to stay at a Best Western hotel

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad to see that we might have a convert from Premier Inn and that you had a good stay with us.

Thank you for mentioning my staff, our rooms and our food.

We look forward to seeing you again before PI soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here on13th/14th August, and felt it was one of the best hotels we had stayed in. The room was excellent, with a sea view, it was very clean, comfortable beds, and the service form all the staff was first class and so helpful and friendly. Breakfast and dinner could not be better, and the service here again was faultless, the lady greeting you and finding a table for you each time we used it could not have been more friendly and helpful, nothing seems to be too much trouble. The waiters again were so polite friendly and helpful. I would certainly use tthis hotel again if staying in Eastbourne and have no hesitation in recommending it to friends.

Room Tip: sea view roooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you had a good stay with us in one of our seaview rooms.

Thank you for mentioning my staff and in particular Ewa, my Restaurant Manager and also our food.

We hope to see you again soon the next time you are in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We booked this hotel with an Amazon voucher for a three night stay. The staff were very friendly, the room was clean and well decorated, the breakfast good with locally sourced ingredients. Overall we had a good time and would stay again when down that way.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLizzieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C, General Manager at Best Western York House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your review.

Good to see that overall you had a great stay with us recently.

Thank you for mentioning my staff and our breakfasts and am pleased you noticed the 'local' products.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,465 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#15 of 40 in Eastbourne
952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York House Hotel

Address: 14-22 Royal Parade, Eastbourne BN22 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Best Value Hotel in Eastbourne
#3 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £34 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Eastbourne seaside front and pier, this branded hotel offers comfortable rooms for all budgets.Fully licenced bar and restaurant are open every day.Conference, weddings and other events facilities are available.Reception and room service operate 24 hours.FREE WI FI in all areas. Parking: The hotel does not have a car park. If you secure 'seaside' parking please come into the hotel to obtain a hotel permit which is £1 until 11 am the following day. Alternatively on the side roads behind us parking is currently not chargeable and is free for the duration. Blue Badge Holders can park anywhere on the metered sections with no charges, no permit is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York Hotel
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing