We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Classic, Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice, Classic, Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here on 15th Feb (we usually stay the other end of town but as the friends we visit are in Carlisle Road we decided to try closer). My partner is a fan of best westerns so this was an obvious first choice. We got this for the excellent price of around 60 quid. The lady that checked us in was pleasant, well presented and helpful, the room was classic and had plenty of furniture (makes a change from all this minimalist décor about at the moment). we had a drink at the bar before venturing out the barmaid was lovely (think her name was Helen? or something similar). they had no problem with us rolling in at stupid o'clock when we ordered room service which was tasty and reasonably priced, the breakfast was of a good standard (although I wasn't up to eating much) all in all was a good stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdowne1912, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hi, Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you tried us out on this occasion and that you were not disappointed. We are a traditional hotel with traditional furnishings to a high standard and we are glad that you appreciated this. Thank you for mentioning how helpful and friendly Helen was in the bar. We pride ourselves on our friendly and professional staff and it is always important that they are recognised for their hard work and effort. We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    374
    107
    45
    21
See reviews for
204
400
66
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2014

It was a treat selected by our children: a concert at the Congress Theatre and an overnight's stay. We had a wonderful warm seaview room, from which we could have sat all day! The reception staff were friendly and helpful with just the right touch of politeness, we felt spoilt and not anonymous. The food was good, we had a bar snack before heading to the theatre. It's a walk away if you fancy that, a lovely promenade. We will surely come here again and for longer.

Room Tip: try and get the seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdowne1912, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we also hope that you enjoyed the show at the theatre?! We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham on Crouch, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Had a lovely overnight break, Sunday lunch, overnight stay a free newspaper and breakfast in the morning. Great food great service and lovely people. Stayed another night, because we felt so spoiled.If you feel fed up and fancy a treat, give this a go. Good value at £84.00

Room Tip: If you have a mobility problem, then room 147 or 247 has a walk in shower and high rise WC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyC306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdowne1912, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you booked in for another night! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Well we had a long drive ( Very bumpy towards Eastbourne- shocking roads tbh) from Norwich down to Eastbourne for myself to shoot Brendan Cole's Show at the Theatre ( As I am a professional Photography by trade) So needed something quite close.

Arrived at the seafront and parked nearly outside the hotel and walked into the hotel and was pleasantly surprised how nice it was. Quite a large hotel and the room was big with an en suite with a lovely hot shower. This wasn't a premier room either as it faced inland- I wasn't expecting greatness as I got a late booking deal for the night for myself and my partner but was really happy :)

Quite liked the amount of seating areas and rooms available and the hotel generally was very warm throughout.

Ordered a bar meal and this was also very nice too, Corinne my partner enjoyed hers :)
I know this was out of season but if you get a late deal and you want a good location right on the seafront this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdowne1912, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you liked your room. We are constantly maintaining our rooms and facilities to a high standard and we are glad that it is appreciated. Unfortunately we can not do anything about the roads (which is a shame!). We look forward to maybe seeing you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

stayed in this hotel because we were going to a function in the Grand hotel next to it, and this hotel was far cheaper. It had everything we wanted (kettle, TV, bath/shower) and we loved the decor of the rooms. Easily found a place to park on the street outside (for 4GBP overnight), but the hotel has got lots of lockup garages for hire for only a couple of pounds more overnight if you are worried about your car's security. Hotel is right on the seafront.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdowne1912, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you were pleased with the room and its facilities. Also that you made use of our garages. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

One night stay for business, I didn't eat at the hotel as I had to leave before 7am. Rooms and communal areas are clean and well kept, cheery and helpful staff on check in and out. Hotel location on sea-front was nice and easy to find. Parking on street was free.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Owen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdowne1912, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found our hotel good value, clean and that our staff were friendly. We hope that on your next visit you will be able to sample our great cooked breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellieha, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We were a group of about 30 coming from different countries for a family wedding. Trying to accommodate different families with different requirements and even some 'special' needs, was not easy and we thought we were in for a logistic nightmare! However, the hotel made everything so easy for us and provided us with all the facilities we had requested. The rooms were excellent, clean and spacious. The breakfast was a typical English one, with abundant food items. Some nights, we had dinner at the bar and the food was good, fast and extremely reasonably priced. But what impressed us most was the service provided by all the staff, from the receptionists, to the waiters to the girls in housekeeping. They all made our stay a most enjoyable one. Thank you all.

Room Tip: One should obviously opt for a sea-view but one should also avoid the ground floor back rooms, espec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancisZammit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdowne1912, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the planning of it was a smooth one! We pride ourselves on the variety of food that we offer at breakfast and we are pleased that you found it so good. We have a great team here and we are so pleased that they all helped make your stay so enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,152 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
826 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lansdowne Hotel

Property: Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Address: King Edward's Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lansdowne Hotel is privately owned and has been in the same family ownership since 1912. It is this that has given the hotel a personal touch that is still very evident today. The Hotel occupies a premier position on the uncommercialised seafront overlooking the Western Lawns and Wish Tower with splendid views of Beachy Head and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing