We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cavendish Hotel(Eastbourne)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Shore View Hotel(Eastbourne)
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Best Western York House Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The View Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$56
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Langham Hotel(Eastbourne)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne(Eastbourne)
US$261
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,133)
Filter reviews
1,133 results
Traveller rating
499
433
124
50
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
433
124
50
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewtraditional hotelbar menuafternoon tealarge hotelwater pressuresea frontlovely hotelpublic roomsbeachy headvery pleasant stayhigh standardsconesone night staycream teaweekend breakfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
996 - 1,001 of 1,133 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The location by the sea makes it wonderful to wake up seeing the beach and the water. Rooms are small and efficient. The restaurant serves fine dinners and breakfasts. You can relax or enjoy a drink in the many living rooms down-stairs and still see the sea and the beach.


No problem with parking and a short walk to the center for shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoBo854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clairepj, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

I was pleased to read that you so appreciated our wonderful position on Eastbourne seafront, providing our guests with a spectacular view all year round.

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We do hope to see you again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I usually stop at the Best Western York Hotel but due to their price increases recently I've moved to the Landsdowne and I'm very happy with it. This was my 3rd visit since July and on the first 2 occasions the wi-fi in the hotel wasnt working and I found myself at the near by Cavendish Hotel using their wi-fi and ended up eating there as well.
The buffet breakfast at the Lansdowne I found was better than the York Hotel and I will definitely think about stopping there again on my next business visit to Eastbourne

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike01772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clairepj, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind comments concerning the breakfast served at the hotel were much appreciated.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel on future occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My wife and I have just had the most relaxing time at the Lansdown Hotel, it was our 1st wedding anniversary and we wanted a quick and relaxing break, everything was what your would expect, breakfast was as much or as little as you want full breakfast or continental, the bar great, especially Helen and Steven and the sports was on all weekend if you wanted to what that, although the wife was non too impressed. So we would recommnend this hotel if its peace and quiet you want.

Len & Sheena (London)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Len M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clairepj, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Congratulations on your 1st Wedding Anniversary. I am very glad that you found your stay at the hotel to be relaxing and that we provided everything you expected.

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review – we look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel on some other occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Great staff, really family friendly, made my twins birthday really special and even posted back a forgotten toy! Breakfast was plentiful, we had a sea view family room which was great. Yes it is dated and full of old people but for us we weren't going away to party!

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francescula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clairepj, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Thank you for your very complimentary review following your recent stay. We are delighted that you found the hotel to be very family friendly and that your children enjoyed their birthday. We hope to welcome you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Best Western have clearly taken over a hotel which has seen better days and it's in need of some serious updating. We stayed on a hot August weekend and although there's no air conditioning, we had to ask for a fan for our room. The staff were very helpful, but overall I'd say don't bother staying here - pay a bit more and you'll find somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clairepj, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

I was very sorry to read that you were disappointed with your accommodation during a recent stay.

We have an ongoing refurbishment programme and are constantly upgrading the hotel, but with more than 100 bedrooms this takes time.

I do hope that you will try us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews