We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had been before and preferred that stay to this one. We had a front facing room on the earlier visit and a room at the rear this time around and this made a great deal of difference to the stay. A little bit of noise with people passing the room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine C, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for your review, you are correct, Sea views do make a difference, I wish all rooms faced the sea but I am afraid that was not a consideration in 1880 when buildings like this were built.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

673 - 679 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed during the Airbourne show,and were very lucky to get a room with a seaview,overlooking all the activity. As you would expect the room was dearer on the final day of the show and subsequent days marginally cheaper. The staff very friendly and accommodating to an extent.I was a little disappointed with the range of food on offer for breakfast,brilliant if you enjoy the usual English breakfast fried eggs,sausages etc.however the continental consisted of croissants,cereal and plain yogurts,no flavoured ones no cheeses,salamis,ham etc. (pretty poor when they advertise this for £8 !!). Sadly no skimmed milk either which meant no cup of tea for me !! (but that's my problem) I would recommend this, Hotel if, as I say you enjoy a good English breakfast. The bar was not over priced,and the Staff there too were also lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bionici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine C, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit and found the staff friendly. We do offer cheese and Ham for breakfast but they are on the menu and need to be ordered from your waiter, they are not items put out daily on the buffet, sorry for any confusion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

If you are looking for the quintessential British seaside hotel, then look no further than The Lansdowne. Set upon the clifftops at the Western end of Eastbourne, the hotel is well situated for all amenities. The grand reception/entrance is matched by the décor throughout the hotel. The ground floor is a myriad of small lounges, relaxing rooms, bars and dining areas. The bedrooms are well appointed with everything that you could need. I was particularly impressed with the free wifi in all areas of the hotel. This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vince H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine C, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, I am really pleased you enjoyed your visit to our traditional and comfortable hotel. Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Visiting the place to see the air show so rooms in the area were at a premium, £150. The room was ok, back of the hotel with views of air ducts and old garages but it was nice enough. Its an old hotel in many ways but staff generally helpful and breakfast was at the window seat by pure fluke. Ideally situated for the front.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank LenBrownB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine C, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for your review, I am glad to see you found the hotel nice and the staff helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Catherine C, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Booked two rooms for my wife and I and our daughter and her friend for one night on a Saturday. A bit expensive. Location is ideal, right on the seafront. Receptionist was very helpful. WiFi was pretty poor for the part of the hotel we were in (room 112) and normal mobile phone signal is also poor, so be aware of this if you need outside contact. There was a party in the basement that started at 9pm and was very loud, so loud the floor in the lounge area vibrated. It was so loud everyone left the quiet lounge (quiet until that party started). We went to our room and we could still hear the loud music. Due to this alone, we will not stay here again. It amazed me that the duty manager did not do something about the noise. We had breakfast included and we waited a long time to be seated (it was not busy) and then had to be asked for tea to be brought to us. Overall, this is why I have given this stay a Poor category, albeit, it may be better next time.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Bobby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine C, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your review. I have investigated the comments that you have made with the Duty Manager who was on duty the night you mentioned. She told me that it was very unfortunate as the party in the basement was meant to be for only 50 guests. In the end there turned out to be nearly double the numbers. She went down several times to tell them to turn the music down, each time she was told that they had. She felt that she did all she could to try and resolve the situation. I have to say that we have many functions in our basement area, but we have not ever encountered the problems that were clearly experienced on that night and for that I am very sorry and that as a consequence your stay was disrupted. Im sorry to hear that you also had a bad experience at breakfast. As you will see from our reviews, breakfast is usually highly praised so Im sorry you did not feel the same. We hope that you do come again so we can show you what a relaxing stay you can have with us here at the Lansdowne. Kind regards, Catherine Clifford - Sales & Marketing Executive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Considering that Britain's only 5-star seaside hotel is right next door, the family-run Lansdowne Hotel, in Eastbourne, does pretty well. Obviously it is not as grand as the neighbouring Grand, but it is comfortable, homely, serves excellent food, and has a very helpful and friendly staff. OK, so it is somewhat dated, but it represents real value for money. All the public rooms are excellent, but there are lots of quiet corners in which to hide away if you wish. And if it is a seaside holiday you are after, the sea could not be much nearer: it is right there across the road. Nice hotel, nice position, nice people. What more could one ask?

Room Tip: Go for a sunny sea view room if possible, it is worth paying extra.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank robinmeadtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine C, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are dated in areas - I like to use the word 'vintage' !! I am working on getting some of the public areas updated slightly. But as you can see and as you mentioned, we have very comfortable public areas with great views of the sea, which as you also say, is literally a stones throw away! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Catherine Clifford - Sales & Marketing Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,258 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#34 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western York House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
Hydro Hotel Eastbourne
#5 of 40 in Eastbourne
850 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 40 in Eastbourne
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lansdowne Hotel

Address: King Edward's Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Eastbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Eastbourne
Price Range: £49 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lansdowne Hotel is privately owned and has been in the same family ownership since 1912. It is this that has given the hotel a personal touch that is still very evident today. The Hotel occupies a premier position on the uncommercialised seafront overlooking the Western Lawns and Wish Tower with splendid views of Beachy Head and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eastbourne
Eastbourne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing